We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small exclusive but very friendly game lodge”
Review of Notten's Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Notten's Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Nottens is small, compared with other lodges, with only a maximum of about 18 guests. They were very welcoming and attentive on arrival and the rooms, although in concrete buildings were very comfortable with personal balconies overlooking the game area in front. There is no electric lighting in the rooms or the lounge and dining area on purpose (but has power to the camp for everything else) and the lighting is by candlelight and paraffin lamps which creates a special atmosphere, although a head torch is recommended!
The food is very good, varied and plentiful and available at any time of the day should you feel the need which would be unusual!
Onto the game drives, two per day and a walk (really interesting) if you wish. The guides we had, Mr T and Gideon were very experienced and knowledgeable and enabled us to find mating leopards in the middle of the bush and most other available game. All a very close quarters in open trucks!
In conclusion. A great experience and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All good rooms with a view as far as I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

We were welcomed to this special place with a drink, we were shown to our lodge which had a very comfortable 4 poster bed surrounded by mosquito nets. The lighting was from candles or oil lamps which was very special. On our first night after the game drive there was a bath run for us, a bottle of champagne cooling in an ice bucket! Pure luxury.
The owner cooked fillet steak on the BBQ and it melted in your mouth. All the food was delicious. There were no barriers between us and the game reserve so the water hole which was visible from our lodge and eating area was always full of Impala, warthogs and even a rhino joined us for a drink.
The game drives were good fun and the sundowners round the fires were a real surprise.
A special thank you to Dave for the cooking. Nick and Sarah for your company and knowledge on the game drives. (Hope the batchelor party is ok). To all the staff for your attention to our every need.
Thank you

Room Tip: All good lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 124twilight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Having spent 8 nights of mobile tented camping in Botswana and 4 nights at a lovely camp in South Africa, we arrived Nottens (booked and recommended by our safari travel agent) for a four-night stay and were blown away by the beautiful accommodations. The large rooms were amazing, and returning after dinner to candlelit rooms was spectacular. The service was the best we have received ANYWHERE! As soon as we set foot in the main lodge, someone was here to offer us a drink. The grounds are spectacular. Thanks so much to Desmond, Suzie, Gift, Phillip, and everyone who provided such amazing service and made our stay so memorable. Thanks also to Geoff for our game drives and to Tinyiko for a wonderful walking safari experience (not to mention the fun impala poo spitting contest!). Keep up the good work in providing such a superb experience!!

Room Tip: I believe there are only 8 rooms, and none has a better location over another. All overlook the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We had heard Nottens was a special location but our experience exceeded any expectations! Our cottage was very large, spotlessly clean, and very attractively decorated without being pretentious. It had a warm, comfortable and inviting "Africa feel." We totally LOVED that Nottens does not have electric lights. The lanterns and candles created an amazing ambience and invited you to truly slow down and relax at night. A plug is provided to charge batteries and we had no problems with this at all.

We arrived at Nottens following a week at Chobe in Botswana. While we totally loved our Chobe experience, we didn't see any leopards so hopes were high we would see a leopard at Nottens. Little did we know, our days at Nottens were to be "leopard central"! We had excellent sightings every day and when we arrived back to our lodge one evening in the dark we were advised we had two leopards in camp. Our vehicle went to the back side of the lodge to assess the situation and we saw the two leopards on the low wall surrounding the camp. After a few moments, they jumped off the wall and mated complete with roars and snarls. What an experience! Along with leopards we saw lions, hyenas, multitudes of elephants, rhino, giraffes, loads of birds, etc. Every drive was an enthralling experience and we are very appreciative of the hard work of our Ranger, Tulane (sp?), and our Tracker.

The food at Notten's was a delight. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were always plentiful, beautifully displayed and delicious. I can't imagine anyone didn't gain a few pounds at Nottens.

Lots of special touches make Nottens a cut above. One evening we returned after a game drive to find a hot bubble bath and a bottle of chilled champagne awaiting us in our room. The owners of Nottens frequently ate dinner with us and were happy to share stories of their time at this amazing location.

We totally loved our time at Nottens and only wish it had been much longer!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at Notten's and I must say I was thoroughly impressed! Everyone, from Dave the owner, to the staff and the guides was superb!! The food was delicious, the accommodations were fantastic, and the leopard sightings were off the chart!! I hope to one day make a return visit!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
20.4 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
440 reviews
3.4 km away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
511 reviews
11.6 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
417 reviews
17.9 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#17 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
871 reviews
2.6 km away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notten's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notten's Bush Camp

Address: 622 Hazyview, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $147 - $2,201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Notten's Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notten’s Bush Camp is a jewel within the heart of the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in Mpumalanga, which means “the land of the rising sun” in the locally spoken language, Shangaan. Notten’s is an exclusive and private safari lodge personally run by the Notten family. This beautiful, intimate safari lodge is situated within one of South Africa’s finest natural sanctuaries the Sabi Sand Reserve and Greater Kruger National Park. It is a destination that will truly touch your heart and soul.Each private suite is elegantly styled, spacious and cooled by ceiling fans. A magical atmosphere is created with the purposeful absence of electric lighting; the ambient candlelight and lanterns capturing an enchanting spirit of romance. With splendid panoramic views, this private game lodge is the perfect place for peace and relaxation while watching animals meander past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Notten`s Bush Camp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing