We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Home”
Review of Alton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alton Motel
Ranked #4 of 17 Wildwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Traveling down for the weekend to participate in a triathlon, the Alton Motel and especially the manager Kristin were perfect for our needs. From our initial booking in the spring, through my last minute questions before traveling to Wildwood, Kristin made us feel welcome, even remembering our conversation from our original booking. Upon arrival it was more like visiting an old friend. The rooms were perfect as well, very clean and well stocked with anything we could need, with more than adequate supplies of toiletries and towels, as well as extra pillows. The water pressure in the showers was also a definite plus for me as well.
The nature of our visit required an early night Friday in order to awake by 4AM Saturday morning. Other than weekly Fireworks which brought us out of our room at 10PM for a perfect view from the sun deck, we were able to retire peacefully. The family makeup of our fellow guests allowed for quiet nights.
Saturday after completing our triathlon we were able to relax in the pool onsite before making use of the grill on the sun deck. Kristin was extremely pleasant and helpful in answering all our questions about the surrounding area, and providing directions to anywhere we needed to go.
After our excursion to the boardwalk which is only a 5 minute walk away, we returned again on the early side to another peaceful uninterrupted night.
The manager is definitely top shelf, and the with the rooms including Cable TV as well as complimentary WiFi, I couldn't see staying anywhere else. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Extremely well managed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank swahili17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We initially only booked for 1 night but considering how much the kids and us enjoyed the location of the motel frpm the boards....hospitality of the staff and having a blast, we asked to stay another night at the last minute!....the motel is 1.5 blocks from the boards and in the middle of all the fun on the boardwalk!...it's small and has a pool.
So glad we chose the Alton to stay at!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Came here last week and had a great stay.
The manager Kristin was so welcoming and accommodating.
Kristin went above and beyond to make us feel welcome
The Alton Motel is about a 5 minute walk to the boardwalk.
We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank te01234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The room is clean. The pool hours can be a longer. Currently, it is 10am to 7pm. The motel need to invest some money to upgrade the equipment, too. There is no wifi on second floor and above. It only cost 30 bucks to buy a long range wi-fi antenna. Why not to buy one? Microwave are old and rusty, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jin697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

It's the most cutest but small but very cute motel. Clean And comfortable. Nice hard shower. Beds r okay. Very nice pool 4-6 feet so not for babies or 3 and under who cannot swim.2 blocks walking distance from the beach. Wawa is 2 blocks back from the motel. The staff was very courteous. The only thing that I wasn't too happy about was the size of the tv which was extremely small and there was no place to put personals. Overall I will return.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
1.2 km away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
1.8 km away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
374 reviews
0.6 km away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#16 of 75 in Wildwood
389 reviews
1.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#23 of 75 in Wildwood
905 reviews
0.5 km away
Stardust Motel
Stardust Motel
#19 of 75 in Wildwood
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Motel

Address: 235 E Wildwood Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4837
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wildwood
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alton Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Alton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing