We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
258
12
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
12
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river game drives honeymoon suite high tea attention to detail herd of elephants morning drive safari lodge an amazing experience every aspect hot water bottles course dinner plunge pool cheetah kill gin and tonic sense of humour knowledgeable ranger
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Amakhosi is a fantastic place to unwind and get a feel of the bush and the hospitality of South Africans. From the wet towel on arrival and the washed car with a lunch pack in it on departure we were looked after superbly for our complete stay.

The accomodation is private and luxurious with beautiful views of the river. Sitting and relaxing on our private deck and watching the passing traffic of giraffes, elephants and various other animals was hard to beat.

The food was delicious and the willingness of the staff to go the extra little bit for all of the guests is hard to believe.

Obviously the highlight is the game drives. Having been to other lodges in the region we did wonder at first if this lodge was a well stocked with animals as at others. However by day 3 we had seen so much we were no longer in doubt. Having seen the big 5 who can complain. We also enjoyed the approach of not having all the landies out for a drive rush to look at an animal.

Apart from seeing the animals we also had the joy of a complete bundu bashing driving experiences as Werner our ranger raced after the spoor of lions or leopards. His excitment at finding them matched ours.

Fantastic times and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2007

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Amakhosi in South Africa. We can honestly say that this trip was the most amazing experience of our lives. Allow me to start at the beginning:

We arrived to the lodge on a Saturday afternoon and were greeted at the beautiful entry way with warm hand towels and cool drinks. From this point on, our stay turned into a magical experience. We were give a tour of the main lodge and swimming pool and then whisked away to our private Executive River Suite (we received a complimentary upgrade) where we would spend the next 7 nights.

The suite was stunning. Complete with a plunge pool, deck, hammock, sitting area, king size bed, and a bath for two. The mini fridge was stocked with complimentary beverages (the lodge is all-inclusive of all drinks, meals, and game drives) and the candles were set out along the edge of the bath tub.

Shortly after our arrival, we received our first "high-tea" which is a wonderful array of snacks, sandwiches, and sweets (All meals were exceptional). We then went on our first game drive. For the entire week, we were appointed the same ranger (Shane) and tracker (Mandla) - a super team!!!

The drives, which you go on twice a day, were AMAZING! Every day was a new experience. The proximity to the animals is astounding and the adrenaline you get from a lion chase or an elephant smelling you with her trunk is a once in a lifetime experience. The open air vehicles allow you to feel the wind in your face and smell the intoxicating scent of Africa. We were never with more than 5 visitors to a vehicle.

The staff at the lodge was so wonderful, we truly felt like family when we left. One staff member, Phume, took us to her zulu village to meet her family and to see what the current zulu culture and way of life is like - an eye-opening experience.

This was our first time to Africa and while we have no other lodge to compare this establishment to, we can not imagine being treated better or staying in a more beautiful place. The management team arranged for some wonderful surprises during our stay (I will not ruin the surprises, you must go yourself!). We did not want to leave and we definitely recommend a stay of 5 nights or longer.

To put all our feelings into words is too difficult. You can not re-create the entire experience with pictures and stories alone, however we will never forget the beauty, smell, and sounds of the bush.

A special thanks to Shane, Mandla, Phume, Alwyn, Sonja, Rika, Catherine, Paul, and the entire Amakhosi family!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reviewer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Preis/Leistung hervorragend, Private House, wenn man ein eigenes Auto dabei hat ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis!!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews