We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Signature v. Vdara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Signature at MGM Grand
Ranked #11 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had stayed at MGM Signature our last two trips, and decided this time to give Vdara a shot. Both properties are conceptually similar-- Both were built out as condominiums and converted to hotel usage when the real estate market declined. Both properties fit an important niche: The non-casino but near-to-the-casino hotel. If you are like us, we put a lot of thought into where we stay, so hopefully a side-by-side comparison will be helpful. In the end, we give the nod to Vdara, but you can decide for yourself.

ROOMS:

The rooms in both hotels are great. Even the most basic suites are built out as living quarters with small kitchens, large bathrooms, and lots of room. The styling is different. Signature seemed more traditional and Vdara more contemporary. You will not be disappointed with the size and styling of rooms at either property. The main differences are noise, balconies and views.

Noise-- Vdara seemed to be more solidly built and as a result noise did not carry. Also, Vdara's has two separate halls on each floor and the halls only serve rooms on one side of the hotel, translating into much less hall traffic. Also, there is in my opinion a major design flaw with the Signature layout. At signature, rooms are paired and each set of two rooms are accessed by a small alcove. I suspect this was done to make it so that rooms could be joined together to create larger suites. While this might have been a good concept for a condo, it is not for a hotel. Whenever our neighbors would go in our out of their room, we would hear them talking, the door slamming etc. The amazing thing about Vdara was that in four nights we were never awakened once by hall or adjacent room noise. I am sure that having the wrong neighbors could still change this-- but this factor alone would tip the scales toward Vdara every time in our opinions.

Balconies-- Only Signature has balconies. However, it does not have them in every room. If you get them (usually by asking), it is a great feature. It is really nice to be able to open your sliding glass door and get fresh air as well. While the Vdara air seemed fine, the balconies at Signature are a nice feature if you get them.

Views-- We asked for a room on a higher floor at Vdara and got a great room with a fantastic view of the Bellagio fountains and the strip. the Signature rooms also had decent views, but were further off the strip, and not as good. This is true even of the higher floors. I would give a slight nod to Vdara views if you can get a room in a higher floor.

LOCATION:

Another major difference between the two hotels is location. It is a fairly long walk, albeit through an enclosed walkway, from Signature to the nearest Casino at the MGM. If you are planning on staying in the MGM area, Signature is probably fine. If you like the center Strip area, you will find yourself taking taxis again and again. On the plus side at Signature, it is not too hard to get a taxi when you are there. The challenge is when you are somewhere else and want to get back to your room. Other than MGM, there really is nothing within easy walking distance of Signature. You can theoretically walk to other casinos using some back streets. We did it during the day, but it seemed sketchy at night.

Vdara on the other hand is right in the middle of the action. A one minute walk across City Center and you are entering the front doors of Aria casino and hotel. A one minute walk through a covered walkway and you are entering Bellagio (although you still have to walk a few more minutes to get to the casino). A two minute walk and you are entering Cosmopolitan hotel and casino. If you like the center Strip casinos (Flamingo, Bills, O'Shea's, Margaritaville, etc., they are a healthy, but doable walk from Vdara, and on streets that are more comfortable to walk at night. Needless to say, there are many gaming/dining options within just a few minutes walking of Vdara. At Signature, you were pretty much limited to the dining within the food and beverage mall in MGM. A strong nod to Vdara on this category.

POOLS:

We can't really speak to the pool at Vdara since we went in the cold of winter and the pool had been closed for maintenance. The Signature pool is definitely nice, with a low key feel to it and very nice waiting staff. The Vdara pool looked to be similar in size, but we can't really do a comparison. All I can say is that the Signature pool experience was great both times we stayed there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RBMT18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,579 - 8,583 of 12,842 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

After a long drive we arrived at peak check in time of 6pm and had a long wait at the gate to be allowed into the complex. Only one clerk was checking in guests when we arrived, so the wait there was longer than necessary also. At departure, again only one clerk was processing departures at peak departure time in the morning, with no express check out service.

Asked for a room with a view and was not disappointed. The room far exceeded our expectations for size, comfort, price and amenities. The walk to the MGM complex over the bridge is very acceptable.

Will definitely will stay here on our next visit to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thaddius s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My family and I we stay here around xmas 2011, the place is very cozy and the room is exceptionally big for the price we paid, so it's a great hotel for budget conscious travelers who may want all the nice ammenities but not paying ultra high prices in near by casino hotels like the Encore or Belagio. You can get a room for about $100 a night weekdays and no more than $120 a night on weekends if you know where to look. The best thing about this hotel location is that you can walk up straight to the MGM casino via the inner walkway in about 10 minutes, so rain or shine, it's a nice stay here. This hotel is also close to the airport and all the UFC fights that take place inside MGM or somewhere nearby, so it's a nice hotel for business travelers on weekdays and hip crowd on weekends to enjoy the fight night events etc.

The room is nice and the strip view rooms are especially wonderful at night, you can practically look out and see Citycenter and Belagio from your hotel room. The bed is super comfy and the bathroom ultra clean and nice with a big jetted hot tub. During busy times, it may take awhile to get to your room, but I don't find that a problem, since the elevator speed is exceptionally fast.

If you have a big group, i believe you can get group discounts by talking to the onsite manager, they do offer group rates I heard.

Other positives about this hotel is that it is nearby the airport, so if you want to be in and out of vegas in a heartbeat, this is the best hotel stay for your trip. The concierge and bellman are super courteous and know the vegas scene well enough to guide you. I would be back again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our room was in tower 2 on the 27th floor, with views over the airport to the mountains beyond. The room itself was nicely furnished with a queen sized bed and a sofa bed but although we had booked for 4 people the sofa bed was not made up and we had to do it ourselves with linen from the closet. The bathroom was huge and had a separate shower and spa bath - definitely the best feature of the room! Housekeeping were excellent - the room was spotless when we got back in the evenings. The other hotel staff were competent but not outstanding. The Signature adjoins the MGM Grand and you walk through the casino to the Strip - and it is an easy walking distance to the Bellagio, Palnet Hollywood, New York New York etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed 6 nights Feb 2012 in junior suite floor 34 of Tower 1. Perfect combination of facility and staff. Super clean, roomy and relaxing. Heated pool and hot tubs most enjoyable. Valet parking a treat. View over the strip, but quiet 24/7. No airport noise either.

Airport check in was flawless; shuttle was prompt. Check out from room TV was a breeze.

Would make this our first choice again.

Room Tip: Tower 1 is closest to everything; higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler567J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
ARIA Resort & Casino
#17 of 264 in Las Vegas
24,533 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#13 of 264 in Las Vegas
16,155 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#52 of 264 in Las Vegas
18,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Trump International Hotel Las Vegas
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Signature at MGM Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signature at MGM Grand

Address: 145 East Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#9 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#13 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $160 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Signature at MGM Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Signature is a world within a world. As your private portal to everything Las Vegas, you're free to indulge in an incredible array of diversions – with one commonality: an elevated level of personalized service. So whether you're grabbing a drink at The Lounge or basking in the private luxury of your own poolside cabana, you'll experience a level of attention and dedicated service that's unsurpassed, right at the heart of the most exciting city on the planet. Truly, this is Vegas at its best. As your gateway to this most incredible of cities, The Signature puts you at the doorstep of Las Vegas' most amazing experiences. Our concierge is just the person to open that door and show you the way through. Allow us to serve your every whim, from show tickets to procuring a table at that must-experience restaurant to making your golf reservations. And when you feel the desire to leave your tranquil escape for the excitement of Vegas, the gaming, nightlife and entertainment of the phenomenal MGM Grand is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Signature at MGM Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signature Hotel Las Vegas
Signature Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Signature
Signature At Mgm Grand Hotel
Signature Mgm Grand Las Vegas
Mgm Signature Las Vegas
Signature Mgm Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing