We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Fransvliet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fransvliet Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Stay here if you are in Franschhoek. Victor, Shirley and Vicky are incredibly helpful and nice as is the rest of the staff.
We stayed for two nights in a great suite with private deck and a huge bathroom. Everything was tasteful and beautiful.
Breakfast was delicious, one of the best we had in South Africa. We even had a great three course dinner at Fransvliet in their pop up restaurant "the next step".
We would love to return.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved Fransvliet guest house. The rooms almost feel like their own little cottages with a patio overlooking the mountains and gardens. The property itself is gorgeous, set right on a small vineyard, and the rooms have all the amenities you would need. The big soaking tub in the bathroom was divine and the pool is refreshing for those hot summer afternoons. We loved being located just a few minutes outside of hustle and bustle of the Franshoek village. Breakfasts each morning were fantastic with fresh breads, jams and fruits plus a different main dish option each morning. If I could figure out a way to make it happen I would insist on just moving there permanently. Ha! Vicki, Shirley and Victor were all incredibly helpful with making bookings and suggestions. Our favorite vineyards in the area (some close and some far) Springfield (Robertson) Stony Brook, Colmant, La Lude (for lunch and the views), Rust en Vrede (In Stellenbosch - do the steak lunch!), Stark-Conde (also Stellenbosch gorgeous setting)

All in all I fee very lucky to have experienced this little slice of heaven, Fransvliet.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelingCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Great stay at Framsvliet everyone made us very welcome and the breakfasts are an absolute treat. Shirley gave us great recommendations for restaurants and organised taxis to take us and bring us back. Nothing was too much trouble. The afternoons spent relaxing by the pool was lovely. We look forward to returning

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank scanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Just had an absolutely perfect weekend in the most beautiful guest house, Fransvliet. We will surely be back!

On arrival we were greeted warmly by the owner. Owners and host very visible and approachable. Lovely people.

The Guest House is perfectly situated, you can walk next door for wine tasting or a short drive into town. The Guest House is perfectly kept. We stayed in one of the new rooms. Well appointed large suite. MCC on arrival in the room. Modern comfortable decor nothing lacking. Two complimentary nespresso pods in the room per day. We brought a few extra from home but they do have extras at a small fee. We especially enjoyed the breakfast - cold and hot made perfectly to your liking. A bonus is the homemade preserves and figs from the garden!

Thank you for creating this gem, our batteries are duly recharged and we cannot wait to return later in the year.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pink_and_Panther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

A great guest house in an en excellent location. We had a fantastic stay and could not think of any way in which the guest house could be improved. Rooms were perfect and very well equipped, the pool area was great and the breakfast was delicious. Thank you Vicky, Shirley and Victor. We are already recommending the guesthouse to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chrisF6796KX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
5.1 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
6.2 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
4.9 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
La Providence Farm
La Providence Farm
#3 of 42 in Franschhoek
133 reviews
6 km away
La Petite Dauphine
La Petite Dauphine
#6 of 42 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
5.5 km away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Address: R45 | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $207 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing