We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
US$96
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montusi Mountain Lodge(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Blue Haze Country Lodge(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
72
102
17
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
102
17
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain cavesmountain viewself cateringsan paintingsmooi riverwell worth a visitnature reserveoff the beaten trackenjoyable staybasic foodtrouta la carte menusouth africaquiet at nightcannot commentbird speciesan early start
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

The camp is perfectly located near the San Caves and is the start of several impessive hikes (Langalibelele pass is my favorite).
The restaurant has an average - good quality. The reception and shop closes at 4.30pm, which is too early in my opinion.
The lady at reception does not provide too many recommendations about the trails, so better get information from tour guide or internet.

The views from the chalet were simply amazing, no words to describe it.

Ah! Don't forget to take a torch/lantern with you!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pulguitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

The camp, consisting of many huts/houses and a large reception/shop and restaurant/lounges area, is off the beaten track. We were positively surprised to find a complex like this. The houses were large and well equipped, all located in a nice big garden and with excellent view of the mountains around and the changing colours at sunset. The restaurant was more than acceptable with good food and wines. The selection at breakfast was somewhat limited. We had an interesting walking trip to the caves and the paintings and a return along the river. The trails were very good and safe. We would have loved to stay longer and to experience some of the longer hikes. If you are prepared to drive 1,5-2 hours off major roads this camp can be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This was our first visit. We spent 2 nights having booked the vulture hide for a day. It was a very pleasant surprise. The camp is very tastefully done and set in beautiful gardens with plants to attract the birds of the area.
The chalet was fully equipped with all the necessary crockery and cutlery, fridge, 2 plate hob, microwave and kettle. We stayed in number 12 which whilst not entirely private is nice and close to the diningroom and reception. Comfortable bed and bedding, gushing shower, tv with basic DSTV channels, outside braai. Although the shower was wonderful (torrential) go easy on the water - the geyser is not big and will not support 2 long showers or 2 baths. Remember also this is Africa and water is precious!
The power was off for about 2-3 hours on one night from 7-10pm. We cooked our meat and potatoes on the braai and had a salad. The room is equipped with 2 paraffin lamps but I would suggest taking torches/headlamps just in case.
The local shop stocks the basics but be warned it is pricey so this is advisable for emergency supplies only!
Staff were courteous and very helpful.
The accommodation price includes a full breakfast and the food was good - selection of hot and cold. The day we were in the vulture hide we had an early start & so we requested a take away breakfast which we collected the night before.
I would certainly go back, great place and wonderful confiding little birds hopping around very near your feet.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Trails well marked to bushmans cave however you do have to pay to see the paintings. We also walked along the river bank where we had a picnic on the rocks. We finished our hike with some refeshments on the deck at the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

The accommodation was perfectly fine and clean, however in the Giant´s Castle Camp there are houses with very good view and other houses a bid hidden behind others without a good view at all. In this case we had a hidden one. Beside this location everything else was very good. The kitchen was completely equipped with cutlery, plates, glasses and pots.
There is a restaurant with good and affordable food including breakfast and dinner (reservation in advance is advised). Some of the staff was friendly and efficient others unfriendly and inefficient, but this seems to be quite normal in the most of South African Nationalparks. We could well cope with the situation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThoRa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews