We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$232
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amakhosi Safari Lodge(Pongola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kwalala Lodge(Pongola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kastelein B&B(Pongola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
99
14
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
14
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teatented roomslake joziniboat tripgame drivesbird lifeour honeymoonbush walktwo nightsfabulous experiencefish eaglessafari lodgeon footpersonal servicesouth africadifferent activitieseach meal
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2017

After being to several game lodges before we opted for another experience, staying in a tent was very romantic. We chose White Elephant because it offered different activities than the usual game drives. The setting is amazing with views on the lake. We loved the fact that they asked each of the couples what activities they would like to do, and gave us each our own guide. We enjoyed the boat safari on lake jozin most, and saw hyppos and crocs from close by and many animals grazing around it. The tents were comfortable and immaculate and we had slept very well. All meals were included and were very tasty, from the early snacks before the activities, the ample breakfast, through high tea with lots of choise, freshly baked bread, fritters, muffins etc. till the dinners, which were prepared with care and served with a smile. The staff was exceptional and very pleasant. They were always around on the right moment and very friendly. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliettaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Julietta,

Thank you very much for your review of our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We enjoyed having you and hope to see you again soon.

Warm White Elephant regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

I would highly recommend this establishment if not for the food and luxury, but for the service and scenery. Spent a few nights of our honeymoon at White Elephant and we were blown away by the service and overall experience of this safari lodge.

From the moment we entered the camp we were greeted with friendly faces and five star service. Dinners under the stars were amazing and as it was our honeymoon, the team endeavored to make the experience even more special.

Activities in the bush were so enlightening. We really got a feel for the bush and learnt so much of the history of the park, it's amazing wildlife and just how much effort and time it takes to ensure all the parks inhabitants are looked after and healthy. George, our game ranger, was a one of a kind gentleman. My wife and I were blown away by how much of time he took to show us around, and just how great he is at his job. Really an amazing human-being. Please ask for him by name if you visit White Elephant.

Our room was elegant, romantic and rustic enough to feel as if you're in the bush but opulent enough for feel as you have everything you need right there. The outdoor shower was great, as was the actual tent and view of the lake.

If I have to describe each meal, it would take me a while but the overall descriptor I'd use is...astoundingly delicious. Honestly a simple but wholesome, organic palate.

Overall, my wife and I have promised to return sometime in the future and hope to see all the familiar faces again. Thanks again, White Elephant. You made our honeymoon a very special one.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zaheer1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear Zaheer,

Wow such an awesome review! Thank you so much. We are so privileged that we were able to add many special memories to this great time of your life. We certainly hope that you will be able to return regularly to add to the memories you made together at our lodge.
We wish the two of you all the best for your life journey!

Warm White Elephant Regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This was our second visit to White Elephant and my husband and I were not disappointed. Accommodation, food , service , game drives were just fantastic. Michael and the staff met us at our car. while we checked in the bags were offloaded and vehicle parked. Micheal was an excellent host and made sure our stay was pleasant. Guests stay in luxury Tented camps. We were treated to three game drives. The fourth one, we chose to skip because of the rain. All game drives included drinks and snacks. The breakfast, dinners and high teas were delicious. Our game rangers Ruwaan and Scott were knowledgeable and also answered all our questions. Thumbs up to you guys. The drive to the lodge is on 6.8km of unpaved road but cars can easily manage the drive. There are 8 camps so the lodge can only host 16 max. this makes the stay peaceful. Camps are very private and also have outdoor showers. We were fortunate to see giraffe, impala, nyala, rhino,buffalo and many species of eagles and vultures and many other birds. Due to the severe drought many of the elephants have moved over to the Lobombo mountains. An ideal holiday destination. Definitely for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: All tented camps are private
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tillie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Tillie,

It was a great pleasure to have you at our lodge again. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm White Elephant Regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

What a wonderful lodge this is and it was such a wonderful way to end our Honeymoon.

From beginning to end we were spoiled! This is such a unique lodge and the perfect stop when travelling between Kruger or Johannesburg en-route to Hluhluwe or even Mozambique. The rooms are tented and very well equipped with all the 5 star amenities you would expect.

This is a unique 5 star intimate lodge and their core focus would be their elephants and the research they do with the elephants. It is just important to note that you are not guaranteed to see any elephants, although the story about the elephants and the research they do is amazing and so interesting!! We also went on a boat cruise on Lake Jozini which was extremely relaxing and informative.

The food at White Elephant was amazing and so well presented. The food was also complimented by extraordinary good and personal service!

I will certainly visit the lodge again as it is now once of my favourite lodges in South Africa!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. Although we had the Honeymoon Tent which is situated a bit further away from the other rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Renier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Dear Renier,

It was so lovely to have you at our lodge, thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are happy that you were able to leave us with such great memories of your honeymoon. We hope to have you at the lodge again soon, and next time for a longer period.

Warm White Elephant Regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Piece of heaven in Africa.......

All I can say is......WOW!!!!

This lodge is unique in so many ways. We were welcomed in a warm, friendly yet very professional manner. From the onset you feel at ease and at home. The lodge is full of surprises and is not your everyday tipe of African lodge with only a game drive to offer twice daily. Here you can choose from a boat cruise where you can see rhinos, hippos, crocodiles and much more while you relax with drink in your hand. Or a game drive through the park. Thank you George the Ranger for an unforgettble experience on Lake Jozini.
The most amazing part for us was the elephant research centre. Heike and her passion for these amazing animals immediately gives you a warm feeling in your heart. Keep it up!

The food is extraordinary and unforgettable. The chef makes sure you get your food exactly the way you like it. Superb.

Then the management. Oh wow!! 2 amazing ladies. They made sure we were comfortable, relax and enjoying our honeymoon to the fullest. Thank you guys.

From our experience at this Lodge. We will definitely highly recommend this lodge to anyone who wants to experience Africa in a more personal and Unique manner.

Keep it up!!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alanjustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Dear Allan,

Thank you very much for the great review. It makes our hearts so happy when guests leave with such happy memories of our lodge and it makes all the hard work worth it.
We hope to see you again soon to make some more great memories.

Warm White Elephant Regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews