We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience !!”

Blue Rock Adventure Park
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Blue Rock Cable Waterski, Restaurant, Paintball, Zipline, now the wildest place in Africa since Ratanga Junction will no longer be, it has a fantastic staff crew and great happy vibes all round. It's rare to experience such a jovial team of friendly, caring and awesome people all at once, they were hands-on and willing to assist from the time we booked our team building to the time the day arrived to attend an exclusive visit. We were a group of 7 team members from the Wealth Department @ Sable International and we booked it for the 20th April 2018 for an entire day. The day started off with a scrumptious English Breakfast and Cappuccino’s, followed by introductory training on water activities in their 60-metre reservoir like knee boarding, water skiing and weight boarding, we chose knee boarding and launched right into it. This activity is safe and secure and well precautioned from all avenues, they even have a boat to pick you up and return you to the jetty. This was loads of fun, but also scary at the beginning because it was a first time for some of us but we all enjoyed it 100%, the conductor is very motivating and comforting ensuring that you are calm when you launch into the water. After this session we relaxed around the beautiful venue and enjoyed the sun and lunch was then served which was their delicious variety of Pizza’s namely their Blue Rock speciality, Margarita and Vegetarian. They have managed to accommodate our every need and request including being able to cater for a Halaal friendly teammate. After lunch we then moved onto the next activity which was the Fufi Sliding also know as Zip lining, being pushed off a 400-metre cliff in a harness strapped to a cable with a helmet on has never been that fun and exciting. What makes it different is that your feet gets dipped in the reservoir’s water after the adrenaline rush, which is super cool. They have great customer service, the venue is neat, tidy and hygienic. Also, the food was fantastic and the equipment is in excellent condition. Definitely, a must visit when in Cape Town, it’s a goldmine for sure. They cater to your every need, they even do year-end functions too, no matter the size of your group, I’m sure they would be able to entertain you. Our team had a magnificent team building thanks to Blue Rock and their phenomenal staff, the activities, the food and their amazing team spirit.

1  Thank MullisaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"water ski"
in 3 reviews
"zip lining"
in 3 reviews
"perfect family"
in 2 reviews
"volleyball"
in 3 reviews
"diving"
in 3 reviews
"waterskiing"
in 2 reviews
"braaing"
in 2 reviews
"paintball"
in 2 reviews
"excitement"
in 2 reviews
"dam"
in 2 reviews
"picnic"
in 4 reviews
"outing"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2018

Blue Rock is a waterskiing resort / picnic and swimming spot in Cape Town, a beautiful slice of nature tucked away just behind the N2 highway near Somerset West.

From wakeboarding to kneeboarding, waterskiing, zip lining, diving to paintball – there’s definitely no shortage of activities at Blue Rock. And if adventure is not your thing, don’t worry. Just go for a relaxing picnic, fun volleyball match, to watch your little ones run around at the children’s playground or go and enjoy a refreshing swim. The water is glo-ri-ous.

I’m not going to lie – the rules were quite off-putting at first.
– Cash only at the gate
– No beverages – not even water – can be brought in. Everything must be bought there and water currently sells for R20 per 500 ml bottle. Ouch!
– Can’t bring your own umbrella
– No animals allowed and no braaing
– No takeaways. Home-made foods only inside your picnic basket!
The list goes on.

Entry fee is between R55 and R60 for adults and from R35 to R40 for children under 6 years. You can also purchase a one-month membership card that gives you access to parking, picnic areas, swimming and rock jumping. To avoid sunburn it’s best to pay for a shaded spot. Currently R130.

As mentioned before, you’re allowed to take in a picnic basket with home-made goodies. Alternatively, you can eat at the Blue Rock Restaurant and Pizzeria. I can’t vouch for their food as we took our own, but it sure looks delicious to me!

Whether you go with friends or family (and despite the cost), Blue Rock is definitely worth a visit.

Thank mac46com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

A group of friends have always, for many many years supported Blue Rock. Today I have learnt of a drowning at the facility. Often, even though we had made a booking, paid for it way in advance and confirmed it via email, have arrived, between 10 and 20 people in tow, to be told that our booking was not received. Three times. Once we also paid and booked for (again in advance) a lappa and indicated the one we required for our needs.. when we arrived received attitude from the manageress when the booking was not on the books even when we produced a payment advice AND AN email FROM them indicating our confirmed booking. Eventually an apology and.. two umbrellas (between two lapas, for 20 people to squeeze into and no refund. That was the last straw although this was our favorite place to go. The management is a chicken with its head cut off and although the staff is friendly the same can not be said for their total lack of organisation! I am not surprised that stupid, unnecessary and tragic situations occur.

2  Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockCable1, General Manager at Blue Rock Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Michelle,

Regarding the other comment below, we have not had an incident this season where a paid booking was made and then lost.
Perhaps the booking was made under another name and when that person arrived, Blue Rock’s hostess / manager did not recognise her / his name as the booking was made under someone else’s name.

Regarding the incident on Sunday, the 25th February 2018, there have been a lot of comments from the public on social media about this.
Unfortunately the public takes the story apart and often makes assumptions; please note, a lot of the facts in the comments are incorrect.
We have given a statement to District Mail about what happened which has been published today.
Please refer to that article on page 5 of the District Mail from the 1st March 2018 if you would like any further information on that incident.

Blue Rock is a Resort in Somerset West with a Restaurant and various activities such as waterskiing, paintball, zip lining, swimming, rock-jumping, canoeing, stand-up paddling, beach volleyball. The resort does not offer diving courses or provide any diving equipment for rent to visitors but allows people who have their own diving gear and are qualified to dive to use the lake for such activity.

There are three to five Blue Rock staff members around the lake area on duty to ensure the safety and well-being of visitors. There is also a boat and driver constantly on the water; rescue rings are available too.

As per rules advertised on Blue Rock’s website www.bluerock.co.za as well as at the gate, parking area and at various other places around the resort, entry into and all activities (including swimming & rock-jumping) at Blue Rock are done at own risk. Everyone must be able to swim while doing water activities. Lifejackets must be worn when cable skiing, canoeing and stand-up paddling but they are also available for swimmers. Blue Rock and its staff members unfortunately cannot take over the obligations of individuals (including adults, children, parents and/or guardians of children) once they enter the resort. This is especially so when individuals cannot swim.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us on info@bluerock.co.za if you have any further questions or comments. Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Blue Rock Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

I am reviewing this purely on the pizza outlet, I did not partake in any of the water sport activities,
The service was okay but the pizza was really not up to standard, this is not a spot i would recommend to my friends, there are so many great spots to enjoy great food, so with this very limited venue (no scenery, etc ) one would expect really good food,

Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Best venue. Best place. Best vibe! The food is great, the service is wonderful and the times spent here are always blissful. Would 100% recommend to anyone!

1  Thank shannondacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Rock Adventure Park also viewed

Century City, Cape Town
 
Bellville, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Blue Rock Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing