We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn by the Bandstand
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Exeter Inn(Exeter)
US$179
US$169
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern(Hampton)(Great Value!)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton(Hampton)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
US$119
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Haven Motel(North Hampton)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$145
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
226
13
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
13
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew englandport winebreakfast was deliciousphillips exeter academycomplimentary portmodern convenienceshistoric townvisiting exetera wonderful stayfreshly baked cookiesperfect place to stayliving roomthis past weekendthe entire staffjamiejaimedecanter
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2007

This was our second stay at Inn by the Bandstand; we had been in late August of this year and loved it so much, we booked for a return trip - foliage / my parents' 55th anniversary, in October. The place was still gorgeous, although much renovation and painting going on... the owner had evidently sold to her long-time managers, and they were making some changes. Many for the best, but some dubious....
The Inn's bedrooms are beautifully decorated; it stands close by a small traffic circle and adorable shopping area in the quaint town of Exeter, NH. Better yet, it is very reasonably priced, with a full, delicious breakfast, close to the beach towns of NH and Southern Maine. BUT....
I had ordered flowers for my parents' 55th anniversary... they were not in their room. I had provided a credit card...emailed AND called to confirm; not only was the girl checking in clueless - no communication with management, evidently... I saw the inn's owner at breakfast; he never enquired about our occasion, how were the flowers, etc, so that I could tell him there had been a problem. When I emailed later he was very apologetic, offering $50 off our next stay...
Then there was my dad's jacket. He had left it there; it took my parents a while to figure out which inn, as we had stayed at several...
To make a long story short, the innkeeper, Jim, demanded a credit card to cover shipping costs... already a faux pas in my book, that's part of doing business... It's late December, and they still have not received the jacket.
To sum it up... gorgeous place, lots of charm, innkeepers inexperienced in the business of hospitality... go at your own risk; it just might be great.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank amgboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2008

We value feedback from our guests, both negative and positive and I thank this reviewer for the input.

This guest certainly has legitimate complaints as we were just in the first days of our new ownership. Vicky and I have, indeed, managed the Inn for years. We are not inexperienced. We are, though, new owners so there were some immediate issues as we assumed ownership that have since been solved. This guest stayed with us during the days of the ownership transition.

Our new guest data management system now tracks and reminds us when guests order extra services and products. At the time this guest stayed with us, we were migrating from the old system to the new system and clearly the ball was dropped on our end with regards to the flowers she ordered. I'm proud to say that we haven't missed a single order since, and our "extras" are becoming more and more popular. It was, however, this guest that brought it to our attention that we had a flaw in system and we corrected it.

About lost or left items, it has always been the policy of the Inn to charge shipping to individuals leaving items. The reviewers words "demanded a credit card" is a bit strong as we never demand anything from anyone. We do politely ask for a credit card number, though, as we are a small business with not much room for extra expenses. Also, what the reviewer failed to mention, was that because of the delay in shipping the item, we never charged them. We have also put into place a system that will never allow this to happen again.

Vicky and I, our daughters and staff work extremely hard to insure every guest has a great stay with us. Of the thousands of people Vicky and I have hosted I'm proud to say that this is the first, and hopefully last, negative experience recorded here. We encourage all guests to let us rectify anything that falls short of their expectations while staying here. We're not pleased with anything less than making our guests experience with us wonderful!

Jim Lane, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

My husband and I stay at this inn once a year. It's become a nice tradition. The inn is in Exeter, NH so I'm not sure why they list it as Brentwood. The inn has all the qualities an inn should have:
A wonderful hostess, clean rooms, very comfortable beds and a wonderful place to just get away.
All the rooms have a different name and also have a different theme. All the linens are by Ralph Lauren.
The innkeeper, Susan, is always updating and working on this beautiful inn. She's non-intrusive and you can come and go as you please. Although, if you do want to have a conversation, Susan is a very interesting person to talk to and very knowledgable about Exeter.
There's a nice big dining room where you can have coffee, tea and hot chocolate 24 hrs. The room rate also includes breakfast.
The last time we stayed there, Susan made us homemade cookies after we got back from dinner. That was a nice surprise.
We look forward every year to visiting this beautiful inn as well as seeing Susan and her wonderful two dogs.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cape19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
North Carolina
24
Reviewed 27 January 2006

We just returned from a stay at the Inn by the Bandstand. We were hoping to stay the entire weekend but because of family obligations, we could only stay one night. My husband, young daughter and I really enjoyed our stay. Our room was Lakeheath Lodge, on the third floor, and was decorated like a rustic lodge. It has beautiful wood beams that are original to construction of the house in the 1800's. It also had a small kitchenette hidden behind a curtain. The bathroom was kind of small, but remodeled with modern conveniences. The innkeeper, Susan, was very cordial and helpful. Our daughter loved the two Goldens, Emma and Zach! They are very sweet! The breakfast was delicious. My husband has vowed to stay there each time we return to NH! It was a very relaxing and homey stay!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2005

I have stayed at this inn several times - in the Kensington and Williamsburg rooms. It's charming and cozy. The innkeeper is helpful and friendly, as is the golden retriever. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime L, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews