We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
714
85
24
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
85
24
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite gas fireplace dining room madison room murder mystery weekend my husband and i white mountains new owners wrap around porch steam shower surf and turf the entire staff presidential range dining experience filet new hampshire lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

M boyfriend and I recently spent two nights at the inn. We originally booked a cottage for the two nights. However, we received a call on our way there that there was a cancellation and would we be interested in an upgrade to a suite. Of course I said yes..who wouldn’t! We arrived at the Inn and were greeted by the manager right away. He was extrememly welcoming and gave us a brief tour of the home. Our room was on the third floor which we didn’t mind and there is an elevator if we didn’t feel like making the climb. Our room was beautiful, spotless, and the jacuzzi in the bathroom was huge! There is definitely a Victorian feel throughout the Inn and it is decorated very tastefully. We took advantage of the common area and the porches..which were welcoming and comfortable. We did not eat dinner in the beautiful dining room instead chose to dine at near by pubs. The dining room is upscale and we were feeling pretty casual for the weekend. However, the complimentary breakfast we had both mornings were amazing. Nothing says enjoying your morning coffee and eggs on a beautiful wrap around covered porch overlooking the mountains. We both agreed we would return without a doubt. We were close to many attractions including Diana’s baths and wonderful restaurants! I would definetly recommend The Inn at Thorn Hill, I know you will not be disappointed. Almost forget..complimentary robes and slippers for your comfort!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bethanyjonesresales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKateyInnTeam, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Bethany;
I remember welcoming you and Mark to our Inn and home. It was wonderful to have you stay a first time with us - Mt. Clay is a wonderful room with a view that we hope you found representative of the White Mountains' best. Rest assured if you did not pack dress clothes, we insist on finding you comfortable for dining wherever you choose! Life is too short to worry about the small stuff and we INSIST our guests feel wonderful with every turn on their visit. We cannot thank you for the accolades and will remain on our mission in life to greet and welcome friends who want time away together stress free!

Have a great fall, we loved your recap -

Steve, Katey, Nancy the Innkeeper and Frank the Local Expert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We stayed here a couple of nights on our way to Maine. I spent a lot of time researching hotels in the area, and the research paid off with this quiet, relaxing, friendly lodge. It's located on a very quiet street, with views of the White Mountains. We enjoyed hearty breakfasts and dinners on the spacious porch overlooking the garden and distant mountains.
We stayed in the Forest View cottage, which was clean, comfortable and wonderfully quiet. If you stay in this antique cottage, be aware that the floors are tilted, so even though the bed was comfortable we had a little trouble sleeping on a tilt. It’s a 2-story cabin with a stairway with very narrow treads which some folks might have trouble negotiating; the lodge's website noted that there is a stairway in this cabin, so there were no surprises except when my husband slipped going downstairs. We'll come back another time, when we'll probably select a room in the main lodge.

Room Tip: Forest view cottage is very quiet, but it's an antique building so be aware of the steep narrow stairway and tilted floors.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Easternwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKateyInnTeam, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Easternwahoo;
Yes, we remember your few nights on the Maine coast leg of your tour. We are happy to have had the fortune of hosting you both and look forward to seeing our new friends back on another trip. We hope the recommendations for dining in Maine panned out; let us know if you discover a 'locals' favorite that we can find ourselves on our own excursions.
The three cottages we have on our estate are original and boast their 135 years of welcoming guests. We have them set to undergo some refreshes from their knotty pine styling and quintessentially Jackson lodge style. We worked hard to keep the authentic porches and privacy of singular homes but have found an architect who can do both for us, here is our 2019 unveiling plan!
Thank you again for the kind words, you now have a friend in the North East and White Mountains Hospitality business...

Yours in travel,
Katey, Steve, Sharonette and Sherrie the Breakfast Maven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

What a lovely inn! We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and it was the perfect relaxing weekend. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The whirlpool tub was a great way to relax. We enjoyed a couples massage and both fell asleep during because it was so very relaxing. Warren at the bar makes delicious cocktails!

Room Tip: Grey Manor - great view!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rogue2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKateyInnTeam, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Rogue2383,
We have to thank you for the Warren compliments, a key person on our team from a few Inns back; he does a wonderful job focusing on the latest mixology and accompaniments. Yes we have shared your nice comments and have also with our Spa team; Jessica is a gem - massages have to be perfect, she understands that and is a wonderful addition to our Spa staff.

In this day and age to have you both, choose our Inn and home as your getaway AND write the kind words you did are perfect to make our day Thank you very much!

Katey, Jessica and Warren Peace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

This is our third visit to the Inn and won't be our last. We love this place very much and it holds a special place in our hearts that we decided to have our wedding there. The rooms, staff, spa, grounds and dinning is over the top!!! Steve goes out of his way to make sure your stay is the best and you are very comfortable. We fell in love after our first visit and couldn't wait to come back. We love the outdoor dining on the grand porch and the afternoon snacks. If you are looking for a relaxing romantic inn, then this is the place to go to. My favorite part is sitting in the rocking chairs overlooking the mountains. We are looking forward to our September wedding and Steve marrying us. He's made every detail easy and stress-free. I'm one happy bride to be!!!!

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are fabulous
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKateyInnTeam, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Christine;
We have a wonderful role to play in your upcoming nuptials, in no small part because of the wonderful couple you are. It is a Justice of the Peace's dream to have a part in your big day, thank you for entrusting us. We loved your kind words and we know that meeting the entire family will be more of the great time for all while being at Thorn Hill.

As an aside, I have the finished list for the appetizers and have sent them for your perusal and approval. Let me know if I can help as we get closer to the big weekend!

Yours in travel & wedding;

Steve and Star Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We are frequent guests at the Inn and feel like it’s our home away from home. The staff is outstanding and the accommodations are always clean and well kept. Dining at Thorn Hill is always delicious and we love the changing specials. Every afternoon there is always a fresh baked treat and tea and coffee.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank heathma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKateyInnTeam, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Daer Heathma,
Hoping the trip back to Haverill was safe and uneventful. Save the events and excitement for your stays with us please! Wishing you both a great summer's landing - esp. with the family under one roof like our own!

Thank you again for taking the time to share; it means alot.

Nancy, Steve, Katey, Chef Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews