We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date night w/hubby”
Review of River Lady

River Lady
Ranked #3 of 317 Restaurants in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$60
Description: The River Lady is the only true stern-wheeler in the state of NJ. She is an elegant award-winning icon of the Jersey shore and sails rain or shine, Tuesday through Saturday from May to September, and on a more limited schedule into October. Mondays are available for private cruises, for larger groups. The lunch cruise features a historical commentary by the captain, while you enjoy your meal. During the dinner cruise, we witness some spectacular sunsets, and Saturday night we offer a dinner/dance cruise. Passengers have their choice of the main deck which is climate-controlled, or the upper deck which is covered, but open to the fresh air, and beautiful scenery along the Toms River and Barnegat Bay. The River Lady is the perfect venue for your next celebration. Private cruises are available for parties of 35 to 150.
Restaurant details
Description: The River Lady is the only true stern-wheeler in the state of NJ. She is an elegant award-winning icon of the Jersey shore and sails rain or shine, Tuesday through Saturday from May to September, and on a more limited schedule into October. Mondays are available for private cruises, for larger groups. The lunch cruise features a historical commentary by the captain, while you enjoy your meal. During the dinner cruise, we witness some spectacular sunsets, and Saturday night we offer a dinner/dance cruise. Passengers have their choice of the main deck which is climate-controlled, or the upper deck which is covered, but open to the fresh air, and beautiful scenery along the Toms River and Barnegat Bay. The River Lady is the perfect venue for your next celebration. Private cruises are available for parties of 35 to 150.
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We wanted to do something a little different and this was wonderful. I had the salmon and hubby had chicken parm. Food was very good, service was excellent and dinner cruise was very relaxing. I look forward to doing it again - we might try one of the daytime cruises. Highly recommend!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dinascoupons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Public Relations Manager at River Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

You will enjoy the lunch cruise as well - the captain gives an interesting narration of the sights along the river as we move at a leisurely pace. Thanks for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

A Bus load of seniors was greeted by Capt Lance for a relaxing cruise. We were able to see the yacht clubs summer sailing programs for teens. It was great fun watching the students learning to sail and race. They served delicious Danish pastry and coffee/tea for a continental breakfast. We enjoyed a luncheon cruise a couple years ago and it was excellent, good food, good service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ebbalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Public Relations Manager at River Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you! We always enjoy watching the sailboats as well. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

My husband & I were trying to decide what to do for our Anniversary. We thought about doing a dinner cruise around Manhattan, but we really didn't want to drive up there. We have seen the River Belle on the Manasquan, but we know those waters well. Then we remembered the River Lady! It is on the Toms River, a waterway that we have passed, but have never been on. What a great decision! We made the reservations, bought our tickets and chose our dinners directly from the website. Super simple. Easy breezy. Anniversary planning done. Then we just had to enjoy. Wellll, we hit traffic on the GSP (of course...should have come down Hooper). However, the sun, moon and stars aligned....as we pulled in to the closest parking lot, a car was just leaving. We raced to the dock.
We were greeted by the Capt. We gave our name and were handed our table assignment with our dinner choices. A perfect table for two at the back of the ship. We looked down over the paddle wheels. Actual working paddle wheels. It was very cool to see how the paddle wheels were manipulated like a two engine boat. We had panoramic views. It was lovely. There was a gentle breeze. Beautiful.
We ordered a festive beverage, which was served once the ship left the dock. Drinks are served in a souvenir glass. Touristy, but not tacky. Very cute. Dinner was catered from an Italian restaurant in Toms River. It was a delicious salad, entree, dessert, coffee/tea and of course bread. Served in courses. Yum! Dessert was cheesecake. The only slight negative. I don't like cheesecake - I love chocolate. To be clear: the salad was cold, the entree was hot and the drinks were frozen. Perfect. It's a boat. In a river. Someone fed me and brought me a cold frosty beverage and I did not have to move. I loved it!
Now for the cruise. It was beautiful, relaxing and enjoyable over smooth inland waters. There was a gentle breeze. It was absolutely wonderful. Sometimes it is nice to let someone else drive. Then you can just stare out at the passing scenery. We sailed east on the south side of the Toms River to the Barnegat Bay, then west along the north side of the Toms River. The cruise takes about 2 1/2 hours. During this time the crew is hustling to serve dinner, drinks and dessert to all. They were great. Always busy. Always smiling. Taking the time to take pictures for the various groups.
Now to the ship. It is two stories. Upstairs is covered, but open on all sides. You have to climb steps to get there. The main level is enclosed. The bathroom is on the main level. It was super clean. Immaculate. Groups on both levels seemed to be enjoying themselves.
The only thing I would have changed was to replace my dinner table with a hammock. ha
The River Lady was fabulous. Thank you for a Beautiful & Relaxing evening!! We will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dawnyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Public Relations Manager at River Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

What a beautiful, complete review! You really painted a perfect picture of a night out on the River Lady! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

While we were celebrating a 70th Birthday, the staff made the evening fun with their attention to our needs, requests and prompt food & drink servings. The food was very good, as it is catered from a 3rd Party Italian Company. Rich F.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Public Relations Manager at River Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Happy birthday...70! Thanks for celebrating with us. We're so glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

River Lady offers a delightful cruise experience with a professional friendly staff, impeccably clean boat, tasty cuisine and scenic boat ride - at good value!

Thank vottofaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Public Relations Manager at River Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Lady also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to River Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing