We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$222
US$212
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Holland Hotel(Jersey City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Haiban Inn(Jersey City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$199
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Jersey City(Jersey City)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,549)
Filter reviews
1,549 results
Traveller rating
750
514
177
66
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
514
177
66
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesdouble treefront deskpath trainnew yorkcorner suitejunior suiteshuttle servicegrocery storelight railfree shuttleminute walkinto nycupon checksofa bedtwo blocksself parking
Filter
Updating list...
1,248 - 1,253 of 1,549 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Second time to New York this time we stayed in New Jersey. Booked this hotel through Hiton web site. Fantastic service got pre-bought tickets for football game sent direct to hotel and phoned to check on arrival got very friendly night manager who checked on them and documented on check in details about them.Rang also about advise on how to get transfer from airport because no shuttle service to New Jersey from JFK told to get taxi and should not pay anymore than $100 (negotiated a price of $80 included tip door to door). Arrived at Hotel to a warm welcome by Felix he gave us a warm cookie and booked us into our suite. All the staff were very friendly and willing to help with any question/booking. They were great with our 14 yrs old son who sat down in public area to access internet service. We chose this hotel because we were coming to New York for a 10 day stay over Christmas & New Year ($$$$ for a New York Hotel over $6000 2 star hotel compared to $1900 4 star). Read reviews and all came true. The suite rooms were 2 good size rooms with 2 double beds and a living room that has a sofa bed. Great for a family of 5, little kitchen area with fridge and microwave. Very close to local shopping centre with a good food court and Macy, movies ect. Train station a 5-10 min walk or free shuttle service (good for days when we had snow). The train to New York took about 10 min leaves about every 10 min so everytime we got to train station to travelled between NY and Jersey a train was waiting. Large saving for a 10 min train trip which dropped you off right at Macy's in New York. We bought a 7 day unlimited ticket on the NY Metro and PATH pass that we passed to each other. The only negative point on the hotel is that they do not have a public laundry area. BUT got the free shuttle to drop us off and phoned for them to pick us up when we were finished. I would stay here again and would never stay in Manhattan again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetravelling12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Thank you very much for sharing your experience while staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you return. Safe travels......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The service from front desk to valet was incredible, very polite personnel... Room was the biggest for a 2 double bed, only problem is that we requested a crib for our 2 yo child, they told us at the check-in that one was available, but told us the opposite when we went back to the hotel at 8 pm... But they gave us one next morning telling us that a lot of families were in the hotel and they didn't have enough crib for all of us!!!!

Room was quiet (at the 14th floor), roomy and clean, bathroom could be a little bigger for a suite, but OK for 4 adults and 1 child

Room Tip: Get the Deluxe suite without the view on NY City
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobtravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thanks for sharing your comments about your recent stay and do apologize for the confusion of obtaining a crib per your initial request, but glad that we were able to accomodate the next morning. Look forward to seeing you return should your travels take you back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Location is perfect while visiting NYC. Rooms are big, beautiful quiet area. Path is walking distance that bring you the NYC in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GARDA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location very convenient. Hope to see you return soon! safe travels........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This hotel had some of the best service I have ever encountered. The front desk was friendly, fun, and just really pleasant to deal with. Felix was super friendly and nice, with quick answers to any questions.

The hotel itself is very clean, modern, and in a nice safe location with quick access to NYC. The restaurant had great food and a nice atmosphere to enjoy a beer.

The area is nice and clean but has the feel of a financial district, open early and closed early. The plus is it isn't that crowded and their is a lot of restaurants etc in the area.

I must be honest though and say some parts of Jersey City are not that great, I would avoid the areas off the main strip at night, especially if alone and/or female. The shop rite 2 blocks behind the hotel was a bit "different" at night and I was a bit uncomfortable with the crowd.

I highly recommend this hotel as a great alternative to NYC and as a nice place for a conference etc.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank PadresDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service levels exceptional. Hope to be your first choice of accomodations should your travels take you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I just completed a 2 night stay at the Doubletree Suites in Jersey City. I have nothing negative to stay about the property itself. It seems fairly new and it's really clean and comfortable. The original room they gave me was a smoking room. As soon as I walked in I could smell it. I immediately called the front desk and the problem was rectified. We did however have a problem with getting directions and shuttle service from them. One of the added perks of this property is that it's close to the PATH station, which connects Jersey City and Hoboken to NYC. Upon arriving in Jersey City, we called the hotel to ask them to have them send their shuttle to pick us up. Unfortunately for us, there was a wedding going on at the time and the shuttle was out picking/dropping other people off, so we asking if they could call for a cab, which they did. At first, this was great, but then we looked the location up and it turns out the hotel is less than a block from the train station. We would have appreciated it if they told us this information as it's an easy walk that will save you a few bucks on cab fare. The second problem we encountered was Shan we asked for directions on how to get to Liberty Statue Park. Someone told my friend to walk 4 blocks down the street, then make a left. It turned out to be a 10 block walk, then a right, so his directions were waaaay off. We later found out that there is a light rail station right behind the hotel, which would take you right to the park. Initially, we asked the front desk to have their shuttle van drop us off, since the park was supposedly so close. We were told that their shuttle does not run on weekends!!! Granted they are located in a business area, you would think that there are other travelers that come and use this hotel for pleasure that are in need in a ride on the weekends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecr527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I do apologize for the confusion in reference to transportation and directions as you noted above. I have reviewed this with our front office and valet team. I hope you allow us another opportunity to service your travel needs when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews