We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Guest House Pongola(Pongola)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$321
US$285
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aber Jetz Guesthouse(Pongola)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kastelein B&B(Pongola)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
99
14
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
14
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat triphigh teatented roomslake jozinigame drivesbush walkfish eaglestwo nightsfabulous experiencebird lifeour honeymoonon footsafari lodgedifferent activitieseach mealbeautiful settingout of this world
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at white elephant safari lodge in June. Service was excellent, especially Mike, our guide. It was our honeymoon and we got our own private corner with champagne. Food was fantastic, love the luxurious tent, bed was comfy. THe showers outdoor was a unique experience. Sunset and sunrise cruise was fabulous and we had sightings of rhinos, hippos, crocs.

However, it was extremely disappointing that given our first trip to Africa, we did not managed to view all Big 5, partly due to our misfortunes, but also lack of communication from the management in managing our expectations here. We knew from the start that there was no lions in the safari lodge, however, I feel that they could tell us that the elephants have migrated across the bank to the opposite side due to drought, the cheetahs was killed by the hyenas a few months back. We managed to see only the giraffes for the big 5 here as the leopards was too shy. We would have booked more nights for our other private lodges to see better sightings of the big 5 if this was communicated.

Room Tip: ask for the honeymoon suite
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adelwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Adelweiss,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Sorry that you were not able to see all of the big 5 both at our lodge and the other safari destination, unfortunately in the drier months the animals do tend to move around a lot more. We hope to be able to host you again in the future.

Warm White Elephant regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We have fallen under their spell. This place is amazing and we do look forward to our return. After arriving in JNB and driving for about 6 hrs we made it to the gate which was already locked. within minutes someone came and open, explained we had to drive another couple of kilometers (45 more minutes). We were welcomed by the personnel with cheers and joy, hot towels and incredible smiles. They took our luggage, escorted us to our tents gave us few minutes and served us the most amazing dinner with extraordinary service. After this, the rest is history.
Beds extremely comfortable, tents very very clean, food out of this world and staff that you will cherish for life. This was our first time but not our last! Thank you for making my Bday so special. Big hugs to all staff (I don't have all names) Nala, Londiwe, Jane and of course our incredible guide Reuben.
All Safaris were good but but the one on Jozini Lake was breathtaking.
Until we meet again!

Room Tip: Maybe asking for tent with view to the lake
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debnelsonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Debnelsonr,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our lodge. We are always so happy when we hear that guests have 'fallen under our spell'. We hope you will cherish the memories for a long time and that you will return soon to make more White Elephant Memories.

Warm White Elephant regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

After being to several game lodges before we opted for another experience, staying in a tent was very romantic. We chose White Elephant because it offered different activities than the usual game drives. The setting is amazing with views on the lake. We loved the fact that they asked each of the couples what activities they would like to do, and gave us each our own guide. We enjoyed the boat safari on lake jozin most, and saw hyppos and crocs from close by and many animals grazing around it. The tents were comfortable and immaculate and we had slept very well. All meals were included and were very tasty, from the early snacks before the activities, the ample breakfast, through high tea with lots of choise, freshly baked bread, fritters, muffins etc. till the dinners, which were prepared with care and served with a smile. The staff was exceptional and very pleasant. They were always around on the right moment and very friendly. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliettaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Julietta,

Thank you very much for your review of our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We enjoyed having you and hope to see you again soon.

Warm White Elephant regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

I would highly recommend this establishment if not for the food and luxury, but for the service and scenery. Spent a few nights of our honeymoon at White Elephant and we were blown away by the service and overall experience of this safari lodge.

From the moment we entered the camp we were greeted with friendly faces and five star service. Dinners under the stars were amazing and as it was our honeymoon, the team endeavored to make the experience even more special.

Activities in the bush were so enlightening. We really got a feel for the bush and learnt so much of the history of the park, it's amazing wildlife and just how much effort and time it takes to ensure all the parks inhabitants are looked after and healthy. George, our game ranger, was a one of a kind gentleman. My wife and I were blown away by how much of time he took to show us around, and just how great he is at his job. Really an amazing human-being. Please ask for him by name if you visit White Elephant.

Our room was elegant, romantic and rustic enough to feel as if you're in the bush but opulent enough for feel as you have everything you need right there. The outdoor shower was great, as was the actual tent and view of the lake.

If I have to describe each meal, it would take me a while but the overall descriptor I'd use is...astoundingly delicious. Honestly a simple but wholesome, organic palate.

Overall, my wife and I have promised to return sometime in the future and hope to see all the familiar faces again. Thanks again, White Elephant. You made our honeymoon a very special one.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zaheer1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear Zaheer,

Wow such an awesome review! Thank you so much. We are so privileged that we were able to add many special memories to this great time of your life. We certainly hope that you will be able to return regularly to add to the memories you made together at our lodge.
We wish the two of you all the best for your life journey!

Warm White Elephant Regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This was our second visit to White Elephant and my husband and I were not disappointed. Accommodation, food , service , game drives were just fantastic. Michael and the staff met us at our car. while we checked in the bags were offloaded and vehicle parked. Micheal was an excellent host and made sure our stay was pleasant. Guests stay in luxury Tented camps. We were treated to three game drives. The fourth one, we chose to skip because of the rain. All game drives included drinks and snacks. The breakfast, dinners and high teas were delicious. Our game rangers Ruwaan and Scott were knowledgeable and also answered all our questions. Thumbs up to you guys. The drive to the lodge is on 6.8km of unpaved road but cars can easily manage the drive. There are 8 camps so the lodge can only host 16 max. this makes the stay peaceful. Camps are very private and also have outdoor showers. We were fortunate to see giraffe, impala, nyala, rhino,buffalo and many species of eagles and vultures and many other birds. Due to the severe drought many of the elephants have moved over to the Lobombo mountains. An ideal holiday destination. Definitely for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: All tented camps are private
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tillie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Tillie,

It was a great pleasure to have you at our lodge again. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm White Elephant Regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews