We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19,297)
Filter reviews
19,297 results
Traveller rating
7,813
7,336
2,803
796
549
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,813
7,336
2,803
796
549
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roller coaster nine fine irishmen il fornaio chin chin park avenue room century tower america restaurant piano bar spa suite other hotels m life resort fee strip view south end of the strip monte carlo trip to vegas an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
14,346 - 14,351 of 19,297 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I honestly think the casino is beautiful, the restaurants are great and an awesome taste of REAL New York. An absolute must see when PASSING THROUGH yet when it comes to staying in the rooms... Wasnt really pleased. The rooms were quite SMALL! We asked for a non smoking room but our sheets had a very strong odor of cigarettes, yuk! I did complain but wasnt offered anything except a coupon book. Lol. We ended up paying to change rooms and had to wait for the keys a few hours but luckily when we came back we got a different person... Big Difference in customer service! Upon RECHECKING IN....Again, the new clerk noticed we "accidentally" got booked into ANOTHER SMOKING room, BUT he quickly upgraded and offered us a suite for only $20 more a night instead of $90 and made sure it wasnt a stinky room! Im sorry but I dont think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tell8like8is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

OK, so I admit that neither my wife or I enjoy casino life nor the city of Las Vegas. We had gone overseas earlier in the year to celebrate our 40 anniversary year together, but now it was the actual weekend of our anniversary, and we wanted to see Lion King before it shut down. So I arranged for a short weekend stay at the New York, New York.

Our check-in was a bit confusing. We arrived around 4pm ready to check in, grab an early dinner, and attend one of the Circus de Soleil shows. We were told that the room configuration we had reserved (king, non-smoking, view) was not ready, and that we'd need to wait perhaps two hours before one would be ready. They were willing to downgrade (at a savings) or upgrade (at a cost) to a different room configuration. We protested, and after about 10 minutes of standing firm that NY, NY make appropriate accommodations, a room in our reserved configuration magically became available. We're not sure what was up with that.

The room itself was not very spacious, nor had anything special in amenities. And the "view" that came at a premium cost, was mostly of the roof of the neighboring building. Frankly, I've always received better service and a much better room at Marriott.

Parking at the New York, New York was like what we experienced at other hotels along the strip... easy and convenient enough.

Memo to self... next time you visit Las Vegas, stay at a hotel off the strip. It's easy enough to drive to and park at casino hotels on the strip for the shows and other activities. And you'll get a much better deal for the cost.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Sister-in-law and I had just spent 7 nights in a 2 bed aptm at the Hollywood Towers Westgate property and though we would experience our last night across the road at New York New York in Vegas - bad move!. The room was tired and needed an update - the bathroom was ridiculously old and also needed a refurbishment but the musty smell was out in the halls and in the room constantly. The view was of the roller-coaster ride and that was OK - not noisy at all, just disappointment with the smell. We paid AUS $250 and seriously, for that money we could have gone back to the Venetian or stayed where we were. Tip - gamble and eat there, just don't stay there :(

Room Tip: Ask for a strip view if you have to stay there - not sure if the smell will still be in them as well.......
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tazkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Had a Jacuzzi, 2 tvs, 2 beds couch table and bathroom in the hotel room I stayed in....very relaxing and nice view of Vegas.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The best thing about New York New York is that is offers some good deals on room rates from time to time. You just need to search for them. If you are in Vega$ for an event at the MGM, or something nearby, NYNY is not a bad place to stay. For a Vega$ strip hotel it is about as average as you can get.

The theme itself is not true. The structure and the decorations look like NYC, but the feel and the atmosphere is no where near that of NYC. The rooms are average and the halls are a bit confusing because of the architecture. Although I do not have an issue with it, there is no security at the elevators at night. Most strip hotels ensure that the only one on the floor our guests and the guests of guests.

The service was like everything else average. Nothing bad happened, but nothing good happened either. Everything about the stay wreaked with mediocrity. We did eat at Gallagher's which was outstanding. The Piano bar had no energy, and we where there on a Saturday night. Location is down the strip from where I'd prefer to be. The middle of the strip has more action than where we were, even on a fight night at the MGM.

In general, the whole place is average for a Vega$ strip hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gauchojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews