We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner for two in the tavern at Buckley's in Merrimack, NH. May 28, 2017”

Buckley's Great Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Buckley's Great Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Merrimack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Woodbury St
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We were looking for a nice steakhouse in the Nashua NH area. There are dozens of chain restaurants but I saw Buckley's listed in TripAdvisor (with very good reviews). I had friends who regularly dine there but I had never been myself. The dining room was crowded when we arrived but we found a nice table by the window in their tavern. It overlooked their patio and gift shop. The service was excellent. Our server Brittany was fantastic. I ordered a glass of Pinot Noir and my date had a small bottle of champagne. Buckley's has a nice varied menu with lots of options. She ordered the Caesar's Salad and the 14 oz ribeye and I had a wedge salad and the blackened prime rib. Both salads were very nice. Extra detail was noticed on the caesar with chunks of fresh parmesan cheese. My blackened 12 oz prime rib was very good. Cooked medium well and very tender. Fantastic flavor. Her ribeye was incredible. Melt in your mouth excellence. Both dishes came with mashed potatoes and house vegetable (broccoli tonight). This dinner far outweighed the local chain steakhouses in the area. Very good food and a nice quiet atmosphere. After dinner, we both had coffee and split the chocolate peanut butter pie (which was also very nice). We left both full and very pleased with the establishment. I have been by Buckley's many times but never once went in. It was upscale food and upscale prices in a pleasant and casual environment. It was a very nice dinner and I will absolutely dine there again. I would recommend Buckley's in Merrimack to anyone looking for a real nice steak dinner out. Buckley's are located at 438 D.W. Highway, Rt 3, in Merrimack NH. Reservations would be a good idea for the dining room. The tavern seating had filled up by the time we left at 7:00.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CaptSteve42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Buckley's Great Steaks, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for choosing to dine with us, and for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so happy to hear that we were able to live up to our 5-star standard for you, and truly appreciate your business! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

We went for dinner to celebrate a spacial occasion. The food is great and the prices reflect it. Be prepared to spend some money. We started with the bread and butter - the bread was excellent, very fresh and chewy. We also tried the app special. Fried clams over a crostini - served with a vodka cocktail sauce and from scratch tartar sauce. Sooo good, seriously amazing.

I tried the seared tuna and it was literally cooked to perfection - the dish was amazing. The avocado and the noodles were perfect. Hubs tried the lobster ravioli with a filet. He loved it - kiddo had the burger and she loved that too. The fries they served with it were excellent. We ended with the "cherry bomb brownie" it was really good. A tad bit dry (the brownie) but overall great.

We will go back again for a special occasion - the food is excellent and the service was great. Call and make a reservation, they get busy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NHmama23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Buckley's Great Steaks, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us! We appreciate you also taking the time to leave us your feedback, and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all of your dishes! We hope to see you again soon and invite you to visit our Bakery next door where you can purchase the bread you had with your meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

In the restaurant: (we did not sit in the tavern) Great steaks, reasonable portions good selection of red wines. Service is very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Buckley's Great Steaks, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

First off, the food is great. Always great. Always served the way you order it. The service is great. Always great. But what makes Buckley's the best is whether you can afford to order the steak with the best bottle of red, there is something that is affordable to the rest of us and it will be great with great service. So, it is a restaurant for everyone and it will be a special evening for everyone.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosemarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn S, Social Media Specialist & Designer at Buckley's Great Steaks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Hi Rosemarie R,
First, thank you for choosing to dine with us, AND for taking the time to leave us such a wonderfully kind review. We know that Merrimack offers such a great selection of dining options, so we truly appreciate you joining us for dinner! We hope that we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

My wife and I went to Buckley's Great Steaks tonight and decided to try the Tavern instead of the main restaurant. It was great! We started with a Tiramisu Martini for my wife and a nice glass of Clos LaChance chardonnay for me. Main courses included a Steak Tips and the Thursday night special BBQ. This dish includes St, Louis ribs, beef brisket, brown bread, corn fritters and cole slaw. The tips were great as were all the items on the BBQ special with the exception of the cole slaw. Service was excellent that thanks to Jenn and the support team. Will go back again. Prices are a bit on the high side but a good value.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Buckley's Great Steaks, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thanks for choosing to dine with us in Riddles Tavern Phil! Our BBQ night happens every Thursday, where our Chef creates something a little different every week! We're so glad to hear you had such a great time dining in the Tavern with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buckley's Great Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Buckley's Great Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing