We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome, staff and experiment excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Difficult to find initially as first trip to South Africa, beautiful scenery on the way.
Greeted warmly and full explanation of game drives and meals etc.
Lodges comfortable and clean .
Meals and staff all very enthusiastic and happy.
Special thanks to Dominic and Stephan who were totally dedicated to tracking down elusive wildlife, their enthusiasm was contagious. Night drives were exhilarating. Travelled as two couples age range 25 to 59, enjoyed by all and would highly recommend

Room Tip: All lodges good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2016

An amazing place to stay, small, friendly and very relaxing. Comfortable individual lodges overlooking the dam which is frequented by your neighbors. Wild animals from the bush. Great trackers and guides. Special mention to Ensilin and Dominick. Their knowledge of not just animals but all aspects of life in the bush made our experience so much more than we could of hoped for. We were lucky to see the big 5 in the first 24 hours plus kills, Hyena pups and the very rare African Dogs. Dinning by fire light rounded the day off. Food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 593aleca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We have just returned from a 2-week vacation in SA, during which we stayed one night at Gomo Gomo. A pity we didn't stay longer! The place itself is beautiful; the bungalows are comfortable and the staff really is dedicated to making your stay as good as possible. The little attentions like the lights turned on when you come back at night plus the little story left on the beds were such great touches. I also found the meals to be good and plentiful.
The game drives themselves are an altogether different experience from self drives: the guides can go off track to get closer to the animals, which obviously is not authorized on self drives, and our guide Damien was clearly passionate about wildlife as well as really knowledgeable (and funny)! We took the time to watch an elephant trying to uproot 2 trees, I was impressed with the elephant's determination in achieving its goal!
All in all, it would be a pleasure to go back there!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LaurelineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Had a brilliant time at gomo gomo.... Ross was great craic on your drives and really informative. We were really lucky and got to see four of the big five. The huge hyaena family and hippos was another big high light. Over all, the staff, food and accommodation were all great. Thanks
To all

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Niamh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We have recently returned from 4 nights at the Gomo Gomo, during our 2 week tour in South Africa, and what a lovely find. Very friendly welcoming staff, amazing trackers and guides, beautiful lodge and 'apartment' overlooking the lake, lovely food and excellent wildlife viewing.

Our 'room' was a lodge in it own right with very spacious sleeping area, large bathroom and an enclosed verandah overlooking the lake. The bed was very comfortable and the aircon did its job in the 36-40C heat. Insect repellent was provided with the bathroom toiletries but we used our own.

The trackers and guides were amazing, not only waking us up at 05:15 but also then finding the animals that we wanted to see and delivering the special ones - a kill, mating, a leopard, wild dogs etc etc.

The safari trucks have a very hard life and maintenance is not so good. Our truck was very difficult to start due to an intermittent electrical connection and eventually failed to start on the key and had to be pushed in the bush. While it was repaired, we had the 'spare' truck which had an almost undriveable vibration above a certain speed. After repair, the night time searchlight socket did not work and, in the dark and the bush, the light was connected directly to the battery. The nearside rear tyre had no tread and in places, the carcase was showing but it was not changed. Thankfully it held up for us and we did not need to change a wheel in the bush.

On the evening drives, there were sundowners in the bush which was an excellent way to chat and relax before the searchlight drive back. Dinner was served in a boma with light from paraffin type table lamps - a lovely way to eat outdoors in the Klaserie.

Would I return - absolutely!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank RetiredFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
35.5 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
294 reviews
26 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
25.4 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
251 reviews
3.6 km away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#5 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
368 reviews
6.8 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gomo Gomo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $416 - $4,925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gomo Gomo Game Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge is a private and intimate Lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Nature Reserve, Greater Kruger National Park, with a common unfenced border. Our traversing area is approximately 6000 hectares (14800 acres) of the reserve offering guests varied landscapes with an excellent possibility of coming face to face with the “ Big 5 “ (lion, leopard, buffalo, elephant and rhino) and numerous othermammals and bird species in their natural habitat.Early morning and late afternoon / evening game drives are conducted in open 4 X 4 Land Rovers with well qualified and experienced field guides and trackers who will ensure an exciting and informative safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Gomo Gomo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomo Gomo Game Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing