We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sunapee Lake Lodge(Mount Sunapee)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$159
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$226
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(New London)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Claremont)
US$85
US$75
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$152
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dexter's Inn(Sunapee)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
32
15
7
6
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
15
7
6
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake sunapeecontinental breakfasthard boiled eggsbagelslarge dining tablerooms are largeeach morningrickdoriswoodsaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We had an overnight stay here. Could not fault room and location. Would definitely return for a longer break.
Short drive in to Sunapee and great walks to be taken by the river.
Would recommend the Anchorage restaurant and a visit to the Museum.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We just stayed one weekend night. There is a pool and breakfast was included. The motel does not have air conditioning, but it was cooler at night and there was a fan in the window. The breakfast has a nice pancake machine, better than any other pancake machine and all you do is press a button and out come two pancakes with real blueberries. Beds are comfortable. As noted, the shower is tiny, but the hot water is great. It is up almost a mile the road on a big hill from the cove on the lake where the boats are. I would not recommend walking to the cove at night since it is a steep hill and no lights. This motel would be good during the cooler nights or spring or autumn since there is no air conditioning.

Room Tip: Try the rooms on the end since the ones near the office will be noisier in the morning because of breakfast.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed again this year for two nights during the LNHC Fair. Rick was friendly as usual and the rooms were clean. He offers pancakes, hard boiled eggs, bagels, fruit and coffee. I opted for a full breakfast elsewhere, but Rick told me to take a bagel for later. Will be back again next year. Price is competitive with others around. Even though there is no air conditioning, we were up on the hill and the fan worked fine to cool us down. Very comfortable and very quiet. Pool looked great, but I am not a swimmer.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, all face the mountain.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buddymav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelover183, Manager at Burkehaven Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Thank you! The craft fair is one of the nicest times to come. We hope you did well and see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

After traveling from NYC in heavy traf4ic, and numerous delays my husband and I 4inally arrived at the
Burkehaven Lodge in Sunapee. Although it took us seven hours we made it by 8:30 PM. Phew! It was
rough traveling through the mountains in darkness but we persevered because we wanted to attend the
craft show the following day and meet with some of our artist friends who were exhibiting.
Upon our arrival at the hotel,we entered the lobby with our room con4irmation in hand. After reading
our con4irmation, the owner stated, "Sorry, something is wrong, I made a mistake I have your room
reserved for tomorrow night." I asked him how could he make such a mistake. We have no where to go.
We have never been in Sunapee before. We showed him the printout again, but all he could say was
"Sorry, I have no rooms available." Then he called the police and told them he felt threatened. There
was no reason for him to feel threatened, there were no angry words exchanged or angry gestures
made. My husband and I were in shock. Where were we going to go for the night? It was pitch black and
the service on the GPS was non-existent.
When the police arrived we explained the situation, showed them our con4irmation but they stated that
it was a civil matter.
The only room available in town was $329.00 per night at the Mountain Edge Resort and Spa. It was out
of our price range, we were exhausted and couldn't make it back to NYC so we had no choice but to stay
there. The room, although pricey, was worth it.
We think that the Burkehaven Lodge received a good rating because of their prices. But after what they
put us through, I wouldn't stay there even if the room is free. THE OWNER IS A LIAR. You have to be
able to trust the place where you "lay your head" in order to have a good night's sleep. Trust me, THIS
IS NOT THE PLACE TO STAY!!!

Room Tip: Don't be sure a printed confirmation means anything.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This is our third summer staying at the Burkehaven. We book at least a couple weekends each summer. From time to time there has been no availability, but the owner, Rick, gladly calls me if any openings develop. The rooms are a good size and all have a fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker (ther is also hot coffee in the common area each morning). They have one room with a King bed, and a futon pull out bed, the others have two fulls. There is room for a blow up mattress if that is needed. They offer a decent continental breakfast includiing a new pancake maker that the guest operate. There is always fresh fruit, bagels an toast, hard boiled eggs, bagels, bread and english muffins. There is a large dining table, couches & comfy chairs, games, and area information in the common area. Frequently there are folks sitting around the table getting to know each other while they eat their breakfast. The rooms are clean. The housekeeping staff is very friendly and have worked there for many years. Rick and his partner Doris are very friendly and very interesting people. It is always relaxing at the Burkehaven. The view of Mt. Sunapee is stunning, and lake Sunapee is very close by. They provide passes to the town beach where there are a variety of boats, as well as chairs and umbrellas; all complimentary for guests at the Burkehaven. Sunapee harbor is at the bottom of the hill and is a fun place to watch the boats launch, browse the shops, have some ice cream or a smoothie. There is a restaurant with seating at the waters edge, and there is often live music. Also, this is a 15 minute drive to New London where there are many more restaurants and entertainment options. This is small town NH and it is all charming. We have enjoyed meeting other guests staying at the Burkehaven who have been coming there for many years with their families. I am looking forward to staying there again, next summer

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MaSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelover183, Manager at Burkehaven Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Thank you! We loved having your family with us. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews