We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please avoid - owner is a vicious animal”

Spanish Tavern of Mountainside
Get food delivered
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Mountainside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Spanish Tavern of Mountainside is the premier destination in New Jersey for awarding winning traditional and contemporary Spanish cuisine.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I put down a deposit for a business event a few months before COVID affected all of us. Since then, Monica at Mountainside Spanish Tavern has refused to refund my deposit. It is unthinkable to hold someone's money hostage knowing that the deposit was given when the world was different. You adjust and do the right things - that is good business practice. Add to that, Monica just threatened myself and business colleagues that were involved in bringing her business for this event that she can "put up a fight". So in tough times, rest assured that this "business" will take your money and threaten you just to keep it. It is a shame that people like this are still in business. *** After I posted this review to spare others from my experience Monica called to threaten me. This is a public service announcement - AVOID this business.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kbunny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

Food was excellent, outdoor seating and the service matched the food. Our waiters added to the dinning pleasure.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank SilverSurfer5282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseRSpanishTavern, General Manager at Spanish Tavern of Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

Thanks so much for this short and sweet review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed dining with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

Seven of us got together to celebrate a friend's birthday. We shared the garlic shrimp and octopus appetizers which were excellent. Pitchers of red sangria were refreshing and delicious. Filet mignon was tender and the seafood fresh. So many wonderful desserts! Service was excellent. A great time.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank 510conniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelG830, General Manager at Spanish Tavern of Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

Thanks for the kind words, Connie! We sent you a private thank-you, so be sure to check your inbox!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Unable to make a reservation for 4 on a busy Saturday night, we arrived around 5:30 & ordered a drink while waiting for our the other 2 guests. The main dining room was packed so we accepted a corner table in the bar area. Our server, Iggy, was attentive & just a nice guy but the evening was marred by a slow kitchen. Drinks were promptly served but appetizers were extremely slow to arrive. Acknowledged, Iggy brought us a free shrimp dish & then asked if we were in a hurry. Stating that we weren't was a mistake. Dinner was served over 2.5 hours after being seated. The manager was requested, & despite insisting that our server was not the issue, she berated him in plain view of customers & made no attempt at apologizing to the customer, instead sending Iggy back to do so. Again, Iggy did his best & provided excellent service...only wish the manager had displayed better professionalism & the kitchen had moved faster. The food was plated beautifully & delicious! The bar area seating wasn't ideal due to the noise level, however, the booth was comfortable & again Iggy was the best, even pausing to take a pic for & with us.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelG830, General Manager at Spanish Tavern of Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and feedback. We've sent you a private message so please be sure to check your inbox.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

We saw the Super Bowl take out advertisement on the sign. Visited website, ordered and it was incredible. The food was diverse, incredibly arranged, perfectly cooked and enough food for 20! We run around for hours before college football games. No need to now, this is the perfect game food order!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank MSW1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelG830, General Manager at Spanish Tavern of Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your reviews on our sites! We sent you a private message and truly appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spanish Tavern of Mountainside also viewed

 

Been to Spanish Tavern of Mountainside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.