We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Moose Brook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moose Brook Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We were there the first weekend of July to climb Mt Washington. We stayed at the motel for 2 nights. Very nice place. Everything was clean. The room was perfect for 2 & since we were there only to sleep, it was exactly what we needed. We're from Quebec so did not know the place at all. The lady at the office was really nice by pointing us the restaurant, how to get to Mt Washington. If we're back in NH, this motel would surely be a place to stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Genevieve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay with my 11 year old son. We were in Gorham for backpacking/hiking. We both loved the place. I look for 3 things in a place to stay. Convenience, cleanliness, and cost. Moose Brook gets highest marks for all 3.

Now, I've read many of the other reviews. It is true the place is a bit dated. But who cares? You aren't buying it. Dated is only a problem when it isn't clean. You could eat off the floor at Moose Brook!

Yes, I could see the parking lot getting a little tight on a busy weekend. Again, not the end of world.

It's true there is no A/C. I could see this possibly being a deal breaker if you are trying to book when hot weather is expected. We were there in July and had no issue. Ceiling fan w/ open windows was adequate.

The proprietor was very friendly. My son loved playing in the pool, which was remarkably clean too.

If you want a clean, comfortable place to stay, you could do a LOT worse. If you are expecting the Ritz, do yourself (and everyone else) a favor and stay at the Ritz. Don't book a nice little inn in rural New Hampshire and then get all huffy and indignant because nobody carried your bags in for you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Comfortable beds....nice clean bathrooms....classic 1950's style motel.....wonderful owner....great place.....only drawback is there is no A/C....so probably not a good call when it's REALLY hot.....other than that though, very pleased with accommodations.....we will be back....

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bubs739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The rooms are the size of cracker box, the floor gave way and made a terrible noise when ever you walked on it waking your spouse up at night if you had to get up (termites?), and the mattress was squeaky and cheap...very uncomfortable. Only redemption was you did have warm water for a shower. The parking lot was so little that one night a truck blocked everyone from leaving... had to leave by the enter which meant you had back all the way out.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 October 2016

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. It is impossible for a property owner to address concerns that are never expressed by the guest. At no time did you bring any of your issues to us. Had you voiced your displeasure about the size of the room after you checked in, we would have gladly refunded your money so you could find other accommodations. Likewise, after your first night with us, if you were dissatisfied with the quality of your sleep experience, you could have checked out and moved on rather than continuing to stay with us. We can’t be all things to all people and we don’t pretend to be something we’re not. As a small, family owned and operated property, we work hard to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience. While the vast majority of those who stay with us feel we do so, we’re sorry we cannot count you among them. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My wife and I and our 5 year old stayed here for 2 nights in September 2016. The Motel was clean and well priced. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit, I think it was unit 2? We wanted the 2 bedroom unit so when we put our 5 year old to bed, we could watch TV in our own room at night without keeping her awake. It was an efficiency unit that had a refrigerator, stovetop, micowave, and coffee maker. There were TV's in the kitchen area and in 1 of the 2 bedrooms. I think the 2 bedrooms were of equal size. Motel had a pool, which we did not use as it was a crisp 45 degrees outside the first morning we were there. It did look clean and we did see some brave guests using it. Santas Village was about a 20 minute drive (it was awesome!) and there were a few restaurants and a dunkin donuts nearby within 5 minutes. Overall it was a nice spot and we would certainly stay here again if the need arose, although there were many other mom and pop style motels in the area to choose from. We focused on the Moose Brook simply because it had a 2 bedroom option.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stoner420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.7 km away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
2.2 km away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
576 reviews
4 km away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Lancaster Motor Inn
Lancaster Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Lancaster
118 reviews
1.2 km away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
727 reviews
1.1 km away
Northern Peak Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Brook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Brook Motel

Address: 65 Lancaster Rd, Gorham, NH 03581-1425
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range: $127 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moose Brook Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moose Brook Motel is a Family owned and operated seasonal motel (May-October).At the Moose Brook Motel we pride ourselves on providing our guests with rooms that are clean, comfortable and affordable. "A Great Place To Turn In..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Moose Brook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing