We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballard House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Nutmeg Inn(Meredith)(Great Value!)
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Tree Lodge(Meredith)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Falls at the Lake(Meredith)(Great Value!)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tuckernuck Inn(Meredith)(Great Value!)
US$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel(Weirs Beach)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Motel & Cottages(Weirs Beach)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oliver Lodge(Meredith)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
382
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porchcookiesother guestswrap around porchnew hampshirecomplimentary wineporch swinglakes regionb and bgreat hoststhird floorgreat conversationviews of the mountainsdelicious breakfasthome away from homebed and breakfastfelt like home
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights at Ballard House during our road trip around New England.
Although the Inn is a couple of miles outside Meredith the views overlooking the Lake more than made up for the short drive into town.
Our room was big including a seperate lounge area.
The biggest plus was our host, Brian, who exceeded the boundaries of hospitality(along with his dog 'Newton').
He carried the luggage to the top floor, cooked some great breakfasts, suppied complimentary cookies,beer and wine and most of all,gave us friendship and great banter!
Thanks Brian.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor at rear offer best views
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillericaySeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

On our 2 week tour of New England,this was the the best place we stayed.Wow! Brian works so hard to ensure that his guests feel welcome.The inn is wonderful,clean,beautifully furnished and everything is provided to make our stay comfortable.Brian ,you are a gem! If Newton hadn't been so big I would have smuggled him home in my case. It was great to sit around the table at breakfast and meet new people and sample the delicious food.Beautifully situated with views of the lake.I cannot recommend Ballard House highly enough.Brilliant value!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillyc3648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

What better way to learn of life in other countries than by chatting to guests sharing your accomodation, over a few 'complementary' glasses of your own tipple in the evening and enjoying the sumptuous breakfast with them on a communal table the following morning. You are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome at this great B&B situated just outside Meredith in New Hampshire. The Inn is gorgeous, charming decor, rust painted wooden floor boards, spotless bedrooms and bathrooms, satin -like sheets on the beds covered with beautiful quilts, large showers with seats! My husband and I had stayed in a condo down town in Chicago the week before and our two night stay here was so refreshingly different. Everyone was made to feel relaxed and at home by Brian our wonderful host, we all joined in and chatted about our various travel experiences;- a great bonus when attempting to organise your limited time in the area, basing your choices on peoples' first hand experience! The back porch has a number of comfortable chairs as well as a rocking swing chair for two, here you can unwind and take in the fabulous views of the countryside and lake. We loved every minute- and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts of baked fruits; delicious home made quiche and muesli, and blueberry pancakes.
A place you know you can recommend without a second thought. "Watch out Brian we're sending everyone from Wales to your home!!" Love to your wonderful golden labrador Newton - thanks for your humour, charm and sincere hospitality.

Room Tip: There are limited rooms but I'm sure all will be of equal charm and cleanliness.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlesniHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here for a one-night break on our whistle-stop tour of New England. It is a delightful little inn, in immaculate condition and lovingly looked after by the charming Brian, whose enthusiasm about the building and its history is infectious!

Our room, the Sunapee, was on the corner, with one window facing the highway and the other side backing out over a lovely panorama of the lake and acres of trees. Even though we were near the road, we didn't really hear traffic and had one of the best nights' sleep of our holiday - the bed was incredibly comfortable.

There were nice touches like a communal coffee machine, beer and a glass of wine and a comfy lounge area to relax in. Breakfast was a very civilised affair around a huge table overlooking the porch and back garden area - we had blueberry pancakes, fruit and plenty of coffee, and Brian very thoughtfully catered for a food intolerance too.

It's a great base from which to tour the lakes and the mountain highways and to leaf peep. Meredith is a chocolate box, picture-perfect little town, and was a lovely place to visit. And we couldn't leave a review without mentioning gentle giant Newton who provides very lovely canine distractions - even posing for photographs and strokes!

Room Tip: We were in the Sunapee room, which had a beautiful backview over the lake and trees. Probably the nicest view from a bathroom we've ever had too!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrottingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We spent 3 wonderful nights at this superb Inn at the start of our 3 week holiday,and could not have
chosen a better place to be! Brian was a great host and made us feel so very welcome.
The house,the decor, the comfort,the food,and oh so very clean with the great hospitality....
The weather was beautiful and sitting on the lovely porch with tremendous views was such a
pleasure,we staye in the Squam room which was lovely,with it's own lovely sitting room with superb
views,certainly it was the room for us!
I would recommend this wonderful Inn to anybody,and thankyou Brian for making our stay such a
happy one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnrowe918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews