We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
1
2
2
6
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
2
2
6
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We chose to stay at Ngan Sao - Thousand Stars Resort for 3 nights. This was because we were literally desperate. Everywhere else on Phu Quoc was fully booked. It was about $20 which, admittedly, is one of the cheapest places on the island. But there must be better value places out there! The room itself was very dated and strange. Some attempts had been made at some point to make it look stylish but these were now outdated and faded. Everywhere felt slightly dirty and very musty. It smelt slightly of damp. Our room was in a row of rooms so was one of the cheapest. It was right where deliveries are made and coach parties arrive and leave so was noisy. The rest of the resort was even more strange! The pool itself was ok but the surroundings are so scruffy. As other people have said, the resort and the beach in front of it is populated by plastic animals and buildings. Funny for some stupid photos but hardly something high on my list of priorities! The whole place is cheesy, old fashioned and very messy. We didn't really trust the hygiene standards of anywhere around the resort. The staff were mostly ok to give them credit and would try to help even when they spoke little English. The food and drink prices were so-so but again we just didn't really trust the cleanliness! There were also quite aggressive dogs around the resort at night and it's a hike to get to the town and a short stroll to get to nice bits of beach. The resort seems to be mainly popular with Vietnamese and Russians, and there are lots of big groups and families. I think you could probably find a basic little bungalow somewhere in a more backpacker-oriented resort, although Phu Quoc is mostly a bit pricey and resorty. Overall, this resort is not recommended but if you are desperate for a bed it does the job!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Yes, it's run down to the point that it's comical. And yes, it is very Vietnamese/Chinese in style. Still we had the best time there. The room - with it's faults - was o.k. The breakfast also o.k. The staff untrained and struggling with English. You had to be firm with them.

We spent a lot of time on our little verandah facing the sea and in the evening we enjoyed the good little beach restaurants. We lunched and sunbathed elsewhere, because the hotel does not really have a beach. But again, what do you get for that kind of money?

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viking60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We agree with the German review saying that this hotel is "Blanke Horror"!

We wanted to go to Phu Quoc as part of our Vietnam trip, but had some trouble booking hotels over there since only a few of them offer booking online. We decided to use a travel agency, Kim's Travel in Ho Chi MIhn City, to book a hotel for us. If we had checked the reviews on Ngan Sao/Thousand Stars before we booked, we would definitely not stayed there....

The place is really bad: it's really filthy, there are dogs everywhere, the waiters hardly speek english, and the place is really not a beautiful spot.

We had a seaview bungalow, and the only thing nice about this was that the bungalow was close enough to the sea so we would wake up listenling to the waves hitting the shore. We would ALSO wake up (earlier than we wanted) by both dogs and people working at the "resort" screaming... We had to ask for extra toilet paper and hand soap since this was not in the room when we checked in. We tried to use the mosquito net (that was tucked in the closet) but we couldn't use is since it was broken. The breakfast was OK, but it's not a really nice place to enjoy food as the place is really bad maintained and really dirty. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay there. The only reason to book a room over there is to have a place to stay the first night while looking for another place to stay. The people in the reception is also really cute people, although their surrondings in the lobby is really strange, models of dogs and furniture in ten different styles and color..

We were scheduled for 3 nights but left the morning after the 2nd. The fact that my fiancee stepped into dog pee in the reception kind of speeded up our departure....

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tunika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

This place is pretty weird!

We knew what we were letting ourselves in for but it was our only way onto the island with guaranteed bed to sleep in- our first days mission was to find alternative by going door to door- which the good news is we moved but only after enduring two nights in our dungeon!

We had room B, at $39/night Inc breakfast- very expensive for what we got! All the rooms have the added bonus of a padlock to lock your front door- classy- & safe Our room was dated, and very dark. The Walls were filthy and let's just say people had smeared the contents of their tissue on the walls. We slept in our clothes!

The bathroom was rank; no bath matts, chipped tiles etc (my partner went flying a cut his foot open). The bath itself was covered in grout ( I think/hope!) so just looked grubby. Everything about the room made us want to sleep on the beach!

The pool can only be described as a swamp- we avoided!

I can't not mention the weird animal statues all over this' resort'- our baby kept shouting 'monkey' 'goat' and learned 'cockerell!' when others asked where we were staying- even the locals gave us a sympathetic 'oh'!

The saving grace is it's location on long beach- well not the bit directly in front where there is a giant mermaid with huge breast and sideburns surrounded by litter...but to the left you can walk up to the beach club or to the right there is a nice family run bar/shop and more clean beach!

We only had breakfast here which was okay- we had to pay for our baby's, the staff were friendly enough and helpful when we needed anything- like towels!

Again- if booking here gets you on the island do it because you can't come all this way and not visit phu quoc- just try to leave the hotel as soon as you can!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graciemai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

The travel agent booked us into this one, I looked for the hotel on tripadvisor but only had the vietnamese name, by the time I knew the English name and checked previous comments we were at the airport. The staff were friendly to us, picking us up from the airport and put us in a room oposite the beach (good location) but the room was very smelly and damp, there were cockroaches on the shower curtain and a lizard, the bathtub had come away from the wall and the whole place was like a disused amusement park (not in a good way), there was just one other couple there (most places were booked up) they were moving that night. We checked down the beach and stayed in some little bungalows (definitely better). We told them we were checking out and they didn't seem surprised. Previous comments correct (Dont stay here).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews