We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Early Dinner in an Elegant Setting”
Review of Brooklyn Bistro

Brooklyn Bistro
Ranked #22 of 312 Restaurants in Toms River
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The restaurant was lovely, clean and well-decorated. We were greeted and seated immediately, as it was a very early dinner. We enjoyed the mussels appetizer, with delicious homemade breads fresh from the oven. There is a variety offered and we loved each one. Salads were small but sufficient, field greens with a house vinaigrette. We both had Nonni's Lasagna which was delicious- so fresh and flavorful! The chef is superior- everything was fresh and made from the finest ingredients- you can always taste the difference. Our waiter was knowledgeable and very attentive as was our busboy. Very professional in every respect. We were so full we had no room for dessert, but we'll be sure to try one of the Italian specialties on our next visit. It was nice to stroll through downtown Toms River after dinner, the streets were quiet, the parking was excellent and we had a perfectly lovely evening. Whoops- I almost forgot that the restaurant is BYOB, and has a very well-designed website. Have a look, the interiors and menus are well documented and you'll be very pleased with this choice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beach-Baby-4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny M, General Manager at Brooklyn Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2017

This restaurant is a must visit you are in downtown toms River. Great food, great stand it is a family owned business. We have visited on three different occasions and the food is consistently great

1  Thank NJTravelFamily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny M, General Manager at Brooklyn Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Absolutely superb cuisine in a lovely little place downtown. We went there for Jersey Shore restaurant week but ordered off the regular menu. Everything was perfect.

Thank remrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny M, General Manager at Brooklyn Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Went to the restaurant to try it out for restaurant week. The beet appetizer was sliced so thin you had to scrape it off the plate. Chicken was raw. Dessert was scarce. Very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rkjst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny M, General Manager at Brooklyn Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Sorry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I was somewhat concerned as I tried on successive weekends to use the reservation service listed on the web to make a dinner reservation for 4 on the weekend but was electronically told that there were no reservations within 2.5 hours of my 7pm requests
for either a friday or saturday. I t didn't sound right to me so I stopped at the restaurant and was advised that during the summer they did not accept web reservations for vdinner, but would accept telephone reservations. In any event he took my reservation for this past friday and dinner was as usuall exceptional. . I started my dinner with the meatball appetizer served in anice sauce and a large dollop of rictta cheese and although my favorite dish was not on the menu Iasked the waiter if perhaps the chef might have the right ingredients. He reported back that the chef said he'd be glad to make it. Iof course was delighted, it was alittle different than what i WAS USED TO BUT VERY ENJOYABLE, all the clams,muscles,shrimp and calamari were seved in a tangy marina sauce over linguini ,accompanied with a salad . My one friend is a vegatarian so he had a vegtable and pasta dinner served again wth a tasty red sauce and salad. my other friend I talked himinto having the beef ossa buco served in a rich brown gravy and with pasta and salad, he loved it. They also had a pork one on the menu as well. My wife is trying to lose some weight she had a large casar salad with shrip. We were highly pleased with the srvice and food, and my friends who were there for the1st time enjoyed themselves and I'M SURE THEY'LL RETURN. Now that summer s over you/ll have to see if you can make a reservation on line or call on the phone to make your reservation, either way you'll enjoyb your dining experience. Now that they have a wine license its much easier to order a nice pinot grigio or some other favorite with dinner. Bon Appetit

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 403oldtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny M, General Manager at Brooklyn Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brooklyn Bistro also viewed

 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Brooklyn Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing