We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A World Apart”
Review of Elephant Butte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Butte Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We were here off-season, so I'm sure that had a big effect, but this place is really relaxing and special. We spent hours watching the rabbits' nightly "hop-in", when about 5 dozen cottontails and jack rabbits arrive in the space of about an hour to feast on the green-grass-rabbit-buffet. Great view out over the lake. Very nice staff, and be sure to ask about Firefly Spa massages -- Deb Niles is 5-star too!!

Room Tip: We liked facing east, toward the big green lawn and Elephant Butte Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGrinchesDogMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EB_RV_Resort_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Hi TheGrinchesDogMaxx!
We truly appreciate that you took time to write this review. The bunnies and quail are very abundant in our little city and they are very special to all of us. We are so happy they made you smile! Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Went to the Butte for some fishing and didn't want to camp out at the lake. Great room and on Sunday they had s breakfast brunch buffet that was discounted for hotel guests. They had red and grn enchiladas, pancakes, biscuits n gravy, fresh fruit and a chef making all kinds of omelets! Hotel had a nice pool and our view from our upstairs room was of the entire lake. They also have a bar and restaurant for late night dinner.
We've I'll probably stay again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Noemi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EB_RV_Resort_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Hi Noemi,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We will share your kind words with our staff...Thank you so very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We enjoyed the laid-back old style motel. Bunnies, jack-rabbits, quail galore and beautiful back lawn with desert/lake view. Clean and maintained. Bathroom converted to ADA regulations is serviceable. The restaurant/bar is the selling point for us. Everything we have had deliciously prepared. Waitstaff works as a team....all friendly and knowledgeable of their menu and the resort area.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MSTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EB_RV_Resort_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Hi MSTraveler,
The wildlife in our area is a highlight of everyone's day in the community...we are glad you enjoyed it as well! We will share your review with our staff, whom we are very proud of. Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We were on a mini honeymoon and just showed up without making a reservation and we showed up before check-in time and the staff got us a room and let us check-in before the check-in time. Very nice staff. The rooms were very clean and roomy. Close by Elephant Butte lake and dining. Will definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side the lake is on - beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Hi John,
Thank you so very much for taking time to post this kind review of our Inn. We are so happy to have been a part of your mini honeymoon and we look forward to seeing you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I did not stay at this property, I intended to stay here on July 9th and 10th and mistakenly booked the trip for June 9th and 10th. In June I received an email stating that I never showed and was being charged for one night. I asked for a credit to be applied to my July trip because it was a mistake and I would still need a room in July, I was denied any credit and told they would follow their policy. Ok, they followed their policy but lost a customer. A little courtesy goes a long way.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Justsayjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

We are sincerely sorry in regards to the situation that brought about your review comments. We
would like to do our best to explain the reason behind our decision. Ours is a small 45­room
independently owned and operated hotel. We do our very best to work with our customers and
guests to meet their needs and unexpected situations. For this particular incident, we know that
you had made your reservation online with Booking.com. We have been in conversation with
Booking.com, and they have confirmed to us that email confirmations are routinely sent to each
person reserving through their site. We do understand that mistakes do happen. We have
worked many times with our customers and guests who have contacted us with unforeseen
necessary changes needed for their reservations and oftentimes have been able to
accommodate them. But for your particular situation, we had received no contact from you or
Booking.com with any changes or cancellation. We did hold your room for the 2 nights reserved,
in hopes that you may have been delayed on the arrival date and might still check in on the
second date of your reservation. But we did not charge you for the second night. On busy
summer weekends, it can be extremely difficult to find an available room in our area as most
properties are completely sold out; and we did not want you to arrive and then not be able to
find a room to check into. We would like for you to understand that our hotel was completely
“Sold Out” for the nights of your reservation dates of June 11 and 12. Also, we had turned away
many prospective customers. We do hope that this will help to explain our situation and the
reason that we had to make the difficult decision to stand by our 24­hour cancellation policy, in
order to receive a refund or not to be charged for a hotel room night.Thank you for your
understanding. With Kind Regards from the Guest Services Manager at Elephant Butte Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elephant Butte
4.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
186 reviews
7.3 km away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
844 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#8 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#7 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
80 reviews
6.4 km away
Rocket Inn
Rocket Inn
#4 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
144 reviews
6.0 km away
Desert View Inn
Desert View Inn
#6 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Butte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Butte Inn

Address: 401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Price Range: $128 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Butte Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa has an ideal location with ever-changing views of the lake and surrounding desert. Our exotically designed lobby and common areas are reflected in each stylish and comfortable guest room. We offer AAA, AARP, and have government, military and corporate rates. After a busy day, relax in our outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal). You can hike to nearby Elephant Butte Lake--the largest lake in New Mexico--enjoying nature trails leading to the State Park. Elephant Butte Inn is the perfect choice for group events. Experience authentic New Mexico cuisine, steak and seafood in our Ivory Tusk Tavern and Restaurant. Take time for yourself at the Ivory Spa and Salon. Indulge in a variety of treatments from our spa, including massages, body polishes, skin treatments, and pedicures. The Salon specializes in haircuts, styling, and hair color treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Butte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Butte Hotel Elephant Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing