We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Motswari Private Game Reserve(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$428
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Geiger's Camp - Motswari Private Game Reserve(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
US$774
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Legend Safari Lodge & Spa(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$426
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$13
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
US$1,136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geiger's Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
Booking.com
View Deal
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanda Tula Safari Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Machaton Private Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveller rating
672
39
4
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
672
39
4
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstracker ericgame driveswatering holewonderful hospitalitywild dogswater holeother guestssolar powerthree daysan amazing experiencesouth africawhite lionexceeded our expectationstimbavati reservedinner tablemaking us feelwhole experience
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 721 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife Melissa and I had an amazing time here. Everything was perfect, from the food to the service to the accommodations to the game drives, we loved it all! Lets talk about the food for just a second...WOW! The food was unbelievable! Everything was cooked and seasoned to perfection, better than any of the 5 star resort we've been to and I'm sure I packed on a couple kilos because of it! Hats off to the cook! Nicola and Bryce were great hosts and always made sure we were well taken care of. The attention they gave to the small personal details were what made our short stay here better than we could have ever hoped for. Moshe (our safari guide) and Eric (our tracker) were lots of fun and were both very knowledgeable and they made our first safari experience an unforgettable one. The entire staff was friendly, helpful and was always there to make sure we had whatever we needed. Our room was really nice, clean and very comfortable, plus we had a direct view of the watering hole (I took the picture of the buffalo from our room) As this was our first safari lodge on this trip, they made it impossible for the lodge we went to afterwards to compete. Melissa and I agreed that this vacation, with all the places we went, was the best of our lives and more importantly that Kambaku was the highlight of it all. Thank you to the entire Kambaku team!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny2theB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We would have loved to give a good review for Kambaku since we did extensive research to pick this lodge. Our chalet was small, dark and hot, with no way to circulate fresh air. We had a small sliding glass door with no screen. It was much too hot to sleep. One night there was a group of guys that were allowed to party (drinking and singing) outside our chalet until 2am.

Aside from our lodging the staff and safari drives were excellent. We were a little disappointed since we were there for 4 nights and never saw any lions. But it was not due to our guide Richard and tracker Albert's lack of effort. They were very patient and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank donna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for talking the time to review Kambaku. It is a pity that we did not live up to your expectations. At the time of your departure, as well as during your stay, a number of your complaints and issues were addressed, and resolved as much as what could be under extreme circumstances. We were dealing with the aftermath of a huge natural flood disaster - one that turned the whole area on it's head to such an extent that the nearest town of Hoedspruit was declared a disaster area and did not have drinking water for well over a month. On top of having to deal with excess bookings and trying to assist other camps severely damaged by the floods, we had the Valentine day rush and therefore a full camp, with no room to move. Your daughter was upgraded for the two nights that we could, and we catered fully to her vegan needs - making sure that she always had food at the same standard as the other guests. On departure and in your letter after departure, you held us to ransom with a bad review on Trip Advisor, if we did not refund the money paid for your stay. As your booking was already a pay 3 stay 4 special, and due to the fact that we did what we could under extenuating circumstances, and also as the two reviews prior to your - " Memorable 1st Safari " & " Kambaku Safari", are both highly favorable ( these guests having stayed at the lodge at the same time as your family), we would like on record that we feel the review posted is not an accurate record of services and experiences provided by Kambaku.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I had planned a special trip to S. Africa for my husband's 50th birthday and our 1st stop was Kambaku. This is our family's 1st safari trip (our 8 yr old son, Shane came along too) and it was indeed a truly wonderful and memorable experience. The staff were always at hand to see to our needs. The rooms are great and food is excellent. We always look forward to our dinner as we never know what to expect...a special mention on the Valentine's day dinner...it was lovely and romantic. The game drives are made even more interesting with our very knowledgeable guide, Moshe and tracker, Eric. We saw so.ooo many animals and Shane just couldn't stop talking about his trip to his classmates and friends. All in all, a fantastic trip!! Highly recommended...no regrets...guaranteed!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GWalters88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had a great time at the Kambaku safari lodge, the staff were great and always looking to see what they could do to make our stay enjoyable. I would recommend anyone to stay at the lodge.

We could not say enough about the staff at Kambaku, first class all the way. From Moshe and Eric our guide and tracker to Christal, Nicola and Bryce they made the trip one to remember for a lifetime.

One tip - stay out of the thorny bush if you need to the bathroom!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku-Lodge, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thanks so much for the feedback!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we will most certainly add your handy tip to our check in procedure ('',)

Hope to see you soon!

The Kambaku Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had an amazing time at Kambaku from the moment we were "greeted" by the calls of two male lions at our arrival. The accommodations were lovely, the food delicious and the staff wonderful. Our guide and tracker made each game drive a fantastic experience. We saw lions, elephants, giraffe, wild dogs,buffalo, hyena and of course lots of impala. The resident warthog family was fun to watch at the water hole. I highly recommend Kambaku Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews