We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Entabeni Safari Conservancy(Entabeni Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$340
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$47
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravineside Lodge(Entabeni Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ranger Camp(Entabeni Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
108
98
51
32
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
98
51
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslegend golfindian restaurantgame driveshelicopter ridedriving rangeclubhouse restaurantconference venuespread outan amazing experienceyour doorstepunderfloor heatingcurrygreat accommodationmain restaurantsignature restaurantrestaurant staffrooms are modern
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2015

I had the privilege of visiting Legend Golf and Safari Resort twice within a month - once as a site visit for a work conference, and the next for the conference itself. The venue and rooms are five star (and at reasonable prices) ... from the decor and design, to the surrounding nature. Truly a piece of heaven on earth. The staff were all accommodating, helpful, friendly and professional. I hope we get to return.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a view of the mountain ... it's a sight you don't want to miss waking up to.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marion U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear marion_ueckermann

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your experience at Legend Golf & Safari Resort with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service, accommodation and magnificent views of the mountain. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Legend Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

We won a competition for a full board, three nights stay at the Legend Golf and Safari Resort. All the communication and booking procedures went smoothly with no hiccups! Thanks Anelia for this.

When we arrived at Legend, I played a round on golf on the Signature Golf Course - what a treat! some bunkers were not up to scratch though, but the fairways are good, and the greens excellent. The views from the golf course are also stunning and worth the green fees alone.

Our resort room was well furnished and luxurious and we had no complaints on this - was always clean and neat when we arrived back from golf/game drives/breakfast//lunch or dinner.

The food was also up there, with head chef Michel doing his best and all the dishes we ate was top notch

I would refer anyone who is looking for a break from city life to try Legend Golf and Safari Resort.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms of the main road - but any would do really!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hendelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Dear hendelc

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and for mentioning the team members who made your stay extra special. We are delighted to read about your experience and that you enjoyed the golf, accommodation, food and scenery. We will be sure to pass on your message to the rest of the Legend Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

We visit here with 2 other couples and had a great trip from start to finish. The resort still has a long way to go to be complete e.g. Proper roads around all of it/ more convince facilities. However, it had plenty for us for the weekend.
When we arrived the men went off the play golf while the ladies visited the lovely spa. Very reasonably priced and enjoyable massages.
We ate in the club house the first evening and the good was great however there wasn't a great deal of choice on the menu.
Breakfasts were amazing, probably the best we have came across in any hotel.
On our second night we mentioned we would like a braai though our accommodation did not have the facilities (some larger ones do I think ) . They arranged for us to use the braai area near the clubhouse and provided us with plates etc, firewood and huge salads. It was fantastic!
We went on the segways tour into the bush and though we were paying for an hour we were away much longer which was great!
We also went on an evening safari where he picked us up from the room and had such a chilled game drive with excellent lion spottings.
The helicopter was out of action during our stay allow they offered us a chance at a replacement. We decided we were having fun without it so declined. Service was great, especially from manager who organised the braai for us.
Rooms were gorgeous and a fantastic size. Will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kirstandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

Dear kirstandal

We are absolutely delighted to hear about your fantastic weekend break at Legend Golf & Safari Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing so many details of your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your message to the Legend Team and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015

I tried to book a room at this resort and the staff were very accommodating via email. They offered me a winter discount and reserved my room. Then they send me a credit card pre-authorization form with a room rate 2x that agreed. Worse, the form asks for lots of personal data totally unnecessary for booking a hotel room - like mother's maiden name, color of card, etc.

I cancelled my booking and will look for lodging somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Algreen345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Good day Algreen 345,

Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. The form has been taken up with our Financial and Reservations Departments, and they are in agreement that the form is out-dated and are amending it accordingly. We are disheartened to read that this form made you question your decision to book with us, especially as Legend Lodges do also accept EFT payments.
We apologise that the reservations consultant did not apply the correct rate when sending out the confirmation, however should you wish to reinstate your booking we will gladly offer you the winter rate as originally quoted. Please feel free to contact us directly on reservations@legendlodges.co.za and we will facilitate your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

If you’re looking for an exclusive Game Lodge for a peaceful bush getaway, this is not it!
It’s huge and accommodates dozens of people, many of whom are on conference, or to play golf and may not even go on game drives.
So it’s busy and noisy. An example is a helicopter that’s constantly talking golfers to and from the extreme 19th hole.

On arrival the reception is not in front of the main gate and one has to look for it.
The reception staff is unhelpful and one has to ask questions.
I had to ask for the game drive times and was asked whether I wanted to go on them, although our booking included it.

The accommodation is modern and very nice with have showers and baths, and TV’s in the rooms.
Some of the units however, face the main road and are not private or quite.

On our first night we ate the Boma, which has bland and boring food.
We therefore assumed that the meals would be bad, but the meals at the Signature Clubhouse were very good.
Although we had booked DB&B, we were given a bill for each meal and had to explain each time.
The waitrons however, were all friendly and pleasant.

We used the Spa, but were made to wait and then they didn’t make up for the lost time.

But game drives are where they perform really poorly.
Every day we had to walk down our unit footpath to the main road to wait for the vehicle, as they did not come to the unit.
Every time we had a dispute with the game ranger, who did not have us on his list, despite having booked at reception
(each game drive has different people on it depending on the bookings).
The game ranger would then get on the car radio to resolve it and we would hear the rude replies. Not a professional image to convey to clients.
We asked to be taken through the gorge to the upper part of the reserve and each time were told that the driver couldn’t do it.
Each time we spoke to Shaun (customer relations?) and assured that it would be organised.

We booked a Segway ride via Shaun and confirmed it on the day, only to be told by the Segway chap that he knew nothing of the booking and couldn’t do it.
A manager finally took note of our issues and arranged the Segway rides and gorge game drive with a picnic at the top, which was very nice.

On our last morning, my daughter found weasels in her cereal. Shaun took the bowl away, but never returned with a replacement, or explanation.

Our overall impression is that it’s great for a golf or conference weekend with friends/ colleagues.
The co-ordination between staff is lacking because it’s so big and busy.

Room Tip: Stay away from main road
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 449joeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Good Day 449joeg,

Thank you for your patience whilst we investigated the factors raised in your review. Whilst our Resort is set within the Entabeni Safari Conservancy, it is not marketed as an exclusive Game Lodge. We recommend any of our 5 lodges within the Big 5 conservancy for that experience. As the name suggests, Legend Golf & Safari Resort offers game drives, golf & more, for leisure, group and conference delegates alike. The main drawing card to our Resort is the one-of-a-kind Extreme 19th experience which can only be accessed by helicopter. We apologise if this was not the experience you had envisioned for your family breakaway. With regard to the Reception location and staff, we have ensured that signage has been placed from the boom entrance to ensure guests make their way to the main parking area and Reception. Our Reception team are briefed to reconfirm all inclusions with guests on arrival to ensure no experience booked is missed. We apologise if this made them seem uninformed. We have brought up the comment regarding the lack of information and have been informed that the weekend itineraries were printed for all guests and handed out – it appears you may not have received one. Your point regarding the Boma food has been raised with the Food & Beverage department, however we are heartened to read that your food experience at the clubhouse was a positive one. Bills are presented to ensure that you have received the meals paid for and they are simply added to your room account file for recon purposes. We apologise for the breakdown in communication with this not being explained properly. We understand from our Spa that due to being fully booked, your initial treatment was slightly shortened, however our Spa Manager confirmed that this was made up for the next day, and that your wife advised that she was happy with the arrangement. With regard to the Game Drives, we have been informed that there was confusion concerning pickups and guests per vehicle and apologise for the lack of attention to detail in this regard. Our game drives are normally of top quality, and we are disappointed this was not the case for you. The communication between our Guest Relations Officer and the Rangers has also been investigated, with regard to the drive up the Kloof to the Upper Escarpment, and the appropriate action taken. We trust however that the game drive done was an enjoyable one. Pertaining to the weevils in your daughter’s cereal, this is receiving further attention from the General Manager and the Executive Chef as no record of this can be found, nor any other complaints regarding the cereal from any other patrons. The main stock has been checked and no weevils found. Further discussion with Shaun has yielded no more information as he was not aware of the issue and advised that when he spoke to your daughter at breakfast she complimented the game drive and dinner the previous evening. Whilst we were very busy over the long weekend, this is no excuse for a decline in service levels, and we thank you for bringing these points to our attention. We do hope that you will visit our website www.legendlodges.co.za and have a look at the Game Lodges on offer at Entabeni Safari Conservancy. For a luxurious, intimate, Big 5 experience, we recommend Hanglip Mountain Lodge on the Lower Escarpment. We do hope that you will be back to visit us in the not-too-distant future so we may provide you and your family with the Legendary experience we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews