We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advertised as pet friendly, but will not admit pets!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Vineland
Reviewed 16 June 2017

I spent a lot of time on the phone trying to book a pet-friendly hotel in the Millville, NJ, region. Rodeway Inn in Vineland was purported to be the only such hotel so I booked a room, confirming its pet-friendly status. When I arrived, the first thing I saw was a large handwritten sign taped to the bulletproof window (take note) declaring "NO PETS." As I had decided at the last minute not to bring my dog, I decided to keep the reservation, but warn potential visitors that "pet-friendly," in this case, doesn't mean you can bring your pets. And I'm not sure why: the hotel is not in great shape. Worse than that, the neighborhood is very sketchy and there is no deadbolt or chain on the door to the room, which in my case was right on the street!

Room Tip: Do not book a room on the first floor--it's right on the street and does not feel safe at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navva01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

I showed up at the hotel around 10 pm after driving nine hours so just wanted somewhere to relax and snooze. The guy at the window was shaggy looking and smelled like he hasn't showered in years. We got room 210 went in and it looked like a hooker house. Ceiling was falling down, smelled horrible and carpets were stained. I didn't want to stay because I felt nasty just standing there. Went down and asked for a refund and explained everything to him and he said he refused to give our money back. But he gave us a new room. Room 220 was just as nasty
I left without the refund and went across the street. Don't waste your time here, There was a few guys that looked suspicious walking around the motel over and over again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank natalie200902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Check in staff was rude and didn't appear to know what he was doing. We were not aloud in the lobby, only had a small entry way to be in. He was argumentative. There were socks found in the room which appeared not to be clean. The bathroom had mold on the bath tub. Returned later that evening to ask for a wash cloth, gentleman stated that we could not get anything after 6 pm and had to return after 9 am and was extremely rude about it. Was never told about breakfast and was not offered it. Worse experience I've ever had

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Taris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here after being displaced. Mr. and Mrs. Shaw (the owners) were extremely rude and when the check we had been waiting for for a couple of months arrived there, they posted "return to sender" and this has had a significant impact on our lives. Filthy place, filthy people. Drugs and prostitution...they should be shut down immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I was overchaged for a total amount of $57.78 for rental at the Econo Lodge in Vineland, NJ. We had to evacuate where I lived because of "Sandy." We preregistered with Econo Lodge in Vineland, NJ and arrived prior to the storm with a rate of $45.00 (senior citizen rate) with $15,00 additional per dog. Since I had 2 dogs my daily rate should have been $75.00 per day. Two day total $150.00. According to their site there was a $15.00 tax and miscellaneous fee for 2 days so my total should have been $165.00. I was actually charged $186.28 - an overcharge of $21.28. We were forced to stay an additional day because of the storm and I was charged $126.50 - which was clearly an overcharge of $36.50 since the law clearly states that since Governor Christie declared New Jersey a Disaster Area hotels were not permitted by law to raise the rental rates for someone who had to extend their stay. I did question the Manager about the rate and was told they felt they were within their rights to raise the rates because of the storm and their were no rooms for people plus that other hotels in the area were doing the same. I explained the law as it pertains to an area being declared a Disaster Area but she told me that wasn't true.. She explaiend that they charged 15% tax and miscellaneous expenses. I told he her site clearly showed a $15.00 fee and not a percentage. It clearly didn't matter to her. It is grossly unfair for people to take advantage of others when a disaster strikes. This is a poor way of doing business and I recommend that people rent any place other than Econo Lodge. I am making a formal Consumer Complaint with the State of New Jersey against Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: Be prepared for disasters/storms. Research where you can stay and get rates and charges in writing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggietish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineland
0.4 km away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#5 of 7 in Vineland
103 reviews
1.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Vineland
8.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Millville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.0 km away
Ramada Vineland Millville Area
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vineland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 998 W Landis Ave, Vineland, NJ 08360-3420 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Vineland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Vineland
Price Range: $73 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Vineland
Vineland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing