We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced”
Review of Woolverton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woolverton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is without question a very nice place, but it is vastly overpriced. When you pay $380 for a room, you expect, for example, reception to stay open until later than 8pm; and you expect carton milk at breakfast, rather than powder chocolate, and home made orange juice, rather than bottle juice; and you expect the wifi to work; and you expect there not to be staples on the floor of the bathroom, that you get into your feet and have to extract with pain and blood.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank camierj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your comments as well as choosing to stay at the Woolverton Inn.

We state on our confirmation letter that check in is from 3 until 8 pm. The rooms are typically ready by 1 pm and we do encourage our guest to come early so that they can enjoy as much time here as possible. We also allow a late check out and in edition you may stay as long as you like if there is no one checking into the room the next day. Although we do have a system in place for late check-ins, Bob was in the office when you arrived and personally greeted you and took you to your room. There is always an owner on the property to provide assistance 24-hours a day.

We provide complementary wireless internet although you state that the wifi did not work. You said that you were receiving a strong signal but could not access your computer. We would have been more than happy to assist you

Our cottages are stocked with complementary bottled juices, soda and water. Fresh orange juice is served during breakfast. Throughout the day we serve over 12 different types of tea along with Ghirardelli premium hot cocoa which is served with our home-made marshmallows during the cooler months.

The staple was an unfortunate incident which we regret. We do want to point out that assistance was offered.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope that your experience of visiting our country estate and exploring this area out ways any disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    38
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
227
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My sister and I just spent three wonderful,relaxing days at the Woolverton Inn, it's Innkeepers: Carolyn and Bob were most helpful with their knowledge of the area,and great suggestions on the local food establishments.We make it a yearly event of getting away and were very satisfied with our choice. The rooms at the Inn are decorated very tastefully,and have modern amenities to make your stay most comfortable. Their breakfast was presented beautifuly and we couldn't wait to see and taste each mornings offerings. Both N.J. and Pa. sides of the Delaware have scenic towns with lots of charm ,all within minutes of each other.We hope to come back again and enjoy another stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with Fireplaces are very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liketravelLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley,NJ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had a very nice, romantic and relaxing weekend. The Inn was beautiful! The grounds were amazing and just what we needed. We booked the last available room which was small but nice. The private bath was across the hall (which was not a problem) but needs to be upgraded to be consistant with all the other bathrooms in the Inn. When I asked when that would be complete, the person helping us responded that it wouldn't be worth the cost since it was a low end room. I was not impressed with that answer. The breakfasts were very nice and the baked goods in the afternoon were very good. The staff was very helpful booking dinners for us at nearby restaurants. We were not happy that there were no TVs in the rooms (or anywhere else in the Inn for that matter). They should install small flat screens in every room.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are difficult due to the steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Woolverton Inn shows beautifully on their website. But upon arriving to the inn, we were somewhat surprised by the the tatteredness of the furnishings and carpeting on the first floor. Our next but opposite surprise was when the innkeeper, Diane offered to upgrade our room as this was our first stay and they were not booked full. She did allow us to view the room that we had chosen (Asher's Glen) and we found it to be quite small for the price, so needless to say we were very happy to settle in the Stockton Hideaway with a luxurious bathroom. The room was decorated very nicely with a large window seat and fireplace. The featherbed topper made the bed look like a marshmallow but we found it did not make sleeping cloudlike...that may be a personal preference. The view from the windows was great, wonderful landscaped gardens, garden decor and numerous seating areas to relax with a book or pass the time. Strolling about we discovered the sheep grazing in the meadow, a delightful country experience. Bob the owner and Diane were quite helpful with directions and recommendations for dinner as well as area activities. Breakfast was outstanding! Homemade biscuits, healthy yogurt and granola, veggie & egg omlet or grand manier french toast.....we wanted to nap after that! This is a difficult review, some highs, some lows. Overall we enjoyed our stay there, but we had to warm up to the inn's appearance. Considering that and the price of the rooms we felt that it fell short of the standards of membership of the Select Registry.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main manor house are smaller than appear on website. However, rooms in the cottages are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback of your recent stay at the Woolverton Inn.

We’re happy you enjoyed many aspects of the inn (breakfast, gardens, views, etc) and were quite surprised with the “terrible” rating. We are a country inn and decorate the first floor and our rooms with comfortable furnishing and antiques. The first floor is not carpeted; we have antique rugs which expose the original hardwood floors from the 1700’s. What you may have perceived as worn is actually how we have chosen to represent a property that was built in 1792. We would also like to express that we did not upgrade your room because you were first time guests (we actually would be more prone to upgrade our repeat guests) or because we were not completely booked. The reality is that we are nice people and thought you might like to have a room with more amenities since we had a room available. We’d also like to mention that Select Registry recently performed their surprise inspection and we received an outstanding review.

Thank you again for your feedback. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations; however, we believe we did everything in our power to make your experience at the Woolverton pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

i've stayed at the woolverton inn three times staying in the cottages...they are immaculate, come with fireplaces and poster beds with comfy down bedding and a wonderful gourmet breakfast...you can look out the windows and see the roaming sheep that reside at the inn and in the winter it's a wonderful little hideaway and quick refuge if you need to get away...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcameragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
5.7 km away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
235 reviews
5.8 km away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
106 reviews
5.9 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
404 reviews
6.8 km away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
5.2 km away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolverton Inn

Property: Woolverton Inn
Address: 6 Woolverton Rd, Stockton, NJ 08559-2147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton
Price range (per night): $247 - $550
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolverton Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hope Bed and Breakfast, a Select Registry Property and one of the Top 10 B&B's in the U.S.! We are located along the Delaware River, near wineries, shopping and dining. Our charming inn in Stockton, NJ features private cottages and luxurious suites with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. Every stay at our award winning New Hope, PA hotel includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast, afternoon sweets, soft drinks and water, NY Times and WiFi. Come relax your cares away and discover a simpler way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Woolverton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing