We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of N'kaya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
N'kaya Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

If you want to put it in one word: WOW

The Lodge itself is great and in excellent condition. It fits 8 people max which means that the atmosphere is very private and personal. You will be living in your own little chalet with living room and two bathrooms. Between the game drives you can relax by the pool or just hang out at the observation deck and watch Zebras, giraffes, warthogs and many others coming along to have a sip of water.

So the Lodge is great and we couldn't imagine it to be better but what will blow your mind is the game viewing. N'Kaya's rangers Andres and Beckson are out of this world. They will try everything possible to find the animals you want to see and most likely they will succeed! So for those who want to know: yes, we saw the Big 5. But we think, people shouldn't focus so much on the Big 5 since there is so much more to see: the nature is just beautiful and there are a lot more animals to be spotted, than just the Big 5. Especially the morning drives are great and it is just great to watch Andres and Beckson as they follow the tracks.
Just to give you an idea: except of the Big 5 we saw Hippos, Wilder Beasts, Zebras, Giraffes, Impalas, Kudus, Warthogs and even a Leopard with cubs.

What we also liked: not only would one of the managers Mariza and Bert (who are just as great as their staff by the way) join us for breakfast and dinner but also Andres and/or Beckson will be at your table.

Summarized: N'Kaya is not only worth a visit, you almost have to go there. The only thing we regret was staying for two nights only. But we want to come back, those two days are among the best and most memorable in our lives.

Thank you and many regards to everyone at N'Kaya

Ellen & Martin

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, UK
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

What a wonderful place, we stayed for our honeymoon and it couldn't have been more perfect. All the team at the lodge made us feel so welcome.
We saw all the Big 5 plus other beautiful animals like the cheetahs, all the game drives were so exciting thanks to Andries and Beckson, these guys really know their stuff, so professional and friendly.
Lovely lodges felt quite luxurious, so spaceous and comfortable.
The watering hole with the hide is a fantastic feature, the area is prolific with birds and other animals, a great place to relax.
The food was outstanding, of such a high quality, really delicious. And a fabulous wine selection to boot.
We have the most amazing memories to treasure forever and would love to return one day.
Thank you all (Maritsa, Burt, Leanne, Beckson, Andries, Margaret and Lydia).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolMarkWeymouth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We went in a group of 7 (3 couples, 1 single) so N'Kaya's 4 chalets were the perfect size for us. The staff were amazing and went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. The game drives were amazing and unforgettable. We saw basically every animal that we could have wished to see. We had an amazing tracker and guide and they kept us safe while getting us as close to the animals as we could. The food was great and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I was paranoid about getting bug bites but I basically had none. We found a gecko and a stray spider here or there in the room but they were harmless and were easily scuttled away.

We were told that the best time to go is during the dry season (fewer leaves and foliage make for better animal viewing.)

Note that drinks and internet vouchers are not free but the cost is reasonable. The internet vouchers only last for 30 consecutive minutes so just be prepared to not have much internet access while you're out there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutepurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We had the most amazing time at Nkaya. We spent our last days of our honeymoon at the lodge and we were spoilt by Bert, Maritza and their team!
We had amazing game drives, a perfect private dinner with candle light and sparkling wine!

Thank you for making our honeymoon memorable!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandbarb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We had an outstanding experience and cannot say enough about Johan, Leanne and their staff. They were all seriously knowledgable, hospitable and experienced.
Johan and the trackers got us right up close to some fabulous animals and Leanne and her staff created some wonderful meals.
We wished we could stay longer.
Great ambassadors for their country and their wildlife.
Chris and Dianne Pratt
Australia

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucetteAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
16.5 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
14.0 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
5.0 km away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
241 reviews
5.2 km away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
181 reviews
0.9 km away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to N'kaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about N'kaya Lodge

Property: N'kaya Lodge
Address: Guernsey Road, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price range (per night): $682 - $958
Hotel Class:4 star — N'kaya Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful gem in the bush, 4 star, located in the Thornybush Reserve, well known for superb game viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your N'kaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing