We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fransvliet Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We had a lovely time for our honeymoon at Fransvliet. We were welcomed with a bottle of Cap Classique in our room. The room was beautifully decorated and equipped with a Nespresso Machine, fireplace and heated towel rails. The room was serviced daily and wood for the fireplace was stocked every morning. We enjoyed the amazing view from the patio. Breakfast was very good and different every morning. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful with information about the area or to assist to make restaurant and spa bookings. We will definitely return to Fransvliet and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a luxurious getaway in a beautiful guesthouse.

Room Tip: The Chenin room has the bonus of a window on the side of the patio that adds to the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJRetief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

This was the second time we visited Fransvliet. The excellent room, service and breakfast is what brought us back and we were not disappointed.

Victor, the manager, was very kind to us and ensured we were well looked after once again. The owner personally came to chat with us at breakfast and make us feel as home.

The room was spotless, amenities are fantastic and breakfast was heavenly. I can't recommend this guesthouse enough and will be back again.

Superb.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your compliments. Of course the best compliment is that you are return guests. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not toodistant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Fransvliet is very well located in the beautiful wine area of West Cape with plenty of wine estates nearby. The rooms are large, well equiped and the service is excellent. Breakfast is exceptional good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmulde_666470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our "special place". we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Comfortable, spacious for a family of four (including two kids aged 3 and 5 years). Room and facilities were modern with nice touches such as an Nespresso machine. Close proximity to Franshoek town and winefarms.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abrahamkarimkuttiycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your comments, and we are delighted that you enjoyed our touched. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Good weekend getaway to explore the winelands from. Generously sized bathrooms and a fireplace, which is great and cozy in the winter. Breakfast is ok, but hardly inspiring. Shower in our bathroom a bit misconstructed so unavoidable to flood half the bathroom as the shower floor is sloped such that the water pools at the shower door and then runs out - evidently has happened to previous guests.
All in all, a great place for a Franschhoek/Stellenbosch/Paarl weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunrider88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you fro bringing the leaking shower to our attention. The seal has been replaced and we no longer have a problem. I am sad that you did not request a breakfast to your liking. We had grilled Halumi with Free range bacon, roasted tomato and avocado the one morning and egg and smoked salmon florentine the second day - both are firm favourites. We can always produce other breakfasts if requested. We trust you will do this when revisiting Fransvliet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
5.1 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
4.9 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
6.2 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
La Providence Farm
La Providence Farm
#3 of 43 in Franschhoek
140 reviews
6 km away
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
#7 of 43 in Franschhoek
143 reviews
4.4 km away
The Ivy Apartments
The Ivy Apartments
#2 of 43 in Franschhoek
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Address: R45 Huguenot Road | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $227 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing