We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views of the mountains and the best waiter in town ”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Mont Rochelle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$127.00*
and up
Full-Day Winelands Tour with Tastings from Cape...
Ranked #23 of 66 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here as a part of a tuk tuk wine tour. Richard Branson owns the estate and should be proud as the staff were excellent. Chippah our waiter was brilliant, he was charismatic and had an excellent understanding of the wine. 6 wines for 90R was a great price and the tapas was superb! I would definitely recommend on a nice day where you can enjoy the views. Ask for Chippah of he is in!

Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Alex B,

Wow, thank you so much for your amazing review. We were delighted to welcome you to Mont Rochelle as part of your tuk tuk wine tour; what fun! Chippah was so touched to receive a personal mention; we may be biased but we couldn’t agree more with you that he is brilliant. Thank you so much for recommending us, we really hope that means that we’ll be able to welcome you back again one day soon.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"effort to ensure"
in 2 reviews
"headed down"
in 2 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 28 reviews
"picnic basket"
in 6 reviews
"richard bransons"
in 2 reviews
"fabulous setting"
in 2 reviews
"our waiter"
in 3 reviews
"cellar tour"
in 4 reviews
"wine tram"
in 6 reviews
"franschhoek area"
in 2 reviews
"sauvignon blanc"
in 2 reviews
"bread"
in 3 reviews
"salad"
in 4 reviews
"different wines"
in 2 reviews
"spectacular views"
in 2 reviews
"first stop"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived @ 2.30 for wine tasting and a food platter.There were quite a few empty tables but their plates etc were still on the table.It just looked messy
The waiter arrived he spoke very quickly and served 2 wines together, as he poured wine dripped down our glasses, no rolling the bottle as he finished.
We were left feeling flat, nothing special about this vineyard for wine tasting.

Thank stolkien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Stolkien,

I was really sorry to read your recent review and to hear that your wine tasting experience fell short of your expectations. We never want any of our guests to leave us ‘feeling flat’, and I would really like the opportunity to chat with you in more detail about your visit. I have included my contact details below and would be grateful if you could please get in touch with me so that we may chat further.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

We stopped for a 2 hour lunch & wine tasting whilst on the wine tram.
Food, Drink & Service all fantastic.
I did book in advance which I'm glad I did as it was very busy.
Highly recommended

Thank michellel980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear michellel980,

We were delighted to welcome you to Mont Rochelle during your tour on the wine tram, and were so pleased to hear that you decided to stay a little longer and join us for lunch! Thank you for the kind recommendation, it really means a lot to hear such fantastic feedback and we just hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

This was the first stop for us on the Blue tram tour. We called ahead and booked a cellar tour. This was excellent - conducted privately and with a really knowledgable lady fielding our assault of questions.

The wine here was superb. Genuinely the best we tried in the whole day. I would go back!

1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Richard H,

Thank you for choosing to visit Mont Rochelle during your tour, we were delighted to welcome you to the wine cellar. I don’t think we could ask for a bigger compliment than hearing that we were the best wine you tried all day, thank you! We were so pleased to hear that you are planning to visit us again, as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We were staying in the Mont Rochelle hotel, so this was a good walk from there. It's a small outfit in quite a modern setting. The staff were friendly and the wine tasting fun. The wines were very good, albeit we did prefer some of the other wines later on our trip.

Thank DiverHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear DiverHP,

Following on from your previous review, I wanted to once again say what a pleasure it was to welcome you to Mont Rochelle! We were so glad to hear that you enjoyed the wine tasting and we hope to welcome you back again one day soon.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mont Rochelle also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing