We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As first time safari goers, Rhulani was certainly a great experience. Alasdair, our guide, provided an exciting experience for all of our game drive. We were able to see plenty of wildlife and there were no drives which lacked entertainment. Setting up the reservation and transportation to the lodge was quite simple too. Service and food were more along the lines of 4-star but I can't directly compare to other lodges in South Africa.

Not related to Rhulani, but if considering Madikwe I would not recommend flying into Gabronne. Immigration and crossing the border can be time consuming. You can save a couple of hours by driving from Jo-burg.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CWGators22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhulaniLodge, Inhaber at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
We are very pleased that after your first safari you qualify the time at Rhulani as "great experience" and give us the maximum score of 5 points. It's great that during the many hours out in the bush you never got bored, and Alasdair was an entertaining ranger. The points which you consider to be in need of improvement, we are indeed constantly working on adjustments and Upgrades.
Thank you for your visit and the nice feedback, and best regards
Rolf & Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Our family of 5 visited. We stayed at the family lodge near the main lodge. The rooms are great with your own deck and pool, great bed. We had 2 rooms, 2 baths, outdoor shower, and a big living room. The service at the lodge is great! We were especially impressed with Sean our guide, easy going, very knowledgeable, did everything he could to make it a good experience. We had one night outdoors, where the staff sung for us, very cool. Overall a really good visit. An slight improvement opportunity is the food. The food is good, but not close to 5 star standard, a bit more creativity and a few tablespoons less sugar in the recipes would have been nice..

Room Tip: If you are more than 4, it is worth to book the family suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedeinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Cary
Thank you for your wonderful comment, as well as the suggestion for improvement regarding the food. We are always interested in hearing such suggestions and take them to our hearts. We are delighted that you, as a family, have found the features and lay-out of our Family Suite ideal, and that you will remember positively the game drives with Sean and the outdoor food.
Thank you so much for visiting Rhulani and regards from the whole team.
Marisa & Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Well what can I say that I didn’t say last time?
This is my third visit to Madikwe and my second stay at Rhulani and it really is my home from home.
Carla, Riaan, Gerda and the whole team really do put so much effort into every detail of what they do.
I travelled with my mum this time who is vegetarian and is Gluten free. She is usually concerned about the provision of food when she travels but the Rhulani team made every effort and truly went above and beyond all expectations. The food is superb and the team really do care about doing the very best that they can.
Riaan was our ranger once again and his game drives are fun, varied and very informative.
The rooms are well appointed and private. We had my favourite room (room 5) with a very close view of the watering hole where all the animals come throughout the day.
I simply love the place and will be coming back next year with one of my friends to be at one with nature once again.
If anyone is thinking about going anywhere for their first Safari experience, or even if you’ve done many, then Rhulani is top of their game and are guaranteed to have the best time ever.
Thanks so much for doing what you do and for doing it so well.
See you next year!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank CptDan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Dear CptDan1982
We are so happy that we were able to satisfy you completely on your second visit to Rhulani, after the first visit had set the bar high. We are constantly trying to evolve and hope that the changes and new ideas will meet with a positive response, especially with our returning guests like you.
We would like to thank you very much for having mentioned many small details. We do hope that you will visit us a third time in the future. We would be very happy!
Best regards from the whole Rhulani Team
Rolf & Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We stayed at Rhulani on the glowing recommendation of friends and it more than lived up to the high expectations. The chalets are very tasteful and inviting and the staff made sure that everything looked great morning and evening when we returned from the game drives. The African folktales left on the pillow for night-time reading were a nice touch. The meals were delicious and obviously prepared with pride. The twice daily game drives were incredible. Alasdair, our guide, was both fun to be around and a full of interesting facts about the wildlife - and he was fearless in getting us up close and personal with them since Madikwe, unlike many parks, allows off-road driving. Our 12 year old had the time of his life and has been searching the internet trying to find the video that was taken of Alasdair vocalizing with the lions. We greatly enjoyed our entire stay, but a lasting memory will be the serenade by the staff for my wife (who had so enjoyed their singing on boma Nnght) when we were leaving. Highly recommend the Rhulani experience!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WardGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhulaniLodge, Inhaber at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Gregory
Today you have given the whole Rhulani team a great deal of pleasure with your wonderful comment! It makes us happy to know that you were satisfied with our Performance in all aspects, and we are particularly pleased to see that beside the big animals in the bush also the small touches have contributed to a successful stay.
I remember the moment when a big lion roared right next to our vehicle and how funny Alasdair imitated it. It is just great that you and your family have been able to bring back many beautiful memories.
Thank you very much for your visit, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest with us!
Best regards
Rolf & Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

A short 1 hr light aircraft flight from Johannesburg international airport

As soon as we landed we began to see elephant, zebra and other game a fantastic way to begin a safari adventure. We were driven by land cruiser to the lodge, which took around 30 mins or so, taking into account frequent stops to view game.

The lodge is very well presented- with a total of 9 seperate lodges, most if not all with a private plunge pool - a welcome relief from the mid morning heat. The individual lodges are beautifully decorated under thatch roof with a view of the planes and game reserve. Bathroom is spacious with an indoor or outdoor shower and separate deep bath. The beds are all super king size. Every evening there is a turndown service where mosquito nets are dropped to ensure a great night sleep. The advertising claims the area to be maleria free.

There is a watering hole in front of the main lodge where it is common to view many different game over the course of the day. The meals provided are excellent as well as the Boma experience, which is a must to activity.

Morning and even game drives can be a bit chilly so take a wind breaker jacket - there are blankets available on the drive to keep you extra cosy.

A must visit for the hospitality and game viewing. I will be back for a visit!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Outpostafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Guest
It is very nice to receive such wonderful feedback from your recent visit to Rhulani. We are very pleased that in all respects your visit was a complete success and that you spent a perfect time, at the lodge and on the game drives. We would be very happy if you would visit us again soon!
Thank you very much for visiting us, and with best regards
Marisa & Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
1.6 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
377 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
232 reviews
21.3 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
491 reviews
17.6 km away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
529 reviews
17.4 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhulani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhulani Safari Lodge

Address: Bravo 21 Wonderboom node, Madikwe Game Reserve 2840, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,194 - $3,409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhulani Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Succumb to the peace and tranquility of this spectacular setting. Relax in the spaciousness of your private luxury chalet with its own deck and plunge pool.Each chalet includes a Morso fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rhulani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing