We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best prime rib around”

Top of The Green At Apple MTN
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Belvidere
Description: Casual dining restaurant in a rustic barn open to the public year-round, offering beautiful views of Apple Mountain Golf Course. Outdoor deck and bar, stone fireplace, seasonal menus offering pub burgers to prime rib, daily specials, and monthly entertainment. Available for private parties and events.
Restaurant details
Description: Casual dining restaurant in a rustic barn open to the public year-round, offering beautiful views of Apple Mountain Golf Course. Outdoor deck and bar, stone fireplace, seasonal menus offering pub burgers to prime rib, daily specials, and monthly entertainment. Available for private parties and events.
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I have not been to Top of the Green in a while and was very impressed with the few changes in the dining room. They now use linen table cloths and napkins. The colors made the already cozy dining room so much more inviting and warm. We sat at the bar, but of course who wouldn't want to sit at the bar when Shannon is working. My grand daughter and I had the prime rib. It was absolutely delicious. It was perfectly seasoned and cooked just like we ordered it. The cream of chicken with vegetables and rice soup was perfect on this cold winter night and you can't beat the price! I needed to bring dinner home for my husband and Shannon recommended a cheese burger. He said it was great. He said he could tell it was a real burger not some kind of frozen patty. If you are looking for somewhere to eat on a Thursday night definitely go for the prime rib. You won't be disappointed. But go early. They have a real wood burning fireplace that would be perfect to sit in front of on a chilly night. We will be back and hope to see you there too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trishmichael2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenda k, Owner at Top of The Green At Apple MTN, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Thank you for your positive review. We really appreciate when our customers take the time to write such detailed comments. It's a great service to our potential customers and to us for getting the good word out on our place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2016

The restaurant and bar are located on a very nice mountain golf course. The restaurant has a nice fire going every evening to set the mood. During the summer months the large outdoor deck overlooking the greens is great for dining and drinks. The reasonably priced food is very good, the staff is attentive and friendly. There is a fully stocked bar. Nightly Specials such as 'Tuesday Night Burger and Wing Night', 'Two for $20 Wednesday', Thursday/Saturday Prime Rib Special with your choice of 8, 12 or 16 ounce cuts. There is also a Sunday menu beginning at 1:00 till closing. Dress is casual, the atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. On Saturday evenings during the holiday season they have a pianist entertaining between 6 - 8 PM. They're known for hosting special occasion parties, holiday parties and golf outings. They also have special holiday buffets which are both reasonably priced and delicious.

Top of the Green is a nice and relaxed family owned restaurant with great food and great service. I highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blynch67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenda k, Owner at Top of The Green At Apple MTN, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review! We are pleased that you enjoy everything our restaurant has to offer. Please keep coming back and look for us continuing special theme events and menus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

This place is great to enjoy with friends. It is very affordable and nobody rushes you like they do at other restaurants to turn over tables. I have eaten there many times and have always enjoyed the meals. There are times we spent over 2 hours relaxing with friends. The music is never too loud that you can't hear the conversations. My recommendation is to arrive early as the restaurant is either vacant or nearly vacant by 9 pm.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jimr20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenda k, Owner at Top of The Green At Apple MTN, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate it so much when our customers take the time to write a review. Our restaurant is decorated now in a "winter wonderland" theme for the month of January. Come see us soon when we change over to Valentine's Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

With our golf fees an extra $8 buys up to a $10 entree along with a half pitcher of beer or other beverage. My roast beef panini was tasty along with the side of sweet potato fries. My pals also enjoyed their selections. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is relaxed and uncrowded. A perfect placed to wind down after 18 holes of golf on a mountainside.

Thank Len S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenda k, Owner at Top of The Green At Apple MTN, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

My name is Glenda Kiszonak and I am one of the owners of Apple Mountain. Thank you for your positive review, especially mentioning our great lunch ticket for golfers. It is a fantastic deal as well as our winter rates. Follow us on Facebook to keep current on golf course and restaurant events/specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Great local place for outdoor dining. Good food, good crowd, nice place to go after golfing. Reasonable prices

Thank jennifeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenda k, Owner at Top of The Green At Apple MTN, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

My name is Glenda Kiszonak, and as one of the owners, I would like to thank you for your positive review. We like to offer our customers the perfect place to unwind whether it's from 18 holes of golf or a hard day of work. Our new fall menu is a hit as well as our nightly specials. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top of The Green At Apple MTN also viewed

 

Been to Top of The Green At Apple MTN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing