We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jamala Madikwe
Nearby Hotels
Rhulani Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$820
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuningi Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$883
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Etali Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$1,010
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$1,363
US$1,326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tau Game Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$456
US$385
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Madikwe Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$992
US$793
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$544
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1,249
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$763
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Morukuru Family Madikwe(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$2,247
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
371
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssofa safariattention to detailroyal safarihis teamwatering holewater holethe main lodgesafari experiencegame drivesplunge poolwatching the animalshigh teageneral managerwonderful hostsmagical stayevery mealone of a kind
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

The rooms are large and beautifully furnished with a plunge pool perfect to cool off from the heat. The team at the lodge were so lovely and welcoming and my driver/ranger was fantastic. I was travelling alone which can we intimidating but they made me feel very at home. I had great game viewing and the food was outstanding. I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Request the rooms closest to the lodge area as you can see the very busy waterhole from only these rooms
Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AmyMac119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Amy
Thank you for this review.
We truly hope to see you return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

A fantastic lodge with a brilliant guide,food and service.The attention to detail and accommodation were sixstar.The wild life 'Big 5' were amazing I could not believe how close we could get to them.No need for tele- photo lens .

Room Tip: All Accommodation same.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear John
Thank you we truly appreciate the kind comments

All the best
The Jamala-ian's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Jamala Madikwe is simply amazing. If you have the opportunity to go on a safari, I can’t unagine anything better than Jamala Madikwe. Amazing hospitality and a possibility to see the big five in one day, like we did. It’s a must visit!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kjlyons444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Kjlyons
Thank you for this wonderful review and your recomendation.

Regards
Jamala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

What a fantastic place Rodney and all the staff right through the board could not do enough for you to make the trip fantastic. The game drives were amazing we had JP to give us the grand tour...what a legend.
I really couldn't of imagined anywhere nicer to stay
A big thanks to all at Madikwe for making my wife's Birthday amazing

Brian and Helen Australia

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Helen
Thank you for this kind review. Im very pleased that you enjoyed your time spent with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

The owners and staff are as friendly and welcoming as ever. The renovations are absolutely stunning and we played in the main pool every day, admired the view from the comfortable look-out deck and loved the luxurious spa and gym areas. The open bar is so chic and welcoming. From start to finish, the whole experience was outstanding. The breakfasts were so healthy and creative and the dinners simply superb! Our suite was a luxury we delved into. What a joy to have air-condition when it is 38C in the shade and a fire place for the cooler evenings. We spent both afternoons relaxing in our plunge pool and soaking up the view with all the animals walking past. The fragrance of the blossoming frangipani tree at our front door was heavenly. We only went on one game drive as we really wanted to experience the magic of the lodge and wow, what unbelievable sightings we had. We started off with 2 white rhino at the dam and then drove off and parked the game viewer in the middle of a breeding herd of elephant. Our guide was so experienced and relaxed and made us all feel totally at ease with this awesome encounter. We then ventured off on another dust road to see a beautiful young female leopard lying in a dead leadwood tree. We went right up to her and she gave us a photo shoot of note, changing her position and looking straight into our eyes! We then travelled further to come across 2 black-mane lions with a lioness. These brothers were relaxed and staying close to her when we saw another lion and lioness approaching from down wind. As they caught sight of the brothers, the lioness ran away and the male backed off but stayed with in a short distance. The 2 brothers got a wiff of him and started roaring and scent marking the bushes around us. She started roaring too and the sound was deafening – an experience we will never forget! We drove off with goosebump all over us. As we were enjoying our gin and tonic sundowner with those delicious snacks, we had the unexpected company of a lone elephant strolling closely by, followed by an inquisitive spotted hyena near our vehicle. That gave us the clue to pack up and head back to the lodge. The best game-viewing was from the lodge though, lazing on the couches, with large herds of elephant drinking, play fighting, tussling with each other and tending to their new born babies. The impala were in full rutting force in-front of our room every morning and evening and their barks and snorts were a treat. We have fantastic pictures of the giraffe drinking at the waterhole while we enjoyed a light lunch with a couple of beers at the pool. A huge herd of buffalo grazing outside our room woke Duncan in the night and he had the best sighting of a Martial Eagle dive bombing the Natal Francolin. We had a resident legavaan at our outside shower and the birdlife around our suite was sensational.We met such fun and interesting guests and dream of you building additional villas so that more people can experience this world-class place.

Room Tip: Each of the 5 villas are totally private with No 5 being the furtherest from the main area.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Margaret
Incredible review!
Thank you we truly appreciate this generous review. I will share the amazing experience you had at Jamala with the team. We truly enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to your return in the future.

Regards
Jamala Madikwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews