We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot across from NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Very nice gate to NYC, not as expensive as an hotel in downtown, especially if you compare the cost of a dark room at a first floor in downtown with a more comfortable room for the same price in Jersey City. The building is at walking distance from PATH Newport Station or Newport Light Rail, 20 minutes to get to Penn Station in NY and 5 to Hoboken-NJ. Even for tourism it fits perfectly, the skyline of New York across from the river is breathtaking. The hall is the business card of the rest of the hotel, ample, clean, perfect. Helpful staff, professionally prepared, problem solving oriented. The room, 1010, is clean, well maintained. A little noised because close to the elevator. Two negative notes about the chair at the work desk, uncomfortable and flattened to floor, and the room service the last two days, they did not replace coffee and the little bottle of water provided in the room. Bed sheets clean, towels replaced every day. WiFi effective and fast. The restaurant is fine for something quick and casual. Laundry service reliable and affordable. Perfect place where relaxing and work over the weekend.

Room Tip: Floor 10 Hilton Honors - Room 10 is too close to the elevator which causes noises, ask for one farth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angelod851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 1,439 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
135
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

If I drive to NYC, this is my preferred hotel because I never like to drive into Manhattan. It is located about 2 blocks away from the path train (about 10 min walk) and right next to Newport Mall, which is a perfect place to shop and find various places to eat. They provide parking with a fee; self-parking is $25 a day ($28.75 with taxes) and it comes with in and out access, which I find it to be reasonable compared to parking in NYC. They also provide valet parking.

The staff always makes sure that your stay is going well by sending you a text a few hours after check in. The continental breakfast is good, but you have to pay (it is free for Hilton Honors gold and Diamond members). The rooms are nice and spacious and contain fridges, which regular Hilton brand hotels don't. The Doubletree provides city-view rooms, which I don't think are worth the premium as you are only getting a view of the edge of downtown NYC, not the skyline people expect with the Empire Building and such.

I intend to return to this location when I drive back for business.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We were in town for wedding and the check in was outstanding even though there were 4 other weddings the same day and 4 the next day. The room was large and very comfortable We stayed 2 nights 50 rooms had been reservedand we heard no complaints. The bar and resturant staff were wsome. Would sty ther again

Room Tip: If you need a room for the handicap just request one best if before or after you make the reservaton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoirish41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Rashid and Monique make business happen in a flash! Consider staying here instead of NYC, easy jump on The Path subway puts you there or The New World Trade Center.

The Cookie came and Conquered Again... Great Job DoubleTree!

Very Satisfied Hilton Honors Gold Member

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank DH254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We enjoyed our four-night stay at the Doubletree Jersey City.

The best feature for us was the proximity to NYC via the PATH train. While the train service was inconsistent and we had some long waits, it was still much better/easier than driving, and also far better than the NYC subways.

The room itself was quite nice, with a great view of NYC. The housekeeping was excellent, and everything was very clean and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the seperate living area, but found it strange that the walls separating the room did not go all the way up to the ceiling.

I have to say that the breakfast was not very good at all. While the spread was extensive, items like fruit and pastries were not very fresh or tasty. One morning they had good yogurt parfaits, but not the other mornings...so it was a bit inconsistent. Also annoying was that I would present my breakfast voucher to one of the staff upon entering the breakfast area, and every day would be asked by one or 2 other staff people whether I had a voucher. One morning, I was even chased back to the elevator by a staff person looking for my voucher. So, clearly some confusion with that process.

The staff experience was a bit mixed. Some of the front desk staff were excellent, giving us directions, recommendations, etc. that were very much appreciated. Others, including the valets seemed a bit lazy when we asked for help. I opted for valet parking, and it turned out I didn't actually use my car until leaving the hotel on the last day. But we did need to get items from the car a few times, and the valets were quite unhelpful - just pointing us to the car.

Overall though, we had quite an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,879 reviews
0.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
533 reviews
0.1 km away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
0.5 km away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
640 reviews
0.7 km away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Address: 455 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1972
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: $235 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing