We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of Hout Bay Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hout Bay Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

There’s nothing generic about Hout Bay Manor Hotel. We have visited Cape Town many times but were looking to stay somewhere different on this occasion. Hout Bay Manor fitted the bill perfectly. Our room was an eclectic mixture of Afrikaner and African decor. Even the curtains were made to resemble the traditional Xhosa fabric which women wear as clothing. The old fashioned ball and claw bath with its brass Fittings (basins and shower had similar fixtures ) stood pride of place in the The bedroom. Unfortunately, due to the drought and severe water restrictions in the city, we only used the bath once. The large shower cubicle worked perfectly.

We had a nice Mountain View and a small balcony .
The hotel is quiet and about half a kilometer from the sea, which was fine with us.
The hotel is an existing structure dating from the mid 19th century and every attempt has been made to keep its original character . We liked the collection of African pieces and Eastern jars and other collectibles used throughout.

Service was courteous and warm. Reception called us by name and couldn’t have been more helpful.
The wide spider staircase is very impressive and makes up for the absence of any lift, although the hotel is only two storeys high.
Nice touches included large glass jars of marshmallows and licorice allsorts placed strategically around the hotel for easy snacking. I over- indulged!!

Breakfasts were adequate and enjoyable although after a week we did feel they could be a bit more varied. We would have liked to be approached with offerings of tea, coffee and toast on entering, though once we asked they were provided. Newspapers, local and international, are an added feature.

On one occasion only we ate dinner in the dining room and it was excellent! My husband said the lamb chops were some of the best he’s eaten. Unfortunately we were the only diners there so no atmosphere that evening, but we were placed by the fire and it was cozy enough and we did not linger.

We did not use the lounge and bar area. We found them a bit dark, especially since the weather was cool and often overcast . Despite the fires, we preferred the brightness of our large room and comfy bed. When I asked about this lack of lighting in the public areas, I was told that it is a welcome respite in hot weather.
There is a smallish swimming pool in the courtyard but due to the weather we were unable to use it.
All in all , we had a most enjoyable week at The Hout Bay Manor and have no hesitation in recommending it to other couples and travelers. It is good value for money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 702jillyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

The Houtbay Manor is an absolute hidden gem, the service is impeccable and the staff is so helpful and accommodating. Late checkouts, if possible, is never a problem, we always get a warm welcome back, a complimentary drink from the house upon arrival, mini bar is complimentary, water bottles chilled everywhere to take back to your room. We love their interior, the restaurant SUR is 5 * and the rooms are beautifully decorated, best quality bed linen, very comfortable beds & soft fluffy towels & bathrobes.
We love staying at the Houtbay Manor and we come back on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank r0bj0yce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Beautifully and individually furnished. As far removed from a corporate hotel as you can imagine. Extremely comfortable. Excellent personal service. Wish we had had longer and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ingal861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Lovely little hotel. That's where it ends though. The burly manager sits in the breakfast room which appears to be her office and shouts instructions to her staff not considering the guests. Then she also interrupts your conversation while your sitting there trying to have breakfast in peace. Not appreciated at all.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Murray444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

There is nothing going on here. Was told the place was under new management. We visited last year same time and it was buzzing. How disappointing. New management is obviously not working...Small wonder judging by the insipid tasting food.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Timfuggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.5 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.5 km away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
529 reviews
11.5 km away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
379 reviews
10.6 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
10.2 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay Manor

Address: Baviaanskloof, off Main Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range: $284 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hout Bay Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Manor, built in 1871, is renowned as one of Cape Town’s most graceful landmarks. The recently restored Hout Bay Manor offers 20 individually designed en-suite rooms and a sophisticated fine dining restaurant named ‘Pure.’ Hout Bay Manor, protected by century-old oak trees, was built from stone (600mm thick walls) and in traditional Cape Colonial style by Jacob Trautmann on an unspoiled piece of land, which had previously been part of the Kronendal Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hout Bay Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay Manor Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing