We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Elephant Plains Game Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$519
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Londolozi Private Game Reserve(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
US$1,587
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
US$1,571
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Umkumbe Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$509
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Ulusaba Safari Lodge(Ulusaba Private Game Reserve)
US$1,016
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulini Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
US$1,997
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singita Ebony Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singita Boulders Lodge(Singita Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Singita Castleton(Singita Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
595
32
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
32
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno electricityparaffin lampsgame drivessabi sandsfamily run lodgebush camphigh teaother guestsoutdoor showerlong tablehot water bottleslovely poolsafari experiencebig familywatering holethree night stayevening drive
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We were welcomed to this special place with a drink, we were shown to our lodge which had a very comfortable 4 poster bed surrounded by mosquito nets. The lighting was from candles or oil lamps which was very special. On our first night after the game drive there was a bath run for us, a bottle of champagne cooling in an ice bucket! Pure luxury.
The owner cooked fillet steak on the BBQ and it melted in your mouth. All the food was delicious. There were no barriers between us and the game reserve so the water hole which was visible from our lodge and eating area was always full of Impala, warthogs and even a rhino joined us for a drink.
The game drives were good fun and the sundowners round the fires were a real surprise.
A special thank you to Dave for the cooking. Nick and Sarah for your company and knowledge on the game drives. (Hope the batchelor party is ok). To all the staff for your attention to our every need.
Thank you

Room Tip: All good lodges
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 124twilight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Having spent 8 nights of mobile tented camping in Botswana and 4 nights at a lovely camp in South Africa, we arrived Nottens (booked and recommended by our safari travel agent) for a four-night stay and were blown away by the beautiful accommodations. The large rooms were amazing, and returning after dinner to candlelit rooms was spectacular. The service was the best we have received ANYWHERE! As soon as we set foot in the main lodge, someone was here to offer us a drink. The grounds are spectacular. Thanks so much to Desmond, Suzie, Gift, Phillip, and everyone who provided such amazing service and made our stay so memorable. Thanks also to Geoff for our game drives and to Tinyiko for a wonderful walking safari experience (not to mention the fun impala poo spitting contest!). Keep up the good work in providing such a superb experience!!

Room Tip: I believe there are only 8 rooms, and none has a better location over another. All overlook the bush and watering hole.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We had heard Nottens was a special location but our experience exceeded any expectations! Our cottage was very large, spotlessly clean, and very attractively decorated without being pretentious. It had a warm, comfortable and inviting "Africa feel." We totally LOVED that Nottens does not have electric lights. The lanterns and candles created an amazing ambience and invited you to truly slow down and relax at night. A plug is provided to charge batteries and we had no problems with this at all.

We arrived at Nottens following a week at Chobe in Botswana. While we totally loved our Chobe experience, we didn't see any leopards so hopes were high we would see a leopard at Nottens. Little did we know, our days at Nottens were to be "leopard central"! We had excellent sightings every day and when we arrived back to our lodge one evening in the dark we were advised we had two leopards in camp. Our vehicle went to the back side of the lodge to assess the situation and we saw the two leopards on the low wall surrounding the camp. After a few moments, they jumped off the wall and mated complete with roars and snarls. What an experience! Along with leopards we saw lions, hyenas, multitudes of elephants, rhino, giraffes, loads of birds, etc. Every drive was an enthralling experience and we are very appreciative of the hard work of our Ranger, Tulane (sp?), and our Tracker.

The food at Notten's was a delight. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were always plentiful, beautifully displayed and delicious. I can't imagine anyone didn't gain a few pounds at Nottens.

Lots of special touches make Nottens a cut above. One evening we returned after a game drive to find a hot bubble bath and a bottle of chilled champagne awaiting us in our room. The owners of Nottens frequently ate dinner with us and were happy to share stories of their time at this amazing location.

We totally loved our time at Nottens and only wish it had been much longer!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at Notten's and I must say I was thoroughly impressed! Everyone, from Dave the owner, to the staff and the guides was superb!! The food was delicious, the accommodations were fantastic, and the leopard sightings were off the chart!! I hope to one day make a return visit!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

A friend went to Notten's and implored us to go. So we certainly expected it to be good but it exceeded ALL of our expectations. The rooms are beautiful and spacious but don't feel glossy and out of place. They look like beautiful rooms in the bush and this is emphasized as you take in the wildlife all around you. We spent three weeks in Africa and our four days at Notten's were the best by far. Jillie is the owner who started Notten's with her husband and her son David has now taken over daily operations. They both made federation wee were having a great time but they took time to get to know us as people and connect with us personally. Jillie took my personal email so she could follow up about a trip she is taking in December as we have a similar trip planned for February. Gift, Anery, Phillip, Desmond and Susie all made sure we had what we needed and kept us full of food and drink. Geoff made sure we got the most of our game derives with Abe's assistance. Tinyiko took us on an amazing bush walk and kept us safe and stayed calm when we came upon a leopard. He shared his understanding with us making the experience wonderfully unbelievable. Everyone at Notten's understands the bush and you will come to understand and love it as well. They make certain of that. This was an experience we shall never forget and hope to enjoy again. This place is so much more than the place and really reflects the people who make you feel so special while teaching you so much! Many thanks to all at Notten's, especially Jillie who had the courage to start something so very special with her beloved husband.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was fabulous, can't imagine a bad room in the bunch. There are only nine rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SusieQ2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews