We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashion Steakhouse in NJ”

The River Palm Terrace
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Edgewater
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the River Palm Terrace, New Jersey's finest steakhouse! We serve the finest prime beef available anywhere. Only 1% of the beef fabricated in America is suitable for use in our restaurant. Our beef is hand selected from the best-fed cattle by the finest stockyard packing companies in the west. The steaks are center cut only from U.S.D.A. Prime Beef, aged on the premises to the mellow point of perfection and then hand crafted by our own butcher for incomparable tenderness and flavor. Even our prime rib is prime. All of our prime beef is tender and juicy beyond imagination.....Search the world over, taste and savor, you'll find no other meats to compare, by any standards, with superb selections of the River Palm Terrace restaurant. This is an assurance and our promise.
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Our small office decided to have a Christmas party and we were looking for steaks. We decided on the River Palm Terrace because of the reviews. You enter this small bar with tables and then the main dining room off to the left. We were early and decided to go the bar where I believe we were greeted by Paul. We ordered a round of drinks and stayed to the back, but when people got up we moved in their seats. This was a big No No! Paul was not happy as those seats were for people waiting to eat. How were we to know that? You could have told us rather than copping an attitude. We pulled a way to the high tops separating the bar and some booths. At that point we ordered a few dozen of oyster and more drinks with Paul. He was slightly more cheerful. Experience at the bar -1.
Once seated, we were hosted by Ricky and he was outstanding! We ordered a bottle of wine and the seafood tower. Each of us enjoyed the lobster, crab and shrimp. An excellent recommendation for a group. We then had either the bone in ribeye or T bone steaks along with mashed potatoes, grilled potatoes, steamed asparagus and mushrooms. The steaks were classic tender, fine chops! Adding in a few moe bottles of wine and entertainment by Ricky we were having a blast. Dinner and Service a 5+.
If we do it again, we will skip the bar for the over priced drinks and terrible service. Ricky will also be requested as our host.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JBentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverpalmedgewater, Public Relations Manager at The River Palm Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

Tomahawk steaks are the best. If you haven’t tried it, you are missing out. Our server , Ricky is phenomenal. He was responsible for hooking us up with the best food choices that my family enjoyed for the night. We will definitely come back in the near future.

2  Thank FilipinoNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverpalmedgewater, Public Relations Manager at The River Palm Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

That's great!! Thank you for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Came back here for the first time in a while. Our reservation was for 7:00 and we were actually seated around 7:30, which wasn't so bad considering how crowded it was for a Thursday night.

We had a fantastic waiter who took excellent care of us all night.
Apps: Octopus was charred perfectly and delicious. The peppers were perfect too. Our table loved the shrimp cocktail, although I thought the cocktail sauce wasn't great.

The porterhouse for two was mammoth and perfect cooked to med rare. The lamb chops were done to perfection. And our non meat eating person loved the sesame tuna.

All in all we had a wonderful time and highly recommend River Palm in Edgewater

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverpalmedgewater, Public Relations Manager at The River Palm Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hello and thank you for posting this great review!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Sushi is better than most sushi spots in NYC...steak competes if not crushes the competition. Staff is on point. Love love love this place.

Thank Priscilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverpalmedgewater, Public Relations Manager at The River Palm Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Great review! Hope to see you in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The food is the best!
If you are not a regular costumer and not a great tipper, think twice before going.
The service will not be so great and you may have to wait until the regulars are seated, even if you booked a reservation.
It's expensive but good food is.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 584mabely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverpalmedgewater, Public Relations Manager at The River Palm Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review, we appreciate it and hope to see you in again soon!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The River Palm Terrace also viewed

 

Been to The River Palm Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing