We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moultonborough
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Sheets were stained and dirty, clearly had NOT been laundered; loud music in adjoining room; room smelled awful, like cigarette smell trying to be masked by air freshener...we fled at 10 p.m., could not stay the night. STAY AWAY!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank smgallo272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stayed here last week on our fall trip to Mount Washington. Considering the ratings and not much options available for the peak fall season we had low expectations on this hotel. The hotel is decent enough with all the needed facilities and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

The best part is the hospitality. We are so overwhelmed by the hospitality shown by the owner of the facility. He provided us a lot of breakfast options as well as let us cook some hot breakfast in his kitchen with his groceries.

We four families with a bunch of kids really enjoyed the stay.

Would definitely visit again.....

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I'll admit I was apprehensive about staying having read the other reviews. The pool is cold ,but it's refreshing.
There's a gas station next door which sells beer and food.
There's a microwave and fridge in room,
A toaster downstairs in reception which you can use. There's also a communal ice machine.
It's a little (lot) dated but it was clean.
the sheets were freshly ironed
They provided plenty of bath/face/hand towels and you could just pop down to the laundry to pick up fresh ones.
There was shampoo/conditioner/bodywash. Aircon was perfect.
It's a motel it's not the ritz. It's cheap. Hire a car go to weirs beach.
When we were there, there was a storm so the power went off so water was off. They provided gallons of water and drinking bottles. Stuff happens.
The staff were very friendly. Just local people making a living. The owner was informative and helpful.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ElizabethJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Do not stay here. We drove up and were stared at by a family who apparently lives there. Another guy was washing his truck which blocked parking. Took a few minutes for someone to come to office. We told them we had made other arrangements and quickly left the premises. Not sure how this place is allowed to stay open? Gives the name a bad wrap!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karibbean62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The room was so gross, the second we opened the door we were overwhelmed with Lysol or some sort of cleaning spray. We had to open the windows and the door to air it out because it was giving us a head ache. The bathroom was so gross there were little fruit flies coming out of the drains and they were everywhere. I definitely didn't use the shower. The bed was so uncomfortable and everything was so old. We took one look at the pool and didn't even bother going in.
If it had been up to me we wouldn't have stayed. I couldn't believe my boyfriend spent over a $100 on the room.
I would not recommend staying here ever,

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 340 Whittier Hwy, PO Box 366, Moultonborough, NH 03254-3627 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Moultonborough)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Moultonborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moultonborough
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Matterhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Moultonborough
Moultonborough Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing