We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room , Great Hotel - Dinning Not So Great!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We went with friends to Wendover Nugget on a casino flight out of Topeka Kansas. The flight there was great except for our seats were to all be together and my husband and I were 3 rows up from the rest of our group. On the way home we switched seats and we were all together, but we were an hour delayed because they could not get the ground air to work. SO the plane was HOT but did cool off once in the air. We had a fuel stop in Salt Lake City, again we had no air on the ground. That was the only complaint on the flight that we had.

Now the room:
We all booked a deluxe room when we made the reservations. We did have contact with the property before we left and they seemed really nice especially Mr. Jukes. He handled the group from the flight.

When we got to our room we found out that it was a spa suite. VERY clean and VERY nice. Our friend were 2 rooms down and our parents were not close to us. Their room was a deluxe room, so I called the front desk and asked if they could be moved to a spa suite. They moved them to the honeymoon suite, since they did not have a spa suite available. Well, their spa would not work so the next day they moved them to the Bar Suite, on the first floor in the main building, and everything was great.

Dinning:
Well the food was just okay not as good as I expected. The service was very slow in the Golden Harvest Cafe, but the staff was very pleasant.

NOW the BAD one!!!!! The Nugget Steakhouse - We wanted a nice meal before we left and at first everything was great. Once we received our food my steak did not taste as good as I expected it, but everyone else said that theirs were good. The waitress we had was HORRIBLE my husband waited for a new coke for 30 minutes, then when we told the hostess, that brought our checks, she said no one brought one, we said no. Her next comment was here are you checks, NOT let me get you one. Then we had coupons for a free entree. We let the waitress know when we ordered and the checks did not reflect that. We asked the hostess if she would recalculate and she said NO, just deduct the lowest entree price. We asked her again if she would recalculate and she said NO. We never saw our waitress again until we were leaving and she went out to get her tip, VERY SMALL TIP, off of the table when we left.

We will stay at this property again, it was great, we just wont eat there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pfisher72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 686 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2008

After reading several negative reviews about the Nugget we were pleasantly surprised when we got there to find a nice hotel with beautiful rooms, accommodating personnel and wonderful food. We learned a valuable lesson, don't believe negative remarks from people. We had a wonderful four days at the Nugget , very relaxing, and we had lots of fun at the casino.
We polled the other people on our flight and the concensus was that they will all go back to the Nugget for their gambling junkets.

Thank TJWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We had a large group of people and our rooms were booked well in advance. It worked out great because most of us were altogether. The rooms were clean and the air conditioning kept us cool. The pool area and pool was clean and there seemed to always be enough chairs and lounges.
The casinos in the area had a great shuttle service that seemed to run every ten to fifteen minutes. The drivers were all courteous and helpful.
Check out time was not quite like I had thought it should be but because we were pressed for time I had to let my problem go. A few days later a telephone call to the Nugget more than satisfied my problem. I was very impressed with the professional way this was handled.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpeedWeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We usually stay at another hotel when driving through Wendover but decided this trip to stay at a different hotel. Bad move!
When we arrived in our room we found we had no towels. I found the maid and she brought them to our room. But then saw that there were no face cloths so I had to search the maid down again to get the face cloths. The bed was very uncomfortable. The carpet was filthy dirty with a dead scorpion laying against the wall. The pool and spa seemed to be clean until the jets in the spa stopped and all the bugs floated to the top. We had a pleasant dining experience but only because we walked across the street to another casino restuarant to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JayCee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

I have stayed here many times and each time I am amazed that they are still in business. Rooms are not well cared for and the overall shape of the hotel is not good. I can't imagine a nice casino like the Nugget having such poor facilities supporting it.. The buffet that is served daily is of poor quality and is not very well maintained. We go there because we are offered free rooms but even with the free rooms I am having second thoughts.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jiddodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wendover
1 km away
Best Western Plus Wendover Inn
1.2 km away
Super 8 Wendover
Super 8 Wendover
#2 of 7 in Wendover
293 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn Stateline
Quality Inn Stateline
#5 of 7 in Wendover
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Knights Inn Wendover
Knights Inn Wendover
#6 of 7 in Wendover
159 reviews
0.7 km away
Motel 6 Wendover
Motel 6 Wendover
#4 of 7 in Wendover
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino

Address: 101 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883
Region: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino is Wendover's finest place to stay and play. Pamper yourself in one of our 500 oversized deluxe rooms, Jacuzzi suites, and luxury suites. Enjoy the hotel's spacious pool and hot tub facility. Other amenities include: Loosest Slots and Video Poker Live Table Games Grand Poker Room Sports Book & Lounge One Club Player's Card Free Shuttle Service- 7 days/wk Gift Shop Banquet Facilities Exclusively at the Nugget: Starbucks Keno Lounge Billiards Bar Martini Bar Cigar Bar Covered Parking Climate Controlled Atrium Arcade ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wendover Nugget Hotel West Wendover
Wendover Nugget West
Nugget Wendover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing