We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
US$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 04/08
US$159
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$204
US$180
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ale House Inn(Portsmouth)
Book now, pay at stay
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$354
US$239
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
341
155
34
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
155
34
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskwithin walking distanceone bedroom suitevalet parkingportsmouth downtownwafflesfull kitchenliving areathe sofa bedsmall kitchenfree breakfastnice sizehotel is in a great locationthe breakfast arearooms are largeself parkstreet parking
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Our trip to this Residence Inn included our beloved chihuahua and while some Marriott properties are not as welcoming to dogs, this one gave us a bowl for dog water and cleanup bags in a small dispenser that attaches to the leash.

We had a brief moment of confusion because some requests were not saved to our reservation but the manager and staff reconciled this without delay upon check-in and a brief call with the front desk.

The hotel was clean and comfortable, the valet staff were very expedient and the overall experience was pleasant.

The hotel is very convenient to many of the area attractions, restaurants and bars. Much of our trip was indoors at the hotel, a local spa and restaurants as we prefer the off-season in coastal New England and years like this one include cold temperatures into early April.

A huge point of praise was the responsive nature of management to the issues raised, and I recommend that travelers communicate preferences and requests again at check-in as the hotel seems very busy. Otherwise I still extend 5 stars for the appreciated responses to requests which came directly from the GM.

The location was, again, great—and although self-parking was not an option, the valet service got my car faster than I could have remembered where I parked in the first place. They provide a number to text your ticket number to and by the time you get downstairs the car awaits you.

Thank you for a great stay during our brief off-season-weather visit to the sea coast region!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor C, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel Mr. Graham. We were delighted to host you and glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you on a return trip to Portsmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed downtown on the waterfront for a holiday visit. Our room was a one bedroom suite - incredibly spacious and comfortable. The staff was lovely, the entire hotel extremely modern, with nice touches like fresh cookies or other treats at the front desk around the clock (my kids especially appreciated this!)

The pool was beautiful; it felt a bit magical to be swimming in a beautiful blue pool with a colonial winter wonderland outside!

The breakfast buffet was excellent, as we’ve found all Marriott breakfasts to be (see waffle photo!)

We brought our pet cat with us, and he loved the room as well :)

This hotel would be PERFECT if there was a parking lot... being downtown Portsmouth, the parking was valet, which many would adore, but I like easy access to my car without needing it to be fetched :) I’d stay again though, in the summer when we wouldn’t need our car to get around (it was below-freezing for the entirety of our stay, not surprising for late December!)

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColwenHotels-MGMT, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5 star rating regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn in Portsmouth.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, loved the atmosphere and even the cat came along!
We take pride in making certain our guests are well taken care of, as we know you have choices when you travel and we strive to be the best and only choice.
We look forward to seeing you again at one of our properties soon, thanks again for the feedback we shall share it with the team.

Sincerely,

The Customer Service Team
Colwen Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Excellent decor, nice size pool, great workout room. Guest rooms are a nice size. Room 329 was great. Lively bar area and beautiful check in. Had Lindt chocolate at the check in. We had teen boys and they were very patient with them.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishcoxnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We ended up staying at this hotel due to an inconvenience at another one. However this hotel was phenomenal. It was nice and clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was delicious, bed was comfortable. Pillows were kind of soft wish it was just a little firmer. Otherwise we loved it. I like that it had like a living room area and then a door that led to the bedroom. It is nice to have the different spacing in rooms. The bar, lounge area downstairs was comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilyannegenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

The good: The hotel is in a great location-easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and the park on the waterfront. Staff is excellent, especially the valet attendants. Suite was clean, comfortable, compact and well-equipped. Night light in bathroom was greatly appreciated.
The bad: NOISE NOISE NOISE NOISE. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a one-bedroom suite from a studio. Room location was BAD, on the outside edge of the building, overlooking a parking lot, next to the stairwell and near a loud fan of some sort that never shut off. There was street noise, fan noise, drunk people coming in from the stairwell until very late, traffic noise and that doesn't even take into consideration the noise from room-to-room. There is NO soundproofing at all (or from the hallway). Saturday morning we were subject to kids screaming and yelling at 6:30 a.m. then the joyful sound of Dad yelling at them. Saturday night the noise from the room next door started up again, so we left a night early. The breakfast supplied was mediocre at best and the number of undisciplined children running around the breakfast area was completely unacceptable. It is a very child-friendly hotel but parents beware many of those children are not well-behaved nor are they expected to be.

In all fairness to the hotel we did not request a room change. While that may have solved some of the issues it would not have solved all of them. It is not a bad property just one plagued with noise issues.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Outbacklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews