We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Amakhosi - Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2008

We stayed at Amakhosi for two nights - 15 and 16 November 2008. What a wonderful experience. The Game Reserve is lovely and the staff are amazing. You get personal treatment from the start. We arrived late but they had kindly kept our high tea available for us - which we had on our private patio overlooking the river. The accommodation was amazing, thatch roofed private lodge with beautiful views and top class internal features. There is no TV in the room but then who wants to watch TV when you have the most amazing setting with birds and wild life within meters of your accommodation.
The game drives are out of this world - we had three drives our first being with Phillip who managed to get us close to two male lions, two lionesses who had cubs which were just amazing to see. We also had a very close encounter with a family of elephants with one coming so close to the vehicle that we all got very nervous but what an amazing experience to be that close to wild life. Shane was our ranger for the second game drive in the evening we watched one lioness with her cubs eating their dinner however the lionesses was not happy and ran at our vehicle when we were leaving all very exciting and a bit nerve racking. On our way back to the lodge we stopped off to see one of the male lions - who had woken up..... he stood up and roared which is something everyone should hear in their live time - it is amazing and so load!
The third drive was a morning drive on our last day where we saw 16 Rhino - what amazing creatures and so
huge. Loads of Giraffe even a new baby who was very interested in us which gave us an opportunity to get some lovely photos! We tried to find the elephants again but they travel such long distances that we were unable to find them which was a shame!
Breakfast, high teas, and dinner our excellent even the dinner menus are personalised and the setting is lovely - in the open with just candles for light. All the food, drinks, game drives are included in the price - all inclusive but so much more.
The drive to the lodge is another experience with viewings of animals from the minute you turn off the main road, we saw tortoises, a black mamba, monkeys, giraffe, springbok, warthogs and much more.
When we left again we received personal service - our car had been washed, we were given a packed lunch and a wonderful farewell from the staff.
We would like to thank all the staff again for a wonderful experience from the birthday cake, gift & Zulu dance by the ladies for my boyfriend who will never forget this birthday.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GibboCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2008

Amakhosi is a fantastic place to unwind and get a feel of the bush and the hospitality of South Africans. From the wet towel on arrival and the washed car with a lunch pack in it on departure we were looked after superbly for our complete stay.

The accomodation is private and luxurious with beautiful views of the river. Sitting and relaxing on our private deck and watching the passing traffic of giraffes, elephants and various other animals was hard to beat.

The food was delicious and the willingness of the staff to go the extra little bit for all of the guests is hard to believe.

Obviously the highlight is the game drives. Having been to other lodges in the region we did wonder at first if this lodge was a well stocked with animals as at others. However by day 3 we had seen so much we were no longer in doubt. Having seen the big 5 who can complain. We also enjoyed the approach of not having all the landies out for a drive rush to look at an animal.

Apart from seeing the animals we also had the joy of a complete bundu bashing driving experiences as Werner our ranger raced after the spoor of lions or leopards. His excitment at finding them matched ours.

Fantastic times and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2007

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Amakhosi in South Africa. We can honestly say that this trip was the most amazing experience of our lives. Allow me to start at the beginning:

We arrived to the lodge on a Saturday afternoon and were greeted at the beautiful entry way with warm hand towels and cool drinks. From this point on, our stay turned into a magical experience. We were give a tour of the main lodge and swimming pool and then whisked away to our private Executive River Suite (we received a complimentary upgrade) where we would spend the next 7 nights.

The suite was stunning. Complete with a plunge pool, deck, hammock, sitting area, king size bed, and a bath for two. The mini fridge was stocked with complimentary beverages (the lodge is all-inclusive of all drinks, meals, and game drives) and the candles were set out along the edge of the bath tub.

Shortly after our arrival, we received our first "high-tea" which is a wonderful array of snacks, sandwiches, and sweets (All meals were exceptional). We then went on our first game drive. For the entire week, we were appointed the same ranger (Shane) and tracker (Mandla) - a super team!!!

The drives, which you go on twice a day, were AMAZING! Every day was a new experience. The proximity to the animals is astounding and the adrenaline you get from a lion chase or an elephant smelling you with her trunk is a once in a lifetime experience. The open air vehicles allow you to feel the wind in your face and smell the intoxicating scent of Africa. We were never with more than 5 visitors to a vehicle.

The staff at the lodge was so wonderful, we truly felt like family when we left. One staff member, Phume, took us to her zulu village to meet her family and to see what the current zulu culture and way of life is like - an eye-opening experience.

This was our first time to Africa and while we have no other lodge to compare this establishment to, we can not imagine being treated better or staying in a more beautiful place. The management team arranged for some wonderful surprises during our stay (I will not ruin the surprises, you must go yourself!). We did not want to leave and we definitely recommend a stay of 5 nights or longer.

To put all our feelings into words is too difficult. You can not re-create the entire experience with pictures and stories alone, however we will never forget the beauty, smell, and sounds of the bush.

A special thanks to Shane, Mandla, Phume, Alwyn, Sonja, Rika, Catherine, Paul, and the entire Amakhosi family!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reviewer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jadebaars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank agosti2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pongola hotels
40.0 km away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
23.6 km away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
35.0 km away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.0 km away
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
#5 of 16 in Pongola
42 reviews
31.9 km away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#2 of 16 in Pongola
87 reviews
31.2 km away
The Guest House Pongola
The Guest House Pongola
#4 of 16 in Pongola
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: $543 - $837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing