We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windy Hill Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Jackson
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wentworth(Jackson)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New England Inn(Intervale)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarendon Motel(North Conway)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
21
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
6
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This B&B is a working farm in the Black Mountain above Jackson and has stunning views. The accommodation is very clean and simple - a no frills experience at a very reasonable price but a good place to come and relax. The owner Anne was not at home when we arrived but had left instructions to allow us to see ourselves into our room. Because this is a working farm your host will not always be at hand but you are encouraged to make yourself at home with freedom to wander about the farm and help yourselves to tea and coffee. However when Anne and her partner Bob are around they are a mine of useful and helpful information about what to do, where to go & what to see. With some notice Anne will cook a dinner for you - it is good, tasty home cooking and if you are staying a few nights well worth the experience otherwise the Red Fox restaurant nearby offers excellent food, wine & local beers for a very reasonable price. This is good location for some stunning circular drives in the Jackson/Littlon area

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We were only supposed to stay for one night but loved it so much we decided to stay for a second night. The first night we stayed in the queen room and the second night in the family room with twin beds, and they were both spotlessly clean with a country feel - wooden floors, antique furniture and quilts, but without the frilliness of many B&Bs. The setting of the farm is simply stunning – its the last house on a farm road up the mountain from Jackson, which is already a quiet place, so there is absolutely no traffic – only green fields, unobstructed views of the mountains and brilliant night sky. We were there during fall drive and the turning foliage made the scenery extra special – have included some photos with this review as I don’t think the current ones do the farm justice.

Breakfast is enjoyed around the diningroom table and you can also book dinner at the house - which we did one night and enjoyed the home-cooked meal and sharing a bottle of wine and a few stories with the other guests. If you want to go out at night, the nearest pub is only a minute’s drive away and there are a good selection of restaurants in Jackson about a 3 min drive away. There are some hiking paths on the mountain behind the house which makes it easy to go for a walk in the wilderness without having to drive anywhere or take serious equipment.

This is one of those B&Bs where you are actually a guest in someone’s house. The owners, Anne and Bob are both pretty busy with their farm work so you wont have them fussing over you all day long, and they are pretty casual – leaving a note if they are out when you arrive, allowing guests use of their laundry and fridge etc. We found this this relaxed, down-to-earth atmosphere very welcoming as it was unobtrusive and much like staying at a friend’s house. If you expect very attentive service or the anonymity of a hotel, this place probably isn't right for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Windy Hill B&B is a cute home in a beautiful New Hampshire town! My husband and I stayed here the last night of March (slow season) so we were the only ones staying that night.

Ann, the owner, is really nice and was fun to talk to.

The B&B was warm, comfortable, clean, a good price and secluded with beautiful mountains surrounding it. Windy Hill is a working farm and had cows while were were there, they have pigs in the summer. The barns were beautiful and from the early 1900's.

Ann told us about a working sugar house (where Maple syrup is made) down the road that we went to during the evening we stayed there which was really neat to experience.

There is a hot tub which was nice outside. We also went snowshoeing around the property.

Breakfast was really good too!

This was the perfect B&B experience because is was relaxing and everything a B&B should be! We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I am an avid skier and outdoorsperson, including snowshoeing, x-c skiing, hiking. My gf and I wanted to spend the weekend in Jackson, which is the best place in NH anyway. It's upscale and the area can be pricey. We just wanted a place to crash so looked at prices. Windy Hill was about the most reasonable on the internet. When I saw it was a working farm I was excited, I love that kind of experience. I was slightly hesitant because it's 2 1/2 miles from the center of the town, but decided to go for it anyway. The location turned out to be a plus, not a minus and who cares about a 4 minute drive to the town?

I expected a basic, run down old farm. As we drove up the STEEP road to the farm, the scenery, snowcovered, became more and more gorgeous. Then there was the house, and another house next to it, part of the compound, and a barn, all extremely well maintained and beautiful. The farmhouse is old but totally remodled and beautiful and charming. There are only 3 guest rooms and we had the "double", a modestly sized but perfectly adequately sized room with a large closet and our own bath. SPOTLESSS and the views from anywhere in the house were stunning. We saw the "queen" room and it was much larger. The hosts, Anne and her signifcant other, Bob, on a scale of 1 to 10 as to niceness, were a 10. I went out snowshoeing with Bob and at my request I helped feed the cows, as he educated me about raising cows. And about pigs, which arrive in the Spring and are "processed" in the Fall. We elected to pay the extra money for dinner one night and it was fabulous, a great meatloaf made from their own organic cattle. And we wound up eating with the other interesting couple there, a nice experience. Anne said sometimes she serves moose. The two breakfasts we had were gourmet and we were able to choose from a list of all superb breakfast choices.

I detest forgettable hotels and being that kind of person, this was TOPS as an experiece. We are going back this coming weekend and look forward to going back in the summer when Anne and Bob say we can if we like, help with the pigs and the hay. WOW. Looking at the reviews, all but one are spectacular, How often do so many people rave about a place. I think the ONE person with the somewhat negative review needs anger counseling.

Wi fi. NO tvs, these are COOL people they don't even own a TV. GOOD. I don't go away to watch tv.

Oh, there's a hot tub outdoors and Anne said feel free to go "skinny". Next time, late at night.,

This is an incredible BARGAIN. You couldn't pay me to stay at a more luxurious but BORING place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinguyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

For us, this was a perfect location. Out of town, in the foothills, it had humming birds and chipmunks to watch over the huge breakfasts which were lovingly prepared by the owner who also ran the farm and did everything else in a superhuman way! The view from the room was outstanding and the quietness meant we had the best sleep of our holiday. It was quirky because you were living in a working farm but for us it was perfect. It had free wi fi, washing machine and tumble drier and comfortable lounge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edna125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews