We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,283)
Filter reviews
2,283 results
Traveller rating
1,410
531
167
103
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,410
531
167
103
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar axe throwing movie theater front porch the barn tavern restaurant white mountains golf course movie room air hockey fine dining indoor pool dog sledding ice skating ping pong wait staff board games
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 2,283 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Upholding the tradition of the great resorts from days gone by describes the Mountain View Grand. This facility underwent a complete restoration some years ago and the attention shown to the finest of details is evident everywhere. Our stay was on the last day of June and as things so happened that was to be the hottest day of the year up until that point. Check in was fast and professional as well as baggage carry in which I had requested. Our room was on a corner of the hotel facing the Presidential Range so we had three large windows on two walls. The view from our room was superb.We spent some time on the great deck overlooking the mountains where snacks and cocktails are offered. We did quite a lot of walking on the grounds and the flower gardens were breathtaking. While I do not play Golf, the course was really impressive as well, I'm quite sure anyone involved with the activity would enjoy playing it there. The main lobby offered an atmosphere of it's own with folks chatting and relaxing as well as the piano player on the baby grand performing a assortment of tunes. Most impressive. To escape the Afternoon heat we stopped off at the cocktail lounge for a bit. Later we would take in a movie located at the lower level. Really it's a six foot flat screen, I should mention the sound system was superb.
The Mountain View Grand offers two styles of evening dining, formal and more casual. We chose the latter.The overall mood festive, our dinner was a delight and the staff could have not been better. prices are about what one would expect for fine dining and well worth it. We loved the Brake for Moose desert.
The accomadations in our room approached flawless, I specially liked the bath area, here again attention to detail and plan layout were superb. Our room was spacious, and the bed extremely comfortable.The tall ceiling fan added accent to the room. The television was large and offered many channels as standard.
With the extreme heat and sun the air conditioning did seem to have a bit of an issue with temperature regulation but really nothing more than two degrees. During the night an extreme storm passed through the area ( remember where you are) and the sideways rain and wind pounded on the windows. I felt confident and secure. The Breakfast buffet was on the pricy side, that said it was nothing short of outstanding.
As we were touring the region our following night was to be at Burke Mountain in Vermont. Such a memorable one night stay over was by no means enough to enjoy all the Mountain Grand View has to offer.

Room tip: Opt for a room facing the Presidents range. Cell phone reception may be spotty in some areas.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Kenneth L,

Thank you for your considerate and in-depth review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you for another stay in the distant future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

The MVG sits majestically at the top of a hill, with gorgeous mountain views everywhere you look. The grounds are just beautiful and well maintained. There are a lot of activities throughout the day for you to try. Axe throwing, poolside bingo, an adorable farm, campfire s’mores, etc. Our stay was very much enjoyed. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was not a plus, as there was zero water pressure in the shower. The water in the shower was either scalding or cold. There was no shelf, so I had to put my soap and shampoo on the shower floor (ewwww). The staff here is very nice and always asked if you needed anything. The pool was awesome and definitely something to look forward to after a long day adventuring. There are tons of kids and families here, but it was okay for us. The resort gets very quiet after dark and relaxing on the porch was a nice way to end our night.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear KMurr66,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing Mountain View Grand to spend your special weekend. Your candid feedback is appreciated and we hope to welcome you again for another stay in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

The complete facility, grounds, flower beds, rooms, dining areas, and services by the staff are all "top notch" making our visit very pleasant. Even the weather cooperated to make this first visit very enjoyable in every way. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room tip: All rooms seemed great. Maintenance in and out was exceptional
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear David T,

Thank you for your review. It's wonderful that you enjoyed your stay and wish you had stayed longer. We hope to welcome you back for your second visit in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel! We pulled up and were astonished at the views. The hotel room was very nice. Loved the bellman. He was amazing. The grounds were perfectly manicured. The kids loved the outdoor chess set and pool. Lots of activities. Our only complaint was lack of response when we had a service issue with the room and we called several times and waited close to an hour for it to be repaired.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank courtneywR6080KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Courtney W,

Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. While we are sorry to hear there was a delay in service, I am glad that it was finally resolved. I have shared your review with our Resort Manager, Peter Melvin, who is in the midst of tracking down where this delay occurred. It will be rectified for the future, and we hope to be able to welcome you again for another stay.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Very rustic and peaceful location in the mountains. Plenty of activities if you want to do things. Larger porch to sit and read in rocking chair.

Food is amazing and Chef Nate has transformed the place into a gastro gem. Great menu with frame to market items.

Definitely a place to visit.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank edvarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear edvarney,


Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us, and your compliments toward Chef Nate have been shared. We greatly appreciate your kind remarks and hope to welcome you for another visit in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews