We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Southwestern meal we’ve ever had!”
Review of El Sombrero

El Sombrero
Get food delivered
Ranked #94 of 117 Restaurants in Gallup
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 March 2021 via mobile

My husband and I went to El Sombrero today for lunch whilst in Gallup. Oh my goodness, we were blown away! Hubby ordered the tacos and chile relleno and I had the stuffed sopaipilla. Both were DELICIOUS and also the chips, salsa, and tortillas we got were so tasty. The folks there are super kind and friendly and overall we loved it and WILL BE BACK!

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank simonegW5060PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2020 via mobile

I don't know where these other people have eaten, but the food was very good... the red chili tasted the way you expect. Good red chili taste not bitter hot enough to be hot but not too hot to eat. The tortillas were fine... nice and soft. They could have cut the chicken up into chunks but the chicken was fresh and had a good fresh taste. The chili with beans was also very good. The staff were friendly. Prices were a little high, but the food was very good. You have to consider where you're at and the type of food that people make out here in New Mexico. It is not the same you would get in Oklahoma or Texas. it's different taste for different areas, but this restaurant is definitely worth a try. It is good food and tastes very good.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank revDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2020

We arrived in NM and wanted to go out and get some good Mexican food. Every Mexican restaurant I've eaten at in the Southwest has been great. Except this time. This place has both a "Mexican Menu" and an "American Menu." That should have been my first clue it wasn't going to be the best. We were traveling and got the food to go and took it back to our hotel room. The red sauce was bland, the tortillas were chewy, the chips were stale, and everything was covered in large chunks of uncooked onion. Nothing really tasted good. Most of it went in the trash sadly.

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank wvfamily2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2019

BLT was great & the french fries were light & crisp. Guacamole salad was fresh & the sopapilla were D-lish! The restaurant was clean and everyone was friendly.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bamboo708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2019

If you want to spend your money on horrible food this is the place to go. First time ever writing a review ever. It is an abomination to call this a Mexican restaurant. Please Don’t!!!!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank LeonardoR1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Sombrero also viewed

 

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.