We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Zephyr Cove Resort(Zephyr Cove)(Great Value!)
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Lakeside Inn and Casino(Stateline)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$775
US$528
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$289
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Inn(South Lake Tahoe)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Inn & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
US$113
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Seas Inn at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn Casino Center(South Lake Tahoe)
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
49
12
3
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
12
3
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog runsbeautiful lake tahoeplace to staysafewayfireplaceunitpetsdoggysummerprivacyaccommodationsstateline
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Booked and paid for two units in mid May. Arrived for September stay to find one of the units under remodel construction and unavailable. Quiet the surprise. Just spent approximately 3 hours securing alternate arrangements for the remaining guests in our group. We were lucky that two house were available but not in close proximity (two miles apart instead of 50 yards) with the original units. The plan was to have our extended family close together. Bummer. Jeff

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The Pine Cone Resort used to be a charming place to stay. That is no longer the case. I am not one to complain, but I must let potential customers know it is not the vacation experience it once was. Spend your money elsewhere.
First the good… The staff was helpful, the location remains great.
Now the bad…. The biggest reason for these comments is that the Pine Cone looks like is has changed from a resort to a storage facility. Outside my door were 6 porch swings in various stages of disrepair. Also 3 picnic tables right in front of the door in a space that could have been used for parking. There was an RV parked next to my unit. It looked fairly permanent just based on my view of the setup. It also blocked the basketball court. Next to it was a frame for a portable carport, also blocking the basketball court, which actually had a car in it. Beside that, another carport frame, covered with a tarp that was storing household goods. There were two cars covered with tarps that were parked in the guest spots. Again, it looked like they had been there quite some time. A camping trailer and two boats were also being stored on the property.
The owner lives on the property but his unit had 2 bicycles hanging from the rafters on his deck wrapped in plastic. Not really aesthetically pleasing in the mountain setting. The shed storing the tables used for weddings was broken down, again not creating a good look. There are other issues which won’t be mentioned.
If you are looking for a place to stay in Tahoe, avoid the Pine Cone Resort.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ross6317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Loved our little cabin nestled between the pines. The freezing pool was the best. Refreshing and invigorating! We had it all to ourselves. The lake parking was always full, but this was way better! Everything you need and more. We will return!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank tomjonesCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Charming, remote location across from the Zephyr Cove beach area was ideal for a summer getaway to the beautiful Lake Tahoe region. Accommodations were outstanding and perfect for my family of five, including 2 young, rambunctious boys. Place was very clean, well-kept, and the staff was very helpful and courteous. It was terrific to stay at a nice, quiet, picturesque location away from the busy, tourist-driven casino areas.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Zachary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is a great pet friendly place to come stay for a weekend, a week, a month, a season. The owner and staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and your stay enjoyable.

i stayed for a few seasons (8 months) and was routinely asked if everything was to my liking, and any requests I had were acted upon quickly.

The ambiance is old world Swiss/Tyrolean. There's a nice sense of privacy with the units spaced so you don't feel crammed together. All downstairs units have their own dog runs easily accessible through doggy doors, and come to think of it I rarely heard other people's dogs. Real stone fireplaces too.

It's located an easy 5 minutes from Stateline, has nearby restaurants and a Safeway, but is also just far enough away from the congestion of South Lake Tahoe to have you believing the Ponderosa must be just around the corner.

This is the sort of place that has great character, is perfect for pets and families, and people end up coming back again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dre_moretosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews