We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay! Definitely Returning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

From checking in to checking out , my stay here was completely amazing! The frount desk personnel, Goi Amos, went above and beyond to make sure all my questions were answered regarding local attractions, food delivery, the easiest way to get into New York City, even the best nail salon!
This establishment has very clean rooms, friendly staff, and accommodating housekeepers! What more could you ask for! I will definitely will be returning!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Kimber54187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Kimber54187,

Thank you so very much for your kind words we appreciate the feedback!! I will make sure that I convey your thoughts to the team. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Michelle Satanik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2016

This was an unusual situation in that I stayed at this hotel because someone booked it for me as part of a convention. Ultimately, I did pay for the room, but I did not select this hotel. Given all the other hotels along the same street, I probably would not have stayed here had I had the opportunity to choose somewhere else, but it's just the way things worked out. As mentioned, the hotel is under construction, but they have a long way to go to turn it into a Crowne Plaza. As soon as you step in, it feels as though you are in a place that is being renovated. Everything is a bit dark, dull and dingy, like an old building. Many areas obviously need to be painted, and there are areas that are clearly being renovated that detract from any normal attractiveness that a hotel usually has. For example, unfinished, nearby renovation work was clearly seen from various points inside the building. Checking in was smooth, but I was given only one room key. Since my wife was along for the trip, I asked if I could have another key, but the clerk said no, only one key. The key I was given was like the kind you might have as the key to your front door at home, like a typical Kwikset key, and not especially heavy or reinforced or attached to any keyring. In these days of keycards, this metal key was an anachronism, and the lock mechanism worked, but not very smoothly. Upon entering the room, I was encouraged by the slightly brighter atmosphere, but in the brightness of the bathroom, the old tiles interspersed with sloppy, overlaid repair caulking and the old flooring brought out the used and worn character of the place. Fortunately, I spent 95% of my time awake in the convention I was attending and only about 5% of that time in the room. There was adequate furniture, the bed was averagely good, and the TV worked. It was difficult to make the radio work correctly but at some point something kicked in, and we were able to reach a few FM stations and set the alarm.
In the morning I wanted to take a shower at 8:30, and though I knew you had to spin the shower controller all the way around to "HOT" to get hot water, there was none to be had. No matter what I did, only ice-cold water came out. To be sure, I got out of the tub and went over to the sink. I had tried the sink the day before, so I knew which side of the faucet was hot and which was cold. Again, when I tried to get hot water, only cold water came out. By that time, I had to forget about taking a shower. They had run out of hot water, at least to my room. Location is another issue. As someone mentioned, although there are several other hotels along this street, there isn't much else nearby, so you do need a car. Fortunately, the convention I was attending was held directly across the street, and everything I needed to have (except a hot shower) could be obtained there by walking. So you get the idea. At present this is a mediocre hotel going through all the growing pains of a renovation. The rate was good, so maybe that's why we ended up there, but if I were to go up there again before their renovations were complete, I'd probably stay somewhere else. I do wish them well with completing their renovations soon!

Room Tip: Always check tub/sinks for good, fast drainage. Poor drainage? Ask for another room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ichigorobei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Ichigorobei,

Thank you for all of your feedback we appreciate it. We are working very hard on our renovations and of course growing pains do come with that, thank you for understanding. We do hope that we see you again next year at the convention as we will have completed our project and look forward to our new brand.

Thank you,

Michelle Satanik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I was in town for the Kiss convention and we booked the Saturday night.
Booking at the convention was a nightmare and the desk people that answered the phone where not great.But we final talked to one guy and he was amazing.
Got the room at the rate.
Check was not as smooth as I think we check in as the young lady was trying to have lunch and really didn't want to help us .. saying room was not ready yet which was kinda shocking as it was 3;30..but it gets better from there.
Final get into the room and it is great,nice size and clean,great shower and all in all a great room.
With hotel under construction a lot of the things you may want are not available ,but we knew that going in.
went to the front desk and asked for a restaurant near by for dinner The gentleman working the front desk was AMAZING.He asked what we where looking gave us lots of options and printed out maps..Absolutely Amazing and Fun!! (only wish we got his name)
After dinner had a few drinks in the bar which was open,but not sure if that was because of the convention or if its always open.The Bar was fun and the guys severing was great.
Check out was a breeze.

All in all we went in not expecting much and besides check in the hotel was great. I think once the renovations are done it will be even better.
Another problem is its really not around anything so you kinda need a car or use the hotel shuttle to go just about anywhere.
we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Makes sure what you is available before you book..as hotel is under construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Dear Garry,

Thank you for coming to the KISS convention it was a blast! We enjoyed having everyone here it was a fun weekend. Thank you for being understanding about the renovations as we are working hard on not impeding on anyone's stay. I am sorry that check in was a challenge I will definitely bring it to the attention of the desk manager and team, otherwise I am very happy that you enjoyed the team and your stay. We hope to see you again next year.

Best Regards,

Michelle Satanik
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Hotel was under construction which was fine. We took the hotel via priceline and their right up of pet friendly encourages you to bring your pets as they are "pet friendly" what they don't tell you is that comes at the cost of $50.00 for your pet. The pet fee was close to the room rate we got. No complaints of the room. Clean and efficient. Elevators are little creepy as in old. Clerk gave great recommendations for dinner.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, look elsewhere....if not, okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kdfraz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear kdfraz07,

Thank your for your feedback and staying with us. I do apologize if the pet fee was not clearly posted by Priceline I will certainly address with them as we have it posted on our website. I am glad that you did enjoy your stay and the team. We hope to see you on the next visit and give us a call directly next time and we can discuss the pet fee.

Best Regards,

Michelle Satanik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

i have a very good one night stay even though they are currently under construction and remolding. they are upgrading to a crown plaza which is part of the IHG brands, i would recomend this location for your stay

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jeffrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear Jeffery,

Thank you for staying with us and despite the renovation I am glad that it did not disturb your stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your continued stays with us, as you can see the progress we are making week to week. See you again soon.

Thank you,

Michelle Satanik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
129 reviews
0.9 km away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
115 reviews
1 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater

Address: 110 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-1303 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: $266 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the renovations and our efforts to expedite our progress, we are currently not accepting any reservations prior to October 2017. Rest easy in a setting of superb comfort, in the heart of central New Jersey. Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater offers the perfect combination of convenient location and impeccable services. Close to downtown New Brunswick, and with easy access to the Rutgers Campus’ of New Brunswick and Piscataway, our hotel provides discerning guests with an environment of welcoming warmth and repose. Attentive service and a professional staff highlight an ideal setting for relaxation as well as exceptional occasions, corporate gatherings or celebrations. Host a memorable social function or a professional meeting in our elegant event space. With an expansive ballroom, flexible conference rooms and spacious outdoor venues, an event at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater is an affair to be remembered. And because work is fueled by relaxation, there’s plenty here for guests who want to unwind. Tempt your taste buds with tantalizing New American flavors at Fuzion’s, relax poolside with your favorite drink, or replenish after an event-filled day with a dip in our Jacuzzi. Our well-appointed, smoke-free guest rooms ensure a sound sleep, with plenty of room to stretch out to prepare for the day ahead. Conveniently located in Somerset, near the New Jersey Turnpike and I-287, our hotel brings you within moments of the region’s most notable sights. From nearby shopping to local live shows and the area’s most popular sporting events, you’ll find yourself perfectly placed to experience it all, from our central New Jersey address. •Located adjacent to I-287 from Exit 10 in Somserset, NJ •390 Deluxe Guest Rooms, Suites and an Executive Level •100% smoke free guest accommodations throughout •Complimentary WiFi and voicemail in each guest room •24-hour, full-service Business Center with printing •Indoor heated swimming pool, outdoor pool and Jacuzzi •Tennis courts, basketball courts and volleyball onsite •Well-equipped fitness center with the latest equipment •Concierge services available for all guests •Full service lounge, dining room and room service •Fuzion’s Restaurant and 110 Blu Lounge, onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing