We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Klaserie Sands River Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
US$750
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Africa on Foot Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
US$394
US$383
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
nThambo Tree Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
US$460
US$448
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Xanatseni Private Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baobab Ridge(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Klaserie Drift Safari Camps(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angela's Safari Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
394
78
27
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
78
27
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatering holewater holeherd of elephantsbush walkour honeymoonoff roadsafari experiencestayed for nightsbreakfast and lunchfood was greatcamp firewild dogswake up callmale lionthe kitchen stafffantastic experiencecape buffalo
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2016

An amazing place to stay, small, friendly and very relaxing. Comfortable individual lodges overlooking the dam which is frequented by your neighbors. Wild animals from the bush. Great trackers and guides. Special mention to Ensilin and Dominick. Their knowledge of not just animals but all aspects of life in the bush made our experience so much more than we could of hoped for. We were lucky to see the big 5 in the first 24 hours plus kills, Hyena pups and the very rare African Dogs. Dinning by fire light rounded the day off. Food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 593aleca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We have just returned from a 2-week vacation in SA, during which we stayed one night at Gomo Gomo. A pity we didn't stay longer! The place itself is beautiful; the bungalows are comfortable and the staff really is dedicated to making your stay as good as possible. The little attentions like the lights turned on when you come back at night plus the little story left on the beds were such great touches. I also found the meals to be good and plentiful.
The game drives themselves are an altogether different experience from self drives: the guides can go off track to get closer to the animals, which obviously is not authorized on self drives, and our guide Damien was clearly passionate about wildlife as well as really knowledgeable (and funny)! We took the time to watch an elephant trying to uproot 2 trees, I was impressed with the elephant's determination in achieving its goal!
All in all, it would be a pleasure to go back there!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LaurelineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Had a brilliant time at gomo gomo.... Ross was great craic on your drives and really informative. We were really lucky and got to see four of the big five. The huge hyaena family and hippos was another big high light. Over all, the staff, food and accommodation were all great. Thanks
To all

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Niamh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We have recently returned from 4 nights at the Gomo Gomo, during our 2 week tour in South Africa, and what a lovely find. Very friendly welcoming staff, amazing trackers and guides, beautiful lodge and 'apartment' overlooking the lake, lovely food and excellent wildlife viewing.

Our 'room' was a lodge in it own right with very spacious sleeping area, large bathroom and an enclosed verandah overlooking the lake. The bed was very comfortable and the aircon did its job in the 36-40C heat. Insect repellent was provided with the bathroom toiletries but we used our own.

The trackers and guides were amazing, not only waking us up at 05:15 but also then finding the animals that we wanted to see and delivering the special ones - a kill, mating, a leopard, wild dogs etc etc.

The safari trucks have a very hard life and maintenance is not so good. Our truck was very difficult to start due to an intermittent electrical connection and eventually failed to start on the key and had to be pushed in the bush. While it was repaired, we had the 'spare' truck which had an almost undriveable vibration above a certain speed. After repair, the night time searchlight socket did not work and, in the dark and the bush, the light was connected directly to the battery. The nearside rear tyre had no tread and in places, the carcase was showing but it was not changed. Thankfully it held up for us and we did not need to change a wheel in the bush.

On the evening drives, there were sundowners in the bush which was an excellent way to chat and relax before the searchlight drive back. Dinner was served in a boma with light from paraffin type table lamps - a lovely way to eat outdoors in the Klaserie.

Would I return - absolutely!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank RetiredFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

An amazing place to stay ! Great trackers and guides . Special mention to Ensilin (Shelia ) and Dominick . They made our experience so much more than we could of hoped for . . We were lucky to see the big 5 in the first 24 hours . The lodge is a great place to stay.The food was good and plentyful . You have to remember it's a different country . We were also lucky to have great company on our drives too.
Rooms are clean and well serviced by the staff . Maybe a bit rustic for some but that's why we chose it . All in all an fantastic time.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews