We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointed”
Review of Cafe Franschhoek

Cafe Franschhoek
Ranked #36 of 103 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Description: Modern unique and fresh cuisine from a world of tastes. Specialising in local South African dishes. Doing breakfast lunch and dinner. Also specialising in tapas style food and cocktails. Speciality coffee and home baked cakes. All produce fresh and local. All dishes made on site on order.
Restaurant details
Description: Modern unique and fresh cuisine from a world of tastes. Specialising in local South African dishes. Doing breakfast lunch and dinner. Also specialising in tapas style food and cocktails. Speciality coffee and home baked cakes. All produce fresh and local. All dishes made on site on order.
Reviewed 29 June 2018

With a lot of restaurants no open for lunch in Franschoek during this winter period (understandably) we settled into, what was a busy restaurant, in main road. Not checking the reviews on the place was our first mistake. Even though the waitress was friendly, we soon realised that this was not going to end well. When our overpriced food arrived it looked inedible, even though we asked the waitress to instruct the kitchen to take special care. The portion of calamari was a joke,and the word Tempura means dusted in breadcrumbs to the cook in charge.
We paid for our wine. gave a good tip, and sent the food back, refusing to pay for it. No manager came out to discuss this with us, so I think management might be slacking. I feel terrible sending food back and not paying, since they have all their overheads, etc, but with Franschoek being a culinary destination, and this venue in the centre of it all, I suggest they sort things out in the kitchen and front desk. We ended up in a lovely Greek restaurant further down, who saved the day with service,

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank joshua r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018

Had a very good fillet steak which we both enjoyed. The staff were helpful and would recommend a visit.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank JennieM638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

ate here this morning for breakfast certainly not as good as it used to be, ( i did bring it to the waiters attention ) i had the eggs Benedict which had a twist to it but i really think you should stick to a classic, the eggs were lovely but everything else not so, hollondaise sauce was tasteless and creamy no tang to it and the terrine wrapped in bacon was " fridge burnt " old and quite unappetizing it was sat upon rosti but it was a hash brown ( i suppose it could be classed as the same ) but the description on the menu had my mouth watering but what came on my plate it did not, husbands full breakfast good, waiter ok but no warmth in greetings from any of the staff and especially on departure even though you have to fight to get through them to leave as they all stand around the door, ( this included the head waitress/manager lady with blonde hair ) it will be a while before we go back, i do believe in second chances as we have usually had lovely breakfast before

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CumbriaDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We took our elderly aunt and uncle for lunch on Saturday 2 June 2018 and was hugely disappointed with the meal. We've had excellent meals here before. The food was mostly bland and very expensive. The biggest disappointment was the desert. Four of us ordered the apple crumble, which was like dried apple rings that was tossed in a soggy pastry shell with no crumble on top. I've never seen anything like this before and could not believe my eyes. At R75 per serving! We sent these back and were served other desserts as ordered, these were also disappointing. Cheesecake like a doorstopper. No, something is very wrong here?

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 11jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Our tour of the winelands included a stop at Cafe Franschhoek for lunch. The food was average, nothing special. The restaurant itself is quite charming, with seating on the first floor, upstairs and outside. Service was good.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Franschhoek also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing