We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back a 2nd time!”
Review of Mason Jar

Mason Jar
Ranked #10 of 55 Restaurants in Mahwah
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: When you're looking for good food with family, a drink with friends, or even just a place to watch the game, come see what's cooking at the Mason Jar! We believe that variety is the spice of life so our menu is all about options. Choose from a crisp salad, mouth-watering BBQ, fresh seafood, and so much more! But don't forget about our famous Sunday brunch! Mason Jar also features a full bar with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday from 4-7pm. Grab a couple of co-workers and wind down after a long day with our signature cocktails and draft beers. With 8 big screen TVs, Mason Jar is the perfect place to watch the big game! Join us on Thursday nights during football season to cheer on your favorite team. We also host live music every Friday and Saturday night! Enjoy the weather out on our beautiful dog-friendly patio with your favorite pooch or a seat at our spacious bar. At Mason Jar, we want your visit to be a fun and enjoyable experience! We're committed to friendly service, delicious food, and a welcoming atmosphere. When you're in the mood for food and fun, come down to Mason Jar for a good time!
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Had a business lunch and ordered the Lobster and Shrimp Tacos! DELICIOUS AWESOMNESS! Huge portion and the server Joe was professional and kind and didn't make us feel that he needed to rush us out during the lunch businessmen lunchtime. Cute décor, nice booths and you can smell wood burning outside for their homemade pizza.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OneoffbucketlistNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I went here for dinner one night before the weekly summer concert series at Ramapo College. I ordered the Lobster Bisque as an appetizer.. I wanted a cup but was told by the server it only came in one size. It came out in a crock not the size of a cup but not the size of a bowl. There was no lobster in this soup. When we got the check we saw we were charged $9.00 for the so called lobster bisque. We questioned the server about the charge since that was not the price on the nightly specials board. She told us they don’t post the real price . Since we were later leaving than we wanted to be we let it go. We are locals but will not be going back. If you go don’t order the lobster bisque, it’s poor at best. Bad business Mason Jar.

Thank MimiGeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvester007, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Our Lobster Bisque is exceptional....We use real lobster meat in the soup along with a touch of sherry....It is one of our biggest sellers....On our new menu the price is $8.00 ...I would like to invite you in & try a lobster bisque when I am here.... The person that told you about posting the price was wrong.....It is put up on our special board, & people get the price confused with the Soup of the Day....We are not trying to trick anyone in the least.....When we ran our Fall Special menu, we didn't have the Bisque on our regular or special menu, & still sold quite a bit each week because people came for it, & loved it....Ira Kaplin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Ate here one night as we were staying at the Fairfield next door and the front hotel staff recommended this place to us. It wasn't very busy and service was great. Food was hot and received in a timely fashion. Had French Onion soup, the jambalaya, and a beef sandwich which was all great. Would eat here again if in the area.

Thank Shoeman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvester007, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you very much, glad you enjoyed our establishment !!! Ira Kapln

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

The best cheeseburger in town! I loved the atmosphere here, and the waitstaff was really great! Fair prices, too!

Thank 859lauries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvester007, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

We try hard to have the best Hamburgers in the area !!! Thank you very much...Ira Kaplin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Been going here since childhood, and it has only gotten better with time!

Known for their bbq, the special fall menu is equally delightful.

French onion soup is among the best I have had. Worth the trip and the wait if its a busy Friday or Saturday!

Thank NYMertzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvester007, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you, we keep working on getting better, & better...Happy Holidays, Ira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mason Jar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing