We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I now "get" the dim-sum craze”

Kitima at The Kronendal
Ranked #6 of 72 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Between 1835 and 1849 the Kronendal Farm was owned by Sir William Josias Cloete. Legend has it that the homestead is haunted by his daughter Elsa Cloete who died of a broken heart after being forbidden to marry her soldier lover. Kitima still sets and serves a table for Elsa with samples from the menu to appease Elsa's spirit. Welcome to Kitima restaurant where oriental elegance and hospitality meet the unpretentious grace and charm of Africa. Our authentic Thai and Asian Fusion cuisine, prepared by our Thai chefs will carry you to a world of exotic spices, perfumes and all that’s precious and exotic. Various dining option are available from our private lover’s room seating 2-6 persons, our VIP room seating up to 12 persons, our Temple and Bangkok rooms as well as the Raya lounge for cocktails, drinks, snacks or even dinner to share. Kitima exudes all the splendour of a traditional Cape Dutch homestead with yellowwood ceilings, wooden floors combined with modern Asian artefacts and cuisine. Our cocktail list is extensive and features a number of award winners that are both stunning in taste and appeal. The restaurant has the addition of the garden and the Raya Terrace which are unique covered areas that are available,however these are weather permitting. We invite you to have a taste of true Thai cuisine in a traditional and modernised South African homestead.
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile


At R360 pp quite pricy but a bargain for the very many tourists who were there for the Sunday buffet. Loved loved loved the dim sum and chicken satay with peanut sauce. The Peking duck and ribs were also delicious - though the duck in the duck salad was dry and tough. Good food, pleasant venue and very friendly and efficient staff. May well go again ... after saving a bit.

Thank ChazS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitimaGM, General Manager at Kitima at The Kronendal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Chaz,
It was a pleasure hosting you for Sunday luncheon recently as well as our gratitude to you for the most positive of reviews posted on Trip Advisor.
My apologies to you for the duck salad being somewhat dry, this has been given to the chef for” food for thought “ for the future.
If I may make one correction, the Sunday Luncheon price is R325.00 per person and not R360.00 per person, R325.00 is equivalent to US$25 or GBP£20 at the current exchange rate.
Once again thank you and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Jeremy Flowerday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

A great place with a great food and cosy interior. The service was excellent, the food even better! We had an awesome evening! We'll definitely visit again!

Thank DVZ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitimaGM, General Manager at Kitima at The Kronendal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you kindly for the very positive review of Kitima at the Kronendal post you recent dinner experience with us.
We hope to welcome you back again soon and in the meantime keep well.
Kind regards,
Jeremy Flowerday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Two years running we have booked the Sunday buffet when visiting. It is such fun. Lovely atmosphere, lovely staff and lovely food. You just keep going up for more and taste small samples of everything on offer or hugh plates of what takes your fancy, the choice is yours. As a Brit it is very diifficult to judge value for money on these reviews as luckily for us the exchange rate means the everything in the Cape is extremely affordable for us. It might be expensive for others. NEED TO BOOK WELL IN ADVANCE.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grannymelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitimaGM, General Manager at Kitima at The Kronendal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Granny Melon,
On behalf of us all at Kitima at the Kronendal I wish to thank you for your words of praise and enjoyment regarding your recent Sunday luncheon with us.
Hout Bay is a great venue to visit on a Sunday morning and later join us for a Sunday lunch with an array of contemporary Asian spiced dishes and some old favourites from the dessert buffet.
Once again thank you and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Kind regards,
Jeremy Flowerday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

we had a very nice evening in tête a tête...very nice restaurant,good food,not expensive .The service was perfect,thank you to Marlin.
the wine at the right price,and the food mainly asian very well prepared and tasty... all in all excellent combination...food,service,atmosphere, decoration... will recommend it to my friends...

Thank Manuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitimaGM, General Manager at Kitima at The Kronendal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Manuel,
Thank you so much for your comments and observations regarding your recent dining experience with us.
I will make sure that all staff are informed of your comments and a pat on the back is due to them all.
Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you back again for another tête-à-tête together.
In the meantime keep well and thank you.
Jeremy Flowerday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We have been fairly often to Kitima and find their professional approach to their guests fantastic their food has never been disappointing one has to book well in advance their main dining areas are the best as they have seating away from the main areas which tend to loose atmosphere

Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitimaGM, General Manager at Kitima at The Kronendal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear John,
It was a pleasure being your hosts for dinner recently at Kitima at the Kronendal.
It is pleasing to note your overall satisfaction with the food and service provided and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Thank you.
Kind regards,
Jeremy Flowerday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitima at The Kronendal also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Kitima at The Kronendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing