We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again Orangerie was an absolute feast!”

Orangerie at Le Lude
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$13
Description: Le Lude is a family winery situated on the edge of Franschhoek in the Western Cape region of South Africa. Specialising in bottle fermented sparkling wines - Cap Classique. The French Huguenots planted vines and made wine in the Franschhoek valley. Enjoy French cuisine at our Orangerie restaurant or sit back and head to a cafe in Paris whilst tasting our MCC and canapes. Orangerie will be closed during August 2017 due to renovations.
Restaurant details
Description: Le Lude is a family winery situated on the edge of Franschhoek in the Western Cape region of South Africa. Specialising in bottle fermented sparkling wines - Cap Classique. The French Huguenots planted vines and made wine in the Franschhoek valley. Enjoy French cuisine at our Orangerie restaurant or sit back and head to a cafe in Paris whilst tasting our MCC and canapes. Orangerie will be closed during August 2017 due to renovations.
Reviewed 29 June 2018

The past Monday and Tuesday we stayed at the beautiful, tasteful and luxerious Lily pond house on the exquisite Le Lude wine farm. We had lunch at the Orangerie restaurant next to the wine cellar with its breathtaking views and stunning interior.
The food was once again an absolute feast! From the warm, freshly baked sour dough bread served with delicious butter to the home made fresh marshmallows served with the bill, the food was absolutely delectable and beautiful as a painting as well. Chef Nicolene Barrow always delivers and although her food is fine dining, her portions are hearty without loosing finesse.Chef Nicolene's success is her clever choice of dishes and the absolute top quality and concistency.
My partner started with the delicious Patagonian calamari and I had the rich and delicious Gruyere souffle. We shared the delicious winter salad with roasted artichoke hearts and beetroot and other yummy veggies and salad. For mains we enjoyed the delicious beef on a rocket salad with exotic mushrooms and parmesan and the hearty pork belly with a ginger sauce in a lentil dish with toulouse sausage. We ended the meal with the most fantastic proffitterolls, filled with custard and generously coated with a salted caramel sauce. our choice of Baccarat sauvignon Blanc wine did not disappoint. Orangerie is our favourite restaurant and very reasonably priced for the top notch nosh it delivers. Well done once again Chef Nicolene and team!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marta-michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

What a gem this restaurant is; a complete feast for the eyes and stomach. Beautifully decorated, attentive and welcoming staff, as well as food that matches the top restaurants in Europe. We loved it ! The food was exquisitely presented and the flavour combinations worked perfectly. We would also recommend the Le Lude Rose, which was far too easy to drink; so much so that we have ordered a case to be delivered home in the UK.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LouiseRonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We had a great experience trying out the various MCC bubbles at Le Lude. We got a tour from the two cellar masters who happened to be there which was incredibly interesting. A beautiful restaurant with good service.

    • Service
1  Thank T-Africa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

From the setting to the tableware, Le Lude is world class. We really enjoyed our lunch. The MCC is excellent and the food was oh so good. I did the double soufflé , cheese to start and pear for dessert, wow. Clearly a v talented chef and brigade. The duck main was also perfect. The best meal I have had in franschhoek in this category by far. All at our table raved about it. If I had to be critical and only because it is so close to being Perfect would be the personality of the venue. The service was good, we did not wait but the management and staff seemed to lack a little bit of friendliness, which we enjoy to balance the experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vickicapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaX6292OA, Manager at Orangerie at Le Lude, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Good day Vicki,
Thank you so much for joining us at Le Lude for lunch.
We are glad you enjoyed every moment of it in our beautiful setting.
We really appreciate your feedback and always strive to improve were possible.
Kind Regrads
Jacobus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Such a beautiful restaurant, it was the most romantic birthday accompanied by my gorgeous husband, fantastic food and the most delicious champagne (MCC)
Nicolene you are an amazing chef, thankyou for making my 50th Birthday so special.

Thank gordonsbayrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orangerie at Le Lude also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
 

Been to Orangerie at Le Lude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing