We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Downtown Las Vegas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #89 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,388 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Downtown Las Vegas”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I hadn't stayed in downtown Las Vegas for years, so I wanted to change things up a bit on my last trip and give downtown a shot. I chose the Golden Nugget. It's one of the oldest hotels and casinos in Las Vegas and was started in 1946. It's a bit of a Las Vegas landmark,
Check-in was quick, friendly and painless. I had a room in the Carson Tower. I was told a nonsmoking king bedded room was not available like I had booked, but they did have a nonsmoking double for me. This was no big deal as I was traveling alone and really didn't care, however if you had your heart set on a king bed, this would have been a disappointment. There are several different towers and the hotel is a bit confusing as there are so many areas to it.
My room was a little dated with a beige and brown color, however the upkeep was top notch. Even thought this is an old hotel, they do a wonderful job with the upkeep and maintenance of the property. My room was extremely clean. One area that did need some care was the hall way on my floor, the carpets were very worn and stained. I would compare this room to similar rooms that I had at The Luxor, Treasure Island or even the Mirage.
The pool is extremely popular and unique. It has a shark tank in the middle of the pool and one can take a glass tube thrill ride through the tank and see the sharks up close.
The hotel has a large casino and I did very well at this casino. The restaurants are plentiful and the steak house is one of the best in Las Vegas. It also has a Starbucks in the lobby.
I found the staff to be helpful and friendly. I have to say that next time I plan to stay downtown, I will pick the Golden Nugget once again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,611
    3,895
    1,597
    789
    574
See reviews for
1,838
4,564
519
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,832)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We've stayed at The Golden Nugget twice, now. The first experience was great, and we were looking forward to staying there again.

Cleanliness is not an issue. We've chosen this hotel on both occasions for the cleanliness, comfort, and my girlfriend is a linen-freak.

On this particular trip, customer service ruined our trip. I was preparing for bed on the second night when I realized the sing wasn't draining. I didn't think a lot of it, and went to bed. Hours later during a nature visit I noticed that it still hadn't drained completely. Barely awake, I went back to bed. But the next morning a blackness that I only described to my mate as "the bowels of hell" was coming out of the sink. We called the desk, and they sent someone up quickly.

So quickly that I was still in the bathroom trying to clean stuff up and move our tooth brushes and toiletries away from any work that they might do. Apparently this annoyed the service man to the point of being rude and frustrated that I was in the bathroom (of my room). He checked the room next door, they had the same problem, and called in for us to be moved to another room.

He said they'd call us within 10 minutes with our new room assignment. Otherwise call down and have a Bell take our bags to a new room. Ten minutes came and went. An hour came and went. We're hungry, haven't been able to shower, and have yuck-mouth. I dial '0' and they transfer me to the front desk. I get a message that I'm the first in line so I stay on. Five minutes. Ten minutes. Fifteen minutes. The message says to leave a message for a call-back, so I do. Another 15 minutes, no call-back.

By now I'm chewing on my arm, I'm so hungry, but I want a shower as well. So we go down to the VIP entrance (we had what is apparently worthless VIP upgrades) and voiced our concern. They moved us to a room down the hall on the same room, so we went back up and moved our stuff.

Early the next morning, we were abruptly awakened to drilling, sawing, and hammering. I literally thought they were drilling directly into our room and looked for the holes, it was so loud. They moved us to what I have to assume is the worst room in the hotel - right next to a maintenance room. They may as well have put us in the middle of a construction zone.

Do yourself a favor, and refuse room 724 unless you're out of your room really early in Vegas.

Golden Nugget was our go-to for the past few years, but this experience has left us looking for alternatives.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iamyaM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley S, Public Relations Manager at Golden Nugget Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for being a valued repeat customer of the Golden Nugget. I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your most recent stay. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us, and I’m sorry that you did not receive service that meets the Golden Nugget standard. I would also like to apologize for the maintenance issues and noise disturbance you experienced during your stay. Please email me at publicrelations@goldennugget.com so I can have a hotel manager contact you regarding the details of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We upgraded to the Rush Tower and were very glad we did. Fantastic facilities.
Best hotel downtown! Staff are all really friendly and helpful. There are not a huge amount of places to eat inside the hotel but everything available is good quality and lots of it!

Room Tip: Make sure you book the Rush Tower with Spa access included
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inthegroove2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clear Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

LOVED the aquarium in the middle of the pool!!!! Everyone was very nice and helpful. Our room was clean and the room was quiet. Housekeeping was a little loud in the early (for us) morning but it's understandable. Our view was great. My boyfriend liked the poker room and I played slots. The Casino offered free lessons for Blackjack, roulette, and a few other games that I took advantage of. It is on Freemont Street so we were able to step out and see the light show and do some shopping.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberlyS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here just after new years and stayed in the older part (Carson Tower)
Loved this hotel, yes the tower we were in was dated but we are in Vegas and we just needed to sleep and shower.... Which the bed was comfortable and the water hot!
The hotel was great lots to see and do. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our favorite restaurant on Freemont Street though was Tony Romas (inside the Freemont Hotel)
So much to see and do in Vegas but we loved the Freemont Street Experience the most!
We would definately stay here again for the price we paid....
Next time I would bring my own coffee pods though for a Kuerig Machine as the ones in the room are $10 for 4 coffees and the Nugget has 2 Starbucks which I hate....
Wifi was very expensive also as it was $12.99 for 24 hours per device.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slamedcivic17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#105 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#109 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): $100 - $311
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing