We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lawrenceville
Reviewed 25 April 2017

This was my first stay at Red Roof Inn. I stayed one night with my wife and 7 years old. Room was clean and I noticed upgrades like headlamp on bed etc. However, found this place very limited on several points that you should know before booking -
- There is no complimentary break fast that usually accompany similar hotels
- There is only one laundry room with one dryer and one washer next to Office. So if your room is in different building you will need to drag your laundry through stairs.
- Shower has a very limited water supply, it literally just drips. If you try full throttle you get cold water. After a long drive, my least expectations from the room was good hot shower.

It is not that every hotel I stay is great in these things, but I paid good rate (@80 with taxes) looking at "very good" rating on Tripadvisor, which was misleading.

Room Tip: Check if showers work properly when you enter the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsu1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof111, Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am so sorry about the experience you encountered. It is very important to us that our guests enjoy a clean and comfortable stay and I can understand how lack of a hot shower would make this impossible. Please know we take guest feedback very seriously and will work to address your concerns. Thank you again for sharing with us and please reach out to me if you would like to discuss further.

We would love the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.

Thank You

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

I needed a room for a night and I was on a budget. I decided to come here. Big mistake. The first room I was in had a stain on the bedcover and the second room had a stain on the sheets. I went to the desk and told Molly and she handed me sheets. Why am I paying you for a room and hospitality if you're handing me sheets for me to change myself? I don't think so. That's awful customer service. I would never stay at this dump again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof111, Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

I am so sorry to hear about the awful experience you encountered. There is no excuse for this and we apologize for it occurring. The issues you experienced with your room cleanliness as well as lack of resolution by our staff is unacceptable and we will address this; thank you for bringing it to our attention.

If you would like to discuss your issues further please reach out to me directly as I would love the opportunity to resolve this for you and provide you with a better experience in the future.

Thank You

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last year with my brother in law and family, they were visiting us from the UK, it's a good hotel to get around by bus. And not very expensive as well. We stayed here total of 3 days. No complaints, does the job!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Zziieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof111, Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank youf or sharing your experience! We are glad to hear you had a good visit and hope you enjoyed your time with your family from the UK!

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Yosry sleem is a very good Employee I loved his service and I'm also enjoying my stay. Everyone here is respectful and housekeeping is awesome the coffee is wonderful. I feel safe because the police can get here in 2 seconds

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hassan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof111, Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thank you for the great review and specifically your compliments to Yosry! He was so happy to hear he made a positive impact on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our staff and housekeeping service, as well as the complimentary coffee we provide 24 hours a day, everyday. We are very glad you feel comfortable staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Thank You

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Although an older RRI, this property is well taken care of. It is quiet and clean. the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. We were in the building that contained the office and expected possible traffic. Never heard a car drive in even though they did. The pet area was clean and easily reached by our room toward the end of the building. Both the man who checked us in---originally from Egypt and the young women who checked us out the following day were pleasant and attentive. In the morning there is coffee available in the office area. It would be nice if there was a breakfast. There is a beautiful room off the office that would accomate a breakfast room.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Button143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof111, Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our property. Thank you for the compliments regarding our staff and cleanliness. We always appreciate hearing such positive feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again if you are ever in our area.

Thank You

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrenceville
1.9 km away
Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn of Princeton
Comfort Inn of Princeton
#2 of 3 in Lawrenceville
94 reviews
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#12 of 15 in Princeton
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Extended Stay America - Princeton - West Windsor
10.1 km away
Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites
3.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
#15 of 15 in Princeton
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing

Address: 3203 US Highway 1, I-95/295 at US 1 North, Exit #67/67-A, Lawrenceville, NJ 08648-2409
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lawrenceville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lawrenceville
Price Range: $99 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 100% Smoke-Free Red Roof Princeton we are located less than 6 miles from the New Jersey State Capital in Trenton and Historic Princeton. We are conveniently located off Route 1, near I-295. Come visit central New Jersey with its mix of educational locations, historical sights, fine dining and shopping and research facilities in all industries. The Inn is 5 miles from Princeton University, Princeton Theological Seminary, Westminster Choir College, Rider University and The College of New Jersey. Numerous Fortune 500 companies are all within 10 miles including Dow Jones, SAR, Bristol Myer Squibb, Pfizer, Novo Disk and Educational Testing Service. Shopping is close by with Mercer Mall, Market Fair, Quaker Bridge Mall and downtown Princeton. History buff? The American Revolution was saved at the Battles of Trenton and Princeton. Both these historical sites as well as Washington’s Crossing with a new Visitor’s Center and restored parts of the Delaware and Raritan Canal are within a 15 minute drive. Sports is also featured in the area. Several golf courses both public and private as well as Mercer County Park with tennis, biking, seasonal ice rink and walking trails offer outdoor activity year round. The Trenton Thunder, a New York Yankee AA team plays in Waterfront Park, a fifteen minute drive. The Inn offers Newly Renovated Rooms, complimentary WiFi access, free parking, lobby coffee, complimentary local and long distance calls. One well behaved pet is welcome at no charge. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will make sure to take care of all your needs to make you feel confident, significant and delighted. No matter what brings you our way, we thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Princeton and hope to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Princeton Hotel Lawrenceville
Red Roof Inn Lawrenceville
Lawrenceville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing